We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“delicious food although the fish soup needs instructions” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Moorings

The Moorings
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Blakeney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Essex, England
Level Contributor
127 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“delicious food although the fish soup needs instructions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

we booked for a saturday evening and it was buzzy when we arrived at 8pm.

I had the fish soup which was served with small plates of a rouille and grated cheese and crôutons. i wasn't sure what to do with them so don't know if missed out on a gastronomic experience, but it was very pleasant.

For main, it was a melange of monkfish, red mullet and scallops in a saffron sauce with dauphinoise potatoes - perfect flavours and textures. Finished off with a strawberry eton mess that wasn't spoiled with too many strawberries or ice cream (i'm a meringue and cream girl!)

Definitely one to go to again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eve-boots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    147
    36
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A good place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Called in here while visiting the area. Very friendly helpful staff. Service excellent. Good cakes. Next time we will make it in time for lunch

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynne2_5_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice little restaurant in a delightful village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Really enjoyed my meal here, the interior is nicely decorated with a sea theme but not over the top or chintzy, the menu was pleasing with several appealing choices and the wine was very good. I had spicy crab cakes to start which were really tasty and full of flavour without being hot and for main I had fish with a watercress veloute and wilted spinach which was cooked perfectly and created a tasty combo. All dishes were served with standard veg and potatoes so maybe a bit more thought could have gone into different accompaniments for each meal and the potatoes were dauphinoise which I’m not a fan of, although they were well executed with a bit of nutmeg spicing. My partner had the smoked fish platter which was amazing giving us the opportunity to try lots of unusual smoked fishes and prawns! The staff were very friendly and helpful, so altogether would recommend for a meal out.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrs_sqwookin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Reviews merited but desserts disappoint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Staying in the area I checked out restaurant reviews and this certainly was the one to try.
It was very busy when entering last Saturday and took a while to be dealt with and our drinks served.
There was plenty of choice and the starters were very good,highlights being the smoked fish platter (accomodating seafood allergies), gazpacho and the rabbit loin special.
The seabass and monkfish mains were a little bland but the seared tuna was sublime and worth a visit on its own!
On all reviews the desserts are said to be a must and we made sure we had room for them.The first thing and quite surprising thing about them was how unseasonal at least half of them were, this was after all the hottest day of the year and the weather had been similar all week.Sticky toffee pudding, treacle sponge, ginger sponge pudding , crumble-yet no summer pudding , syllabubs ....
Thta said the first dessert the creme brulee and raspberry tart was superb, yet the crumble was ordinary and the treacle sponge with the treacle on the bottom was dry beyond belief and based on previous plaudits extremely disappointing and stops them getting a better score.
Drinks were ok and service fine , albeit a long queue at the end due to the card machine being faulty at the end and no back up - where was the old fashioned manual machine?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blisworth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best wedding breakfast ever...!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

After reading positive reviews about The Moorings my wife to be and I decided to hold our wedding breakfast here and set about arranging our evening. The owners couldn't have been more helpful and on the night itself the whole staff were so friendly and accommodating. And that's before I mention the food!!!!!!!!!!! Our whole party of 20, including some fussy eaters, were absolutely thrilled with the taste and quality on offer. The only difficulty is ensuring that you leave enough room for one of Angela's puds!!! My wife and I loved the place so much that we went back a few days later for a romantic evening. To sit in one of the window seats and watch the tide come in over the Blakeney marshes, whilst enjoying food at its best is one of the highlights of life. Try this place....you will not be disappointed.
And thanks once again to Richard and Angela, and all of the staff, for making our special night so very perfect!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Moorings also viewed

 

Been to The Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing