We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks great but not very clean”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blakeney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The King's Arms Public House
Ranked #3 of 4 Blakeney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hawes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Looks great but not very clean”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

Despite poor reviews I went with an open mind. First impressions were of a classic old english pub, full of character and charm. Room was reasonably spacious and rooms 1-4 are well clear of the bar and are fairly quiet. Crisp white cotton sheets were on the bed. But the shower was dirty, there was a rim of dust all round the skirting boards and the carpets were filthy, particularly in the public areas. Cracks abounded and redecoration was well overdue.
Unlike some others I found the staff to be friendly and helpful though practically all male and rather scruffy. Food in the bar was quite expensive for large plates of rather greasey food. Even the crab salad was more like a ploughman's with crab, having large quantities of pickles and very little salad. Food better and cheaper at the Manor House.
This may sound sexist, but I believe it would benefit from a strong woman with high standards to ensure that the bedrooms (and the other rooms) were clean, which to me is more important than being equiped with a high quality Sony flat screen TV.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ydalesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    51
    18
    10
    9
See reviews for
34
80
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2009

Have stayed here twice before but something has changed when we visited this pub in December

Poor reception & poor service

Would never return

Very disapointed, used to be a great pub with excellent food now it is a place to be avoided

Owner / manager needs a course in public relations - read the comments left by other guests in the visitor books

  • Liked — nothing I would never return
  • Disliked — the managers poor attitude per visitors guest book other guests had problems with him also
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank popelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warks
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2008

Shower had large amounts of black mould and no fitting in plug hole. Extractor in shower / toilet room did not work. Toilet seat loose. Toilet flush does not return automatically. Door handle to shower / toilet and to room hangin off with loose screws. Bed was probably great in the 1970s but well overdue for a new mattress, at least - the coils stick into you. Sheet had a threadbare hole in it.. Radiator on flat out 24/7 - thermostat on it does not work - end up with windows thrown open - then the intermittent nouise of the boiler starting and stopping. Wash basin actually in room. Claimed sea views need powerful binoculars or a telescope.

Carpet has a grey line of dust round all the edges wherre it joins the wall.

Food O.K. but pub fare served at gastropub prices. Nice I am sure to allow dogs in, but the bar reminds you in aroma that 4 legged friends are indeed "regulars".

  • Liked — That is not an easy one
  • Disliked — Bed long overdue for replacement, shower withnegligible water pressure and mould
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fennyWarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2008

The Kings Arms is just by the quay in Blakeney, handy for the few small local shops and for walking along the quayside. My partner and I stayed in Bills Room, which was a large room with a comfy bed and en-suite. Nothing fancy but all spotlessly clean. Some rooms have views of the quay - ours didn't, but was still nice. The rooms are all above the pub so it was a bit noisy at night, but if you like it quiet, don't stay in a B&B above a pub! There also did seem to be rooms further away from the main bar area which would probably be quieter. We had dinner in the pub and it was really tasty with good seafood and veggie options in particular. I'm not a real ale drinker but the beers are supposed to be really good. The clientele was a nice mix of guests and locals, and there were several families eating so it semed kid-friendly. The staff were great, really friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful with good service, and served until 9.30 so we didn't have to get up too early! We only stayed one night but really enjoyed it and would definitely stay there again. At £65 a night I thought it was good value, and is certainly cheaper than other options in Blakeney.

PS if you visit make sure to take a boat trip to Blakeney Point to see the seals. Take waterproofs as you get a bit wet but it's worth it!

  • Liked — Really handy for the pub below, freindly staff and comfy room.
  • Disliked — Bit noisy at night, but I think there are probably quieter rooms & it didn't bother me much anyway
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millimina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blakeney
0.2 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 3 in Blakeney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wells-next-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Arms Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Arms Public House

Property: The King's Arms Public House
Address: Westgate Street, Blakeney NR25 7NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Blakeney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Blakeney
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The King`s Arms Public House Hotel Blakeney
The King's Arms Public House Blakeney, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing