We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a wonderful place - perfect holiday in...”
other travelers have booked this property
The Higham Cartlodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Higham Cartlodge
Open plan living Charm a plenty
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
The Higham Cartlodge
Open plan living
Charm a plenty
Indian themed bedroom
15 acres of private parkland to enjoy
Beautiful gardens
View from the patio
Open plan living
Cosy bedrooms
Indian themed bedroom
Charming bedroom
en suite bathroom
Dining area
The patio
Tranquility itself
The hall way
The Higham Cartlodge rear view
Well equipped kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Nayland, Babergh District, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Simon H
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place - perfect holiday in perfect location”
Reviewed August 27, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have just returned from staying at the Cartlodge with our three children and we had an absolute wonderful time. The property itself is full of character and has everything and more that you would expect from a holiday rental. The property has been furnished beautifully with 3 large double bedrooms, en-suite , main bathroom and a lovely kitchen / diner leading down to a very comfortable lounge which in turn leads onto a private patio area. The owners have thought of everything to make your stay as enjoyable as possible including all the little extras and finishing touches that you don't expect. On arrival we were presented with a lovely quality welcome pack with finest sausages, bacon, butter , bread etc and even a cake! This made for the perfect breakfast on our first morning as we sat at the at the very light and bright breakfast table. Outside the cottage you have 15 acres at your disposal so plenty of are for your kids or dogs to run around. Although there are other properties on the estate we felt completely private. Higham itself us in a great location for exploring the suffolk and Essex countryside being only a couple of minutes drive from the A12. Although no pubs in Higham there are a number within Two or three miles. The team at idyllic suffolk are excellent and do everything to ensure you have a great stay.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2014
We followed your holiday on Facebook, it's great to know you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jillnassa...
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxing place to stay. Photos don't do it justice.”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We've just returned from a stay at the cartlodge. It's a lovely, spacious 3 bed property in stunning, tranquil grounds. When we booked, we needed a place which didn't insist on check in and out days if a Friday or Saturday and was child friendly. They supplied 2 high chairs and a travel cot. This ticked all the boxes. The welcome pack was delicious.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustJim79
Appleton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wishing we were back already!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Not long back from a week at the Cartlodge with my other half and two of my friends... and our two young dogs. We had a lovely week, exactly what we were hoping for.

The Cartlodge itself is roomy, and set in beautiful grounds. My girlfriend and I bumped in to Charles and Sara, the owners, and found them very warm and welcoming. We were honoured to be shown around the main house and wish we could have spent more time chatting... we also feel bad we never got to say goodbye (So if you're reading this, thank you very much for a lovely week).

The immediate area has very little, there are no pubs or restaurants on your doorstep but several reasonably close by. This troubled us little given we had our minds set on spending time with the dogs and as we are a foody group we spent each evening taking turns cooking... with that in mind our only piece of feedback centred really on a slightly better equipped kitchen (Random things such as a decent peeler, garlic press, wooden chopping board (Which we left a cheap one)) etc...) but this really was nit picking and only impacted us specifically, others would likely not even notice.

The grounds are lovely, and plenty of lovely walks close by. We visited Southwold Beach, which although a longer distance away was worth the journey. We also visited a number of the local farm shops and were surprised at how cheap quality produce was!

We would love to stay again in future, and are in fact considering a larger group at one of the other properties linked to the owners...

Final piece of feedback, VERY easy to drive by the place on first arrival, a simple addition to the directions of 'Opposite the church' sign would have helped greatly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Grounds and owners
Liked least: A local pub on the door step would have been lovely, but not missed.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yacachan
Le Mans, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: tout!
Liked least: rien!
Traveling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing