We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Gildhall

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Nayland, Babergh District, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sallyann2...
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing Cottage”
Reviewed October 31, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We had a wonderful stay at The Gildhall Cottage in Higham. It was so beautiful and all our needs were completely catered for. The house was clean and the "goodies" welcome pack was very much appreciated. We would not hesitate to return. Loved it.

Date of stay: October 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lukeyafc9
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed October 21, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

What a place! Everything you could want! Can’t wait to go back! Even though I almost knocked myself out on the low doorways! Oops!

Date of stay: October 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan24
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in beautiful grounds”
Reviewed September 15, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Cottage is huge with lovely wood beams and comfy furnishings. Stairs may be a little tricky for some as they are quite steep and a little winding. We didn't use the wood burner but the central heating was very efficient and the Aga made the kitchen very cosy. Lovely grounds for walking and exploring, although garden not secure enough for my little Chihuahua. Great welcome pack although tea and coffee had not been replenished. Bedrooms and bathrooms clean and comfortable but passing traffic can be heard from the road outside. A 15min drive to Dedham for a walk to Flatford Mill or cross the road from the grounds and walk down to the church and river. Overall a lovely property to stay in for a relaxing weekend.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corrieh46...
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Super, characterful and historic cottage”
Reviewed August 6, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The Gildhall was everything we'd hoped and more. Full of character, plenty of space and conveniently situated for visiting many of Suffolk's treasures. Five of us stayed and we weren't cramped. Plenty of space if you wanted your own time. Our little dog loved it too!

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
489juliet
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic thatched cottage, with a wonderful garden.”
Reviewed April 9, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Very welcoming and flexible, facilitating an early arrival so we could change before a party. The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms beautifully prepared, and the welcome package is lovely.

Only quibble- the AGA is very cosy, but meant that we were very warm!

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
touristab...
london
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend”
Reviewed February 20, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is a stunning characterful cottage in a perfect location easily reachable by car and also only 15 mins drive from Colchester Station and around 45 mins from Stansted airport. The breakfast pack and tea coffee and cake that the owner supplied where much appreciated as was the detailed information pack on both the cottage and the local area. There are many good pubs and restaurants within a short drive and we were not disappointed with our choice of The Crown in Stoke by Nayland, the fish dishes in particular were lovely.Ours was a family group of 5 with the age range of 70-23 so good for all as long as you can negotiate the winding staircase that is! The Aga and wood burning fires set the scene for a perfect winter break but equally i am sure the well kept grounds would be a delight in the spring/summertime. We cannot wait to return as Guilhall Cottage more than ticks all the boxes , the place is so pretty you will relax as soon as you step inside just perfect.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing