We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Gildhall

Quintessentially English Country Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Quintessentially English Country Cottage
Cosy siting room with wood burning stove Mature gardens for you to enjoy
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Quintessentially English Country Cottage
Cosy siting room with wood burning stove
Mature gardens for you to enjoy
Bedrooms with charm
Large dining room
plenty of room to get together
we are dog friendly
15 acres of private parkland for you to enjoy
side view of The Gildhall
Log Burning stove in the dining room
Spacious bedroom with super comfy bed!
main bedroom with access to the Family Bathroom
Single bedroom with plenty of storage
single bedroom
A real sun trap and private too!
Well equipped kitchen with an Aga
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Nayland, Babergh District, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sallyann2...
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing Cottage”
Reviewed October 31, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We had a wonderful stay at The Gildhall Cottage in Higham. It was so beautiful and all our needs were completely catered for. The house was clean and the "goodies" welcome pack was very much appreciated. We would not hesitate to return. Loved it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lukeyafc9
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed October 21, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

What a place! Everything you could want! Can’t wait to go back! Even though I almost knocked myself out on the low doorways! Oops!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan24
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in beautiful grounds”
Reviewed September 15, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Cottage is huge with lovely wood beams and comfy furnishings. Stairs may be a little tricky for some as they are quite steep and a little winding. We didn't use the wood burner but the central heating was very efficient and the Aga made the kitchen very cosy. Lovely grounds for walking and exploring, although garden not secure enough for my little Chihuahua. Great welcome pack although tea and coffee had not been replenished. Bedrooms and bathrooms clean and comfortable but passing traffic can be heard from the road outside. A 15min drive to Dedham for a walk to Flatford Mill or cross the road from the grounds and walk down to the church and river. Overall a lovely property to stay in for a relaxing weekend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic thatched cottage, with a wonderful garden.”
Reviewed April 9, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Very welcoming and flexible, facilitating an early arrival so we could change before a party. The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms beautifully prepared, and the welcome package is lovely.

Only quibble- the AGA is very cosy, but meant that we were very warm!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linbra
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Homely cottage in a fantastic location”
Reviewed November 8, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My friends and I stayed for two nights in this wonderful home from home. Greeted by a lovely warm cottage with some delicious provisions and special touch of a birthday cake couldn't of been nicer. The cottage is very comfortable with everything you need to make for a very relaxed stay. Bedding smelt wonderfully clean and bathrooms were spotless. We enjoyed a lovely walk from the cottage and visited Dedham which is a beautiful village. The Swan in Stratford St Mary is also well worth visiting and is very near by. All in all a fabulous weekend and we can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt so relaxed and at home. The open fires. The lovely warm kitchen due to the aga. Being with my lovely friends in it!!
Liked least: The fact that we had to leave on Sunday!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay, see you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seashelll...
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect cosy cottage for the unforgettable English countryside experience”
Reviewed October 27, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Everything was brilliant from the start. The Aga was already going in the kitchen which allowed warmth to fill the house. The fridge was filled with yummy goods to make a delicious breakfast and the ability to make real coffee.The beds were wonderful to sink into and sleep in such magnificent peace.The garden was beautifully manicured and there was enough space for a family of three teenagers to spread out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Being in a 16 Century cottage we felt like we could soak up some of that history- very special
Liked least: One of the taps in the kitchen dripped - for Aussies a waste of water!!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 28, 2015
Thank you for your review, we do really appreciate the time taken to leave us a review and its great to know you enjoyed your stay at The Gildhall.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry H
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Lovely retreat”
Reviewed October 22, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
4
people found this review helpful

A short 3 night stay with "mature" parents was thoroughly enjoyed by all. Great location to explore Suffolk and Essex from.

The Gildhall is a lovely thatched cottage in beautifully kept, extended gardens that are well worth exploration.

The cottage is very well equipped with a lovely aga which is easier to use than we thought! It certainly warms the kitchen. The heating in the cottage generally was very efficient and we were warm and cosy in the evenings.

The bathrooms were modern and efficient. The lounge and dining room are both large with plenty of mod cons if required including satellite TV, DVD player, radio/CD player etc. Plenty of books and magazines.

Low ceilings - beware beams. The stairs could do with a grab rail at the top for older or more physically challenged guests.

We had a small issue with two lights blowing on the stairs. This was reported and dealt with straight away - excellent response. Thank you.

Would definitely book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 28, 2015
Thank you for your review, we are very pleased that you all enjoyed your stay with us in Suffolk. You will be pleased to know that we have installed a grab rail. We do take on board all our guests comments and where possible implement any suggestions.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing