We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely retreat”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Gildhall

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Nayland, Babergh District, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Barry H
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
501 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Lovely retreat”
Reviewed October 22, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
4
people found this review helpful

A short 3 night stay with "mature" parents was thoroughly enjoyed by all. Great location to explore Suffolk and Essex from.

The Gildhall is a lovely thatched cottage in beautifully kept, extended gardens that are well worth exploration.

The cottage is very well equipped with a lovely aga which is easier to use than we thought! It certainly warms the kitchen. The heating in the cottage generally was very efficient and we were warm and cosy in the evenings.

The bathrooms were modern and efficient. The lounge and dining room are both large with plenty of mod cons if required including satellite TV, DVD player, radio/CD player etc. Plenty of books and magazines.

Low ceilings - beware beams. The stairs could do with a grab rail at the top for older or more physically challenged guests.

We had a small issue with two lights blowing on the stairs. This was reported and dealt with straight away - excellent response. Thank you.

Would definitely book again.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 28, 2015
Thank you for your review, we are very pleased that you all enjoyed your stay with us in Suffolk. You will be pleased to know that we have installed a grab rail. We do take on board all our guests comments and where possible implement any suggestions.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpnh2015
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage in Constable Country ( East Anglia)”
Reviewed September 11, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Booked a few days at the (sic spelling) GildHall at Higham for us and our son and daughter in law plus infant . Very comfortable thatched cottage (dating back to ~ 1550), with a lovely welcome . Lovely modern facilities, 2 x en-suite bedrooms and a smaller single room, warm (aga in kitchen) and very atmospheric. etc etc
Care needed if you are over 6' high- low ceilings and beams!
Beautifully kept , fully fenced and wind sheltered garden plus another ~ 15 acres (?) of parkland . We were blessed with delightful weather to explore the Stour Valley , BBQ in garden etc .
Delighted the Gildhall provided virtually everything we needed on arrival even down to a welcome breakfast pack!

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our USA guests were over the moon.
Liked least: Nothing . Stair case very steep and low ceiling.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Stradbroke Island, Australia
Reviewed January 22, 2015 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefulness, comfort and location
Liked least: The doona was too heavy and hot so we used a blanket from the second bedroom cupboard
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
joyob58
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful English Cottage”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We met up with family and stayed at the beautiful Gidhall Cottage in Higham. Was easy to find. Lovely welcome pack waiting for us. Dogs are welcome so was nice to take our little Dolly Dog with us for a change. The garden was very pretty and there are extensive walks available close by. The cottage was very clean, had an Aga so was lovely and warm and it was fun cooking breakfast on it. You do have to mind the low ceilings though and the floors upstairs are very sloping so no need to have a drink! Totally enjoyed our stay in Suffolk in this cottage. Lots of places to explore in the area.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staying in typically English Cottage
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berksvisi...
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A beautiful spacious cottage in a great location.”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Gildhall is a beautiful 16th Century cottage in a great location in the lovely Suffolk countryside. We can't recommend this house enough, having stayed there on several occasions now. We always receive a warm welcome from the Idyllic Suffolk team whose attention to detail and housekeeping skills make every visit special. It's the perfect location to get to know the region, with many attractions close by such as Flatford Mill and Dedham. It is easy to get to the coast, find an interesting walk and visit wildlife reserves but if you prefer a quiet stroll on the estate or want to enjoy relaxing in front of the log fire this is the cottage for you.There are lots of restaurants and pubs to discover around the area,but cooking on the Aga is a good experience too. We look forward to returning to this amazing place where we can truly relax and escape. Thanks Idyllic Suffolk.

Date of stay: March 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are always very pleased to know that our guests enjoy their stay with us and also that they enjoy our local area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing