We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for those with young children”
Review of The Ickworth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ickworth Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Horringer
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
90 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“great for those with young children”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This was our second stay at Ickworth and it seems to have been a little spruced up since last time.

The best thing about Ickworth is that it is genuinely very child-friendly, most notably demonstrated by their breezy lack of concern about two separate 'accidents' by our recently potty trained two year old. (One on an expensive-looking chair at reception, the other on a huge rug in a lounge room.)

The early evening children's tea sitting at 5pm is good, enabling us to get our kids to bed before we then had an adults' dinner (using the baby listening service).

Although the National Trust house in the other wing of the building was not open, its cafe was open for lunch which is a good (and cheaper) alternative to eating in the hotel.

One very minor criticism of our room (Grand Tour) is that the door is very heavy and difficult to open, yet the ridged metal door handle is small and you have to grip it very firmly - which is surprisingly painful! I imagine that might be difficult for those with grip problems. Also for those with mobility problems (as was one of our party staying in a different room), the shower is in the bathtub and the sides of the bath are very high, which makes getting in and out difficult.

Another criticism of Grand Tour is that its windows are draughty and while closing the thick curtains helps to block this, it also blocks the radiator grilles that sit beneath the windows. (Whereas in the bathroom the only radiator is the heated towel rail, and the draughts are really quite noticeable.) Indeed one of the bedroom radiators wasn't working during our stay. When we called reception we were directed by the maintenance guy to use a free-standing electric heater which, while effective, felt slightly hazardous with a toddler roaming free in the room.

Overall, though, we loved our stay at Ickworth and the Grand Tour is a 'wow' room.

Room Tip: Grand Tour is big, and the bed is vast: it appears to be two doubles side by side. Belle Isle is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d0gwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for your very kind comments, I have noted your comments about the door to Grand Tour, it is a big door and the handle is original, however I will review and see if we can get a better option. With regard to the windows, we are going through a process of dealing with all the windows to make them fully draught proof, this involves removing the sash windows, which is a difficult issue at this time of year but this will continue as soon as the spring arrives!. I am delighted however that you enjoyed your stay , we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    183
    84
    42
    35
See reviews for
317
203
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Booked in for 3 days for a brief holiday
Problems with plumbing in bathroom were left unattended. Room was pleasant but like most hotel rooms, much too hot. Service in dining room rather slow. I had the impression the staff, while superfically pleasant, didn't really care. Wont be going back.
However, the pool was excellent, good and warm enough to stay in for ages.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Le_petit_herisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for your comments , I am sorry that you had plumbing issues, we had found a fault in our boiler supply which has now been rectified. I have noted your comments about the staff, we receive many good comments about our team and they do care, it is a shame that you obviously did not see them at their best.
Delighted that you enjoyed the pool
Again many thanks for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basildon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Had a mid week break last week fantastic value for money,great food and service.
Couple of issues:
Whilst the swimming pool itself was very good,the showers did not work and changing area was dirty.
Layout of the room could have been better, impossible to watch TV without moving furniture.
Food in restaurant was great,but if wines are recommended with on the menu then please sell by the glass.
Had a minor maintenance problem sorted out without any fuss.
We would definitely return

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Bob

Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback on your recent stay. I'm very happy that you had an enjoyable stay.

I have taken note of the issues that you have highlighted and will be speaking with my team how we can improve on the points raised.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Today is my birthday and a friend had recommended the conservatory at the Ickworth Hotel as being a good place for lunch, especially for families with young children. About a week ago, I checked out the lunchtime menu on their website and rang to make a reservation.

When we arrived, we were directed to park some distance away from the entrance, so carried a 4 week old baby and a toddler across a wet and windswept route to the entrance - then we saw there were car park spaces right by the front door.

Once inside, no one had any record of my booking. Had I asked the name of the person I'd spoken to? No, I hadn't realised that would be necessary. This didn't actually matter because the restaurant was completely empty apart from one family sitting in the corner next to a large radiator.

We stood waiting - young women kept saying someone would be with us soon. As there were only two tables large enough to seat 4 adults and 2 young children, we picked one of them and sat ourselves down. Removing our coats, we all commented on how cold it was. There were radiators near our table, but they were only luke warm. A waitress brought a little fan heater to plug in - but the room is big, so it would have had very little impact. Then we were given the menus - nothing like the information on the website - the food on offer was just snacks. We were told they'd changed the menu two weeks ago. Pity someone hadn't thought to update the website - it's still showing the autumn 2013 menu. I imagine it isn't worth their while offering lots of hot main meals in an empty restaurant, but I hadn't known that and the information wasn't volunteered.

For a nice birthday lunch (and first outing after the baby was born), we were expecting something more substantial. I was told we could have the evening dinner menu, but as we were becoming so chilled, we were rapidly going off the idea. I asked about the lounge area where I'd been told there were toys suitable for toddlers to play with - I thought it might be warm there even if we only had a snack lunch, but that room had been blocked off for a wedding. We decided to leave and found ourselves a nice warm pub not far away. This was supposed to be a treat for me and my family - it was anything but.

I imagine this is a lovely spot in summer, but don't go there on a cold dull day when there's little solar gain. Ask the name of the person taking your reservation and check which menu they currently have on offer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suffolk_Day_Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
i was sorry to read of your experience last friday, the reservation system is a very thorough system, i cannot find a trace of the reservation , however we should have been able to deal with your party. the conservatory is a two thirds glass area and with the current unseasonal south west winds has been cooler than normal for this time of year, we do however use space heating to add to our central heating system. with regard to the menus, yes we have recently changed our menu offering and as this is a departure from what we have been offering, we delayed posting the new menus until we had agreed the final content, this has now been done. i am very sorry that you had these issues and as you state in your comment it is a lovely place in the spring and summer and we all look forward to a more clement and enjoyable pattern of weather than of recent times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We have just returned from the Ickworth after a lovely weekend staying in The Lodge. We stayed there last year at Easter and love the space which the apartment style rooms provide. We were two families with children ranging from 7 - 14 so hired bikes and were lucky enough to have a lovely bike ride around the beautiful estate, fortunately the weather was kind to us on Saturday. I forgot my wellies so borrowed some of the Dubarry boots which they have available for guests' use; they really do think of everything! Adults and kids alike had a great time - I managed an afternoon snooze whilst dads took the kids swimming and we had two lovely dinners at the hotel. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Paul

Thank you for you very kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Lodge apartments located on the Ickworth estate.

I am pleased that you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us and hope that we will be welcoming you all back very soon.

Kind regards

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. We had a three night break with our four month old son and had a wonderful time. Luxurious room, superb food and everything babies and kids could need in a beautiful setting! We made use of the crèche, spa and baby-sitting facilities and were able to get the first moments of calm since our baby was born. It was lovely to travel light as the hotel was able to provide cot, change mat, nappy bin, fridge, steriliser and bottle warmer. Although the hotel was busy, there are only 27 rooms and so many different things for kids to do that it never seemed noisy or full of screaming children. The position is great on a national trust park with house to visit and there is also an indoor pool with floats. The only negative was the temperature in the restaurants in the evening - it's a beautiful old property with lots of draughts so make sure you wrap up warm!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahMilham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Sarah

How lovely to receive your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Ickworth.

We do hope that we managed to cover all bases for both adults and children and from your review we are certainly there.

I am sorry that the temperature wasn't to the normal level at the house but as you state, it is some feat to keep such a vast size property especially with this awful weather we have been subjected to of late.

Thank you again and I hope we see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Spent a time at Ickworth recently on a spa day and unfortunately I can not recommend it. The treatments were good but as an experience it was poor. The main problem is there is nowhere particularly comfortable to wait - I would have expected a relaxation room but instead one has to put your normal clothes back on each time (no robes) and wait in the drawing room upstairs each time.There were multiple meetings in the room while I was waiting and hence the overall ambience not great. The swimming pool complex is outside the main building so again not practical.
The lunch was fine but some of the waiting staff were very slow which ate into getting ready for one of the treatments (although to be fair the treatment was not cut short by this).
If you are staying in the hotel with family then I could recommend the treatments but would not advise a spa day here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank croatiatastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
thank you for your comments regarding you recent spa day. i have noted that you enjoyed the treatments but that clearly the provision of a relaxation area would have improved your day. regrettably the limitations of our building , a Grade 1 historical building, do not allow for this and thus we use the lounges upstairs. we do offer robes and i am concerned that you were not given one in the knowledge that these are always available to day spa guests. the swimming pool is in another area and does require a very short walk from the main house. our spa days have proven to be very successful, i am very sorry that on this occasion our facility did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horringer
9.7 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
3.0 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,149 reviews
4.3 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
203 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ickworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ickworth Hotel

Property: The Ickworth Hotel
Address: Horringer, Bury St. Edmunds IP29 5QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds > Horringer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Horringer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ickworth Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Wing at Ickworth was home to the Hervey family before it passed to the National Trust. The surroundings are as grand as ever but the idea that “children should be seen but not heard” has gone right out of the hundred or more windows. Where else can you go that offers luxurious surroundings, outstanding facilities, exquisite cuisine and family friendly activities? Ickworth is unique. It's also one of the finest luxury family hotels in the UK.we have recently added a Cinema room to our facilities and show children's films every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ickworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ickworth Hotel Horringer
The Ickworth Hotel Horringer, UK - Bury St. Edmunds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing