We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Service”
Review of The Ickworth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ickworth Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Horringer
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had dinner in the conservatory last night & it was terrible. The waiting staff were really trying & very polite but that doesn't change the fact that the service was slow, food terrible and very very very overpriced for what you get. We booked a table for 6.30pm and left a t 8.10pm we only had a main course and dessert for 3 adults. My curried chicken was terrible, the chicken its self was tiny and not worth £15.50 it was the quality of a Little Chef, not hotel quality at all. I was so hungry when I got home I made a bacon sandwich, not very happy after paying £63.00 for a meal...My wife told an Italian man in reception about the slow service & poor quality of food but he didn't even acknowledge her, he just shoved a card machine in front of her & asked for her pin number. We were one of 3 tables complaining about the food we were the only table who paid I believe!! All in all an experience not to be repeated!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyBrown1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
I read your comments with some sadness, i would certainly like the opportunity to discuss this with you, however we do not have any record of a contact telephone number and you were not resident with us. I did notice in your Tripadvisor comments that you also came last December and had an unfortunate experience, perhaps when you receive this response you would contact me so that I can discuss the issues further with you. The telephone number is 01284 735350
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    177
    83
    41
    35
See reviews for
311
194
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We booked this hotel on a deal not realising it was “family friendly”. As empty nesters we liked the idea of staying in a former stately home and it was conveniently located.

The first clue came when we were emailed about the babysitting service. On arrival we noted the rows of little wellington boots in the hall; our room had a cot and free baby food – all promptly removed when we explained we did not have the grandchildren with us.

Ickworth is part of the Luxury Family Hotels chain and I wish we’d had it when we were toting toddlers. It must be lovely to go to a hotel where you are not worrying about disturbing the wrinklies in the corner. As not-quite-wrinklies ourselves we found the staff extremely welcoming, the service excellent and the room spacious. The decor was an odd mixture of 90s urban chic and 80s hotel de luxe but pleasant enough.

We were staying in the week in term time so it was relatively quiet. Breakfast is taken in the lovely orangery and, while I am quite happy with toddlers tugging at my Telegraph, those who tend to fragility in the morning might seek room service. Sensibly, children are banned from the Frederick dining room in the evening – though the “adults only” (i.e. 18) rule seems a bit harsh.

As to Frederick’s it is a comfortable place to eat with a good view out onto the grounds and we had a decent meal there. Sadly for them you can eat much better for the same money in nearby Bury if you don’t mind a fifteen minute drive to Maison Bleue, which teeters on the special rather than the merely respectable. But if you don’t want to crank up the motor the cooking here is decent and the service friendly and attentive though tending to the green of the surrounding parkland.

Frankly I would not want to pay rack rate here, but if you can get a deal and enjoy having children around it’s a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jandelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and whilst i note that you came as a couple, i trust that you enjoyed your stay. You are correct we do have a unique offer to families with younger children and the pre school families but our staff are trained to ensure that our guests staying just as couples should receive the peace and quiet they wish to enjoy.
Thank you again your comments are most welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Ickworth Hotel, booking it through Secret Escapes, last weekend (28th and 29th June 2013). It has a wonderfully long driveway and really feels like its taking you away from the stresses of everyday life. On arrival, you are greeted by the spectacular sight of Ickworth House, followed by a warm greeting at the entrance hall to the hotel by the members of staff. There isn't a classic reception desk which actually gives the hotel a more homely feel. Our room, the Belle Isle, was fabulous. It had a very authentic feel, even smelling slighly musty (in a good way - if that doesn't sound too wierd!!). It was a dual aspect room, one side faced Ickworth House which was a fantastic view. Staying at the hotel entitles you to visit the Main House complimentary, which was a lovely way to spend an hour or so. Breakfast and Dinner were both served in the Conservatory (there was the option of booking dinner in Frederick's) but the lightness and airiness of the conservatory was too appealing. The menus offered a good variety of dishes and the meals were prepared very nicely. The spa treatments were first class, and I would certainly recommend the Indian Head Massage if you get a chance. Our weekend was very good. This would have been excellent had we had kids. This hotel not only welcomes children, it really is geared up for them. We were certainly in the minority being a couple on a romantic weekend away. We have said that we would return again, but only when we have children to take with us. It would then offer us the perfect blend of adult and kiddy time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wtottle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that Belle Isle was so comfortable, its views of the Rotunda are unique. We strive to be able to look after both couples and families alike and whilst I note that you would stay again when you have children, I do sincerely hope that you will be able to come back as a couple again and enjoy another relaxing weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We just got back from a long weekend at the Ickworth Hotel and really enjoyed our stay. We went to celebrate our 4 year anniversary with our 11 month old daughter. The hotel is well set up for children. I find travelling with our little girl a little stressful (with the sterilising, refrigeration, ensuring there is appropriate food etc.) and you end up taking along a lot of kit. But I called ahead before we left and the hotel arranged a cot, steriliser, bottle warmer, and cooler/fridge for our room - so that saved me taking a lot of extra stuff. We stayed in a standard double (Molly's) which easily accommodated the travel cot which had been set up and made up. The hotel catered for babies (purees) and infants/children (with a kids menu) - you could choose for them to have high tea with all the other children or eat with them up until 7:00 in the conservatory. You were also able to make use of the creche for 2 hours a day (no extra cost). Then if you were comfortable enough could have dinner in the main kids free dining room and make use of the listening in service (luckily enough our little girl doesn't tend to wake once she goes to sleep). The food in the main restaurant was lovely, the food in the conservatory was a little more average, but still nice. There is a lot for both you and the kids to do - look round the house and gardens, cycle round the estate, swimming pool, kids play area, spa. It is also nice that most people are there with young children so you don't have to feel too embarrassed if your little one throws a hussy fit. We stayed three nights which seemed about right. I wouldn't come here without children, but for a low stress, holiday with young children it is great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dtaschler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with your 11 month old child and that we were able to offer and supply all the needs for a comfortable stay. We aim to please all of our guests whether travelling with young ones or just as a couple. The menu in The Conservatory is always on the change as we look for fresher and more interesting local dishes, be assusred that the quality is paramount and i have discussed with our Chef Simon.
I hope we will see you back soon and thank you again for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed here with our two young children and couldn't fault our trip at all. From booking over the phone to our departure the staff were more than helpful.

Hotel
The main building is lovely and we stayed in the Dower House which was just a nice. We had a massive room with a dining/sitting room, kitchen, bathroom and out own garden

Food
The children ate in the conservatory restaurant and the food was simple but good.
We ate later in the main restaurant and the food was fantastic. We arrived and had a drink and chose our food in one of the sitting rooms before going though to our table when our starter was ready. The food was some of the best that I have ever eaten being creative, modern and inventive.

The Grounds
The hotel is set in lovely grounds that stretch further than we wanted to walk!

Creche
We took advantage of the creche for the children to have a play while we read some newspapers and had a cup of tea. The member of the staff in the creche was lovely and the children took to her instantly

Swimming Pool
There is a great pool situated in a seperate building adjacent to the main house. It is a lovely building and the pool was nice and warm. We were the only ones in there so spent a couple of hours in the pool which the children enjoyed greatly

The House
We took advantage of free entry to the house and it is well worth a walk round. The guides were fantastic and it was a nice touch that people were wearing period costumes. We had tea and cake (made on site) in the cafe which was very nice

Staff
All of the staff that we came in contact with were fantastic and couldn't have been any more helpful.

Summary
Overall our trip was absolutley fantastic and I couldn't praise the hotel enough. It's great for families and couples who are looking for a relaxing break in luxurious surroundings. You must put this hotel on your bucket list!

Room Tip: We had a suite in the Dower Hoouse which was absolutley massive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliverPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your very detailed complimentary comments on your recent stay, it is a pleasure to look after all our guests and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. I trust we will be able to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Just a little bit different shades of Fawlty Towers we visited with our kids and grand kids and for children it really is a good hotel. They do make it ideal for children there is a great swimming pool and fairy garden and loads of bikes you can use plus plus For the grown ups it is less compelling. A stuffy restaurant served up mediocre food it's a shame they don't move it to the bright conservatory area and lighten up the atmosphere. The spa is interesting and good value but movie sound tracks with a relaxing massage doesn't work. Titanic and the Dambusters... As I said this is a quirky place

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments and in particular that you found the property so accepatable for families and children. I am sorry that you found Fredericks Restaurant stuffy, we try to keep an adult atmosphere. I am sorry to hear about the music choice in the Spa , I have reviewed the music that is offered and could not find the music you allude to however I will ensure that this type of music is never available in the Spa. We are quirky and proud of it, we cater for children
and families with dogs, a very rare commodity in the hotel business in the UK.
Again thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Norfolk
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed on a Sunday night for our wedding anniversary and it was absolutely super. The Sunday night deal is very good value. We had a beautiful room and a fantastic dinner in the restaurant. I can't wait for our wedding anniversary next year to go back, although I suspect we will have to have another stay before that.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed our sunday special offer, we like to offer a great experience and i am delighted that you will be ready soon for another short break , certainly at least once or maybe twice before your next anniversary. haste ye back we look forward to welcoming you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horringer
9.7 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
3.0 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
17.7 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
10.5 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ickworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ickworth Hotel

Property: The Ickworth Hotel
Address: Horringer, Bury St. Edmunds IP29 5QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds > Horringer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Horringer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ickworth Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Wing at Ickworth was home to the Hervey family before it passed to the National Trust. The surroundings are as grand as ever but the idea that “children should be seen but not heard” has gone right out of the hundred or more windows. Where else can you go that offers luxurious surroundings, outstanding facilities, exquisite cuisine and family friendly activities? Ickworth is unique. It's also one of the finest luxury family hotels in the UK.we have recently added a Cinema room to our facilities and show children's films every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ickworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ickworth Hotel Horringer
The Ickworth Hotel Horringer, UK - Bury St. Edmunds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing