We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ickworth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ickworth Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Horringer
nottimgham
1 review
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Had a lovely weekend away at The Dower House Apartment.
Breakfast very good lots of choice, easy going buffet. Staff friendly and helpful
Room was huge with lovely period furniture.
Good clean bathroom lots of towels & gowns
A definite return for us :-)

Room Tip: no comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gibsonNottimgham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you I am delighted that you enjoyed the Dower House, now renamed The Lodge at Ickworth from the 1st May as a result of our refurbishing all the areas and also as a testament to the original name of the building. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    173
    82
    41
    35
See reviews for
305
187
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

is how my children described their stay at Ickworth earlier on this month. We stayed in the Dower House and had a 2 bedroom apartment for my husband myself and 3 children - all worked very well. Made use of the bicycles and cycled to and from the main house, which in the dark after dinner the children thought was fab! Overall a wonderful experience - lovely hotel, beautiful grounds, very nice staff and excellent food. Sadly the hotel was let down by the lack of staff - it was a beautiful bank holiday weekend and we waited for our lunch for 1 1/2hours outside - the young staff were inexperienced and extremely hassled! We had a similar experience in the conservatory restaurant - whereas the food was great, the kitchen is really let down by the waiting staff. I cannot say the same for staff in the Dower House - where service was super efficient. We ordered a bottle of rose on the Saturday night - but there wasn't any chilled! I couldn't believe it - not good!! The pool also got very crowded - lots and lots and lots of small children!! So although slightly let down by staffing issues and no cold wine (!) this was a super super weekend - loved by our children - one of whom was in tears as we left!! Would certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nic040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for kind and constructive comments regarding your stay at The Ickworth. Regrettably on the day you spent in the walled garden which was indeed a beautiful day we were unfortunately let down by three staff not turning up for work which created a significant shortfall on our service. We have moved the tables and allocate specific staff to the walled garden and also a specific menu to ensure that we give the correct service. Your comments helped us review this service area and I appreciate your points. In all other matters I am glad that you and your children enjoyed their stay, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We surprised my Mum and Dad with an overnight hotel stay at The Ickworth Hotel and we were not disappointed. The welcome was immediate and set the tone for the entire visit. The staff could not have been more helpful and that includes the porter, the waiting staff and the staff on reception. As this was a gift we were placing our trust in the hotel to deliver this, which they did, if anything they exceeded our expectations.
The room and the food were all excellent too, with very good facilities in the room and the tranquility very often hard to find in a hotel was a joy.
It really doesn't matter how exceptional the hotel fixtures and fittings are. The staff make the hotel special and memorable and if this is what you are seeking then the Ickworth Hotel is for you. My Mum and Dad can't stop singing its praises!

Room Tip: Room overlooking the garden was very tranquil.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and we sincerely appreciate your views about our staff, they all work very hard and care about the work they do. I have ensured that they are aware of your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Close, but not there. Spent a wonderful weekend with the family (this is very much a hotel for families by the way, couples looking for a quiet escape beware!) at this beautiful house in Suffolk. Being part of a national trust building and being able to visit the collection made it special.

However, a few things does let the place down - namely the service. Fredericks was great, but eating in the conservatory was a different experience altogether. I don't really want my waitress guessing at the specials, struggling with taking an order, telling my wife to shush when she is trying to attract her attention, or them complaining how much longer they have to work again and again, or joining in on our conversations (you get the idea). The kids serving were great, very polite and attentive, and the 'adults' could learn a thing or two from them.

Unfortunately, that wasn't an isolated experience eating there, but don't let that put you off staying as the building and grounds are great, rooms beautiful, and kids well looked after.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments, I believe that you also wrote to me about this for which I have responded. As I have stated in my reply to you, we are currently recruiting staff for The Conservatory and regrettably the actions of this person who was on trial were not acceptable and they have not been taken on. I am very sorry that that you were inconvenienced by this, I am however delighted that you enjoyed Fredericks and all the other facilities at the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

attended meeting over two days, avery relaxed envoirement the staff and the hotel could not have been more helpful.The food was excellent and always on time in the evening we managed to get acycle ride it was great and enjoyable . Ickworth, thanks we will definitley be back and tak advantage of all the other facilites and next time iwill bring thechildren

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robert n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
I am delighted that all the arrangements for your two day meeting went so well and that you were able to enjoy a cycle around the 1800 acres of The Ickworth Estate in the evening. I will pass on your comments to the team who always take a great care in making sure that events such as yours are looked after carefully.
We look forward to welcoming you back with your children, let me know when and I would be delighted to make the arrangements for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Recently my sister and I had to be near Newmarket and we chose the Ickworth of the web, what a surprise, I was aware that this was a very child friendly hotel and indeed it was,however the Ickworth seemed to get the right mix for all guests.
I particularly enjoyed sitting in the walled garden on one of our first warm sunny days and yet the children playing in the Fairy Garden next to us did not affect our peace.
The staff were always friendly and helpful and went out of their way to ensure that we were comfortable.
I used the Spa, lovely treatments, great Indian Head massage. Dinner in Fredericks was a particular pleasure , great food and breakfast in the Conservatory in the morning sun is wonderful. Thank you Ickworth I will be back and with the grandchildren.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments over your stay at The Ickworth with your sister, I am particularly interested that although you were visiting Newmarket you found us so convenient for there.
You are right we are a very child ( and dog) friendly hotel but that our staff were able to ensure that you could have a peaceful stay, is indeed a pleasure.
I note that you are hoping to bring your grandchildren on your next stay and i certainly look forward to welcoming you and your grandchildren back to The Ickworth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

I would just like to say what a wonderful stay we had at this hotel. The staff were friendly, helpful and at all times incredibly aware of how to deal with small children. My partner and I stayed at the hotel for a weekend and my son Jack had a wonderful time. The creche is superb. It gave me and my partner a much needed break to have time to swim and enjoy some spa treatments.
The food in the Conservatory Restaurant was great and with the babysitting service gave us time to enjoy the meal in Frederiks which was delightful.
I can highly recommend this hotel as a getaway for all parents with small children.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments and I am particularly pleased that Jack enjoyed his time with us in the Four Bears Den, but that you also had time for yourselves as well. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Ickworth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horringer
3.0 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
9.7 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
17.8 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
10.5 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
4.3 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ickworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ickworth Hotel

Property: The Ickworth Hotel
Address: Horringer, Bury St. Edmunds IP29 5QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds > Horringer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Horringer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ickworth Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Wing at Ickworth was home to the Hervey family before it passed to the National Trust. The surroundings are as grand as ever but the idea that “children should be seen but not heard” has gone right out of the hundred or more windows. Where else can you go that offers luxurious surroundings, outstanding facilities, exquisite cuisine and family friendly activities? Ickworth is unique. It's also one of the finest luxury family hotels in the UK.we have recently added a Cinema room to our facilities and show children's films every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ickworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ickworth Hotel Horringer
The Ickworth Hotel Horringer, UK - Bury St. Edmunds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing