We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't believe rumours of food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #11 of 25 Kirkby Stephen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Don't believe rumours of food”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I had been told to go to the Kings Arms for Sunday dinner by my landlord, apparently it was supposed to be very good.
When we arrived at 6.40pm we were told, that we were too late for Sunday dinner and no food would be served, the athmosphere in the bar reminded us of Little Britain's shop for local people, so we did not stay, unless I hear it changed owners, I won't be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AngharadWilmslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    38
    16
    13
    15
See reviews for
26
63
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2012

the rooms were clean and comfortable but a little run down, i was told they would be doing work on the rooms some time over winter. The staff were friendly and did their jobs well. This is the second time i have stayed here this year, the first being not long before easter and i have to say on that first trip i lost all respect for the couple running the place at that time, not only did i hear them brag about giving the place bad reviews on sites similar to this and calling guests to suggest they stay at another establishment but they treated the staff like dirt in front of customers and sat about drinking the profits rather than do their job. As far as i can tell things have improved and i would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ana h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed here in may 2010 previously..It wasnt good then but at least the owners were trying to do their best...It changed hands in april.It is now dreadful...The very worst place on the coast2coast
Do yourself a favour.DO NOT STAY HERE.I would not stay again if they were offering free rooms
Thank goodness I didnt eat here in the evening or have a packed lunch.
Left half of my breakfast...No cereal or juice just a poorly cooked breakfast from someone who could be heard sneezing and clearing his throat while cooking..disgusting...got told to let myself out and leave the key on the table ..couldnt wait to leave..Keld lodge made up for it the next night see other review

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

By far, The Kings Arms, Kirkby Stephen is the worst public house/hotel it has ever been my misfortune to visit. The landlord and his staff can not even manage to fill a pint glass to the requisite level (even when requested to do so) The food is equally as rank as the beer. So all in all, it's a place best avoided if you wish to enjoy a night out in the town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The landlord has to be the most ignorant publican ever. We were not made welcome at all. The rooms are terrible, old fashioned and not worthy of a dog sleeping in the beds. The bar is filthy and we did not even have a pint in the pub, choosing to get out as soon as possible. The only thing the landlord was interested in was drinking bitter whilst watching the footie. DO NOT GO TO THIS PUB.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

stayed one night was dirty and smelly served short measures , wont be goin again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ben h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Hants
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Our stay here on our Coast to Coast walk was functional and in discussion with the ?owner he has only recently taken over and plans to endertake renovations over the winter. The place was 'somewhat tired' but functional; there was plenty of hot water and the food very welcome with a pleasant waitress doing her best. Breakfast was 'spot on' - just what was needed before the climb up to Nine Standards!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Stephen
0.0 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
The Black Bull Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Croft House
The Old Croft House
#4 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nateby Inn
Nateby Inn
#1 of 1 in Nateby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Pennine Hotel
The Pennine Hotel
#16 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
4.7 mi away
Brownber Hall
Brownber Hall
#1 of 2 in Newbiggin-on-Lune
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Inn at Brough
The Inn at Brough
#1 of 3 in Brough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Property: The Kings Arms Hotel
Address: Market Street, Kirkby Stephen CA17 4QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Kirkby Stephen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Stephen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right at the very heart of Kirkby Stephen, you will always be sure of a warm welcome at The Kings Arms. Perfectly balancing tradition features with a contemporary twist, the entire pub has recently undergone significant restoration making it a true focal and meeting point for the entire area Bringing together a welcoming atmosphere, fantastic locally sourced and home cooked food, together with a wide variety of traditional beers and ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Kirkby Stephen, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing