We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place by far on Coast2coast..AVOID”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #11 of 25 Kirkby Stephen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Worst place by far on Coast2coast..AVOID”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed here in may 2010 previously..It wasnt good then but at least the owners were trying to do their best...It changed hands in april.It is now dreadful...The very worst place on the coast2coast
Do yourself a favour.DO NOT STAY HERE.I would not stay again if they were offering free rooms
Thank goodness I didnt eat here in the evening or have a packed lunch.
Left half of my breakfast...No cereal or juice just a poorly cooked breakfast from someone who could be heard sneezing and clearing his throat while cooking..disgusting...got told to let myself out and leave the key on the table ..couldnt wait to leave..Keld lodge made up for it the next night see other review

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    40
    17
    14
    15
See reviews for
27
66
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

By far, The Kings Arms, Kirkby Stephen is the worst public house/hotel it has ever been my misfortune to visit. The landlord and his staff can not even manage to fill a pint glass to the requisite level (even when requested to do so) The food is equally as rank as the beer. So all in all, it's a place best avoided if you wish to enjoy a night out in the town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The landlord has to be the most ignorant publican ever. We were not made welcome at all. The rooms are terrible, old fashioned and not worthy of a dog sleeping in the beds. The bar is filthy and we did not even have a pint in the pub, choosing to get out as soon as possible. The only thing the landlord was interested in was drinking bitter whilst watching the footie. DO NOT GO TO THIS PUB.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

stayed one night was dirty and smelly served short measures , wont be goin again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ben h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Hants
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Our stay here on our Coast to Coast walk was functional and in discussion with the ?owner he has only recently taken over and plans to endertake renovations over the winter. The place was 'somewhat tired' but functional; there was plenty of hot water and the food very welcome with a pleasant waitress doing her best. Breakfast was 'spot on' - just what was needed before the climb up to Nine Standards!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rawtenstall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I stayed here overnight on the C2C walk, thankfully it was only one night! It is by far the worst place I have ever stayed.

It is in dire need of a refurbishment, and should not offer rooms until it has been! Luke warm water, broken tiles on the floor in the shower. Mouldy windows. I have stayed in better Battle Camps. Thankfully this was the only bad accommodation we had on the entire trip.

Best avoided

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GaryCMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Shabby.
Awful place, with cracked tiles, wall paper hanging off, luke warm shower, a 'patch work' carpet. OId fashioned and in need of a darn good over haul!
Breakfast wasn't much better, couldn't wait to leave.

Room Tip: Don't go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dizzyspells2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Stephen
0.0 mi away
The Pennine Hotel
The Pennine Hotel
#12 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
59 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nateby Inn
Nateby Inn
#1 of 1 in Nateby
466 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
The Black Bull Hotel
#7 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
541 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kirkby Stephen Hostel
Kirkby Stephen Hostel
#1 of 3 in Kirkby Stephen
148 reviews
4.7 mi away
Brownber Hall
Brownber Hall
#1 of 2 in Newbiggin-on-Lune
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Property: The Kings Arms Hotel
Address: Market Street, Kirkby Stephen CA17 4QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Kirkby Stephen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Stephen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right at the very heart of Kirkby Stephen, you will always be sure of a warm welcome at The Kings Arms. Perfectly balancing tradition features with a contemporary twist, the entire pub has recently undergone significant restoration making it a true focal and meeting point for the entire area Bringing together a welcoming atmosphere, fantastic locally sourced and home cooked food, together with a wide variety of traditional beers and ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Kirkby Stephen, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing