We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plans to improve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #11 of 25 Kirkby Stephen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alton, Hants
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Plans to improve”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Our stay here on our Coast to Coast walk was functional and in discussion with the ?owner he has only recently taken over and plans to endertake renovations over the winter. The place was 'somewhat tired' but functional; there was plenty of hot water and the food very welcome with a pleasant waitress doing her best. Breakfast was 'spot on' - just what was needed before the climb up to Nine Standards!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    40
    17
    14
    15
See reviews for
27
66
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rawtenstall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I stayed here overnight on the C2C walk, thankfully it was only one night! It is by far the worst place I have ever stayed.

It is in dire need of a refurbishment, and should not offer rooms until it has been! Luke warm water, broken tiles on the floor in the shower. Mouldy windows. I have stayed in better Battle Camps. Thankfully this was the only bad accommodation we had on the entire trip.

Best avoided

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GaryCMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Shabby.
Awful place, with cracked tiles, wall paper hanging off, luke warm shower, a 'patch work' carpet. OId fashioned and in need of a darn good over haul!
Breakfast wasn't much better, couldn't wait to leave.

Room Tip: Don't go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dizzyspells2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Can't believe some of the negative comments on here!!!!!!!!!We went ,last April as a group of 25ish.Fair enough,we pre booked,but the quality of the food,friendliness of the staff and the service was exceptional.Will definately go again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BXDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby Stephen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Dinner for four, booked table seen written in diary but said that they had no booking, they hadn't looked.
Sunday left-over roast, meat good, roast potatoes so rewarmed and left-over that they had no middle left with burnt yorkshire. Duck good. Gin and tonic with no gin. No atmosphere.
Service awful, one menu between four, plates not cleared, no suggestion of sweets or coffee.
Served by teenager pleasant but inefficient. New landlord scarce, sadly worse than previous people, shame.

Room Tip: Dinner and bar only but best avoided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annsandell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

It is tired and expensive for what it offers. Better places must be available in the town. Staff were friendly but that didn't compensate for the refurbishment required. Beer is good but remember to leave after drinking.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank klemm709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We booked a twin room when doing part of the coast to coast, paying a deposit over the phone. When it came to paying the balance I was told that since we had a room with a bath we had to pay an extra £10. We paid but looking back I shouldn't have as we had absolutely no hot water, having to boil kettles to get washed in the sink!
Breakfast was very nice however, although it was impossible to get an early start.

Room Tip: Avoid top floor overlooking the front of the building as our room was noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Stephen
0.0 mi away
The Pennine Hotel
The Pennine Hotel
#13 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
59 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nateby Inn
Nateby Inn
#1 of 1 in Nateby
466 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
The Black Bull Hotel
#6 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
541 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kirkby Stephen Hostel
Kirkby Stephen Hostel
#1 of 3 in Kirkby Stephen
148 reviews
4.7 mi away
Brownber Hall
Brownber Hall
#1 of 2 in Newbiggin-on-Lune
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Property: The Kings Arms Hotel
Address: Market Street, Kirkby Stephen CA17 4QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Kirkby Stephen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Stephen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right at the very heart of Kirkby Stephen, you will always be sure of a warm welcome at The Kings Arms. Perfectly balancing tradition features with a contemporary twist, the entire pub has recently undergone significant restoration making it a true focal and meeting point for the entire area Bringing together a welcoming atmosphere, fantastic locally sourced and home cooked food, together with a wide variety of traditional beers and ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Kirkby Stephen, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing