We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Proof Positive of What Enthusiasm Can Achieve”

Stainmore Railway Company
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We are a volunteer run heritage railway established in 1997 and open to the public since 2011. We are open at weekends from 10 am - 4pm and admission is free with charges for train rides and some special events. Train operate on selected weekends from Easter to October with dates published on our website.The site has a small museum, shop selling a wide range of items including Bachmann, Peco, Gibsons Puzzles and Countryside Books. We run a small cafe in a vintage buffet car which serves drinks and snacks at weekends and offers a range of snacks, panini toasties and tray bakes on operating days and special events. We have operational industrial steam and diesel locomotives with a range of heritage rolling stock. We also house 910 from the National Collection which is a static exhibit.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
717 reviews
327 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
“Proof Positive of What Enthusiasm Can Achieve”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We dropped in to have a look after a five year break. What an outstanding achievement - a station platform, a station, railway tracks running into the distance, a proper car park, lots of locomotives, waggons, carriages,etc.

Well done - we will be back on a day when you are open to the public. Good luck with the many projects - signal box, engine, shed, etc.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Rossergruffydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stainmore_Railway_Co, Director of Sales at Stainmore Railway Company, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for visiting us our next operating day is 11th August and we have a murder mystery event the evening of 10th August.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    19
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

we have been visiting the station for about 2 years with our 5 year old grandson. staff are very warm and friendly and very informative, and all work very hard to restore the station. i would recommend a visit as there are lots of different things to see that suit all age groups. keep up the good work and will be back soon.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stainmore_Railway_Co, Director of Sales at Stainmore Railway Company, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks Sandra, we enjoy your visits and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

What a wonderful " Footplate Experience " Passed the station so many times, very pleased to have called in.
To anybody who is thinking about a treat, give it a go.
My family would also like to say thank you to all staff involved, they to had a great time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TERRYANNTOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stainmore_Railway_Co, Director of Sales at Stainmore Railway Company, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for coming to KSE and so glad that you and the family enjoyed the day .
Look forward to seeing you again sometime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Small but interesting railway centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We went as a party of 6 adults with one 3 year old, and we all found something interesting to look at. The volunteers are really friendly and helpful, toys were produced for our child, and there is a little exhibition as well as static engines on display. The shop is basic, but has some nice things in it and there is plenty of parking too. Worth a look if you are passing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stainmore_Railway_Co, Director of Sales at Stainmore Railway Company, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your visit and it was great to see three generations getting along and enjoying themselves.
Hope that you will come back when we are runnning trains
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A line that's going places”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Bearing in mind the derelict state of the site when the started here, this heritage line's volunteers have wrought miracles. The former Kirkby Stephen East station has been lovingly restored and there's an eclectic assortment of rolling stock in various states of restoration including several Gresley teak coaches. A friendly volunteer took me round one of these to see the work in progress.
So far they only have a few hundred metres of track to run on, but the hope is for a 12-mile line to link with the Eden Valley railway in Appleby. They have steam and diesel locos so there should be something for everyone.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mkjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stainmore_Railway_Co, Director of Sales at Stainmore Railway Company, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
thank you for visiting KSE and we hope that you will come back again when we are operating.
Please see our website for our operating dates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stainmore Railway Company also viewed

Kirkby Stephen, Eden District
Middleham, North Yorkshire
 
Kirkby Stephen, Eden District
Kirkby Stephen, Eden District
 

Been to Stainmore Railway Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing