We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location for visiting nortern England”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kirkby Stephen, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Micael A
Rydöbruk, Hallands Län, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location for visiting nortern England”
Reviewed August 10, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed in Kirkby Stephne for a week. We travelled with car. The cottage was clean and had a good standard. It was situated closed to the Town centre. Just 5 minutes walk to pubs and resturants.
The cottage is small, and maximum 4 person. On the down side: one bathroom but that was ok for us, just beeing two person. No wifi, but you can live without internet for a week. The pub "Black Bull" in Town centre has free wifi - and good ale and food!
The purpose for us was golf, and there is a lot of courses closed to Kirkby Stephens. I recommend Appleby golf course.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Med partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john n
Leyburn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant Week In Kirkby Stephen”
Reviewed April 22, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We have just returned from a fantastic week at Manor Lodge, yes we got the weather which always helps but the situation and comfort there was excellent.All rooms were spotless and it's so comfortable, we slept like " Logs" all week, it has everything you need and the garden is private and quite stunning.If you enjoy nature then you could spend all day bird watching from the verandah, we had a Tawny Owl every night sitting quietly for half an hour opposite the entrance and teens of Bats.
The Kirkby Stephen Macaws were briefly seen, heard first as usual, they remain an interesting feature of the town, we first spotted them over ten years ago whilst out walking, we thought that we had spotted a rare bird but now know that they return to aviary every night but are allowed free travel throughout the day .
The owners were polite and helpful, the situation is two minutes from the centre of town and there is plenty of room to park and you are then straight on to the main road.
We walked everyday, the Howgills/Dales/Eden Valley/Mallerstang and Wild Boar ranges are all within minutes by car.We have never understood why this area is not more popular.The Town is small but has adequate options re eating and drinking, it has 3 Fish&Chip Shops for a start, The White Lion sells beer for £2 a pint ( Bitter/ Lager ) The Coast To Coast Chippie sells Fish&Chips/peas for £3:80p so you can't go wrong!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share this thoroughly lovely review with us all, we couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your time at Manor Lodge. It sounds wonderful to be able to enjoy the wildlife from right from the door, plus having plenty more to do and see further afield! The Macaws sound like a particularly interesting attraction, thank you for sharing a bit of their back story with us. We hope you return again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan...
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Jones family Kirby Stephen lodge rental”
Reviewed March 8, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What an excellent spot to enjoy the area in and around Kirkby Stephen. Manor Lodge was easy to find, provided excellent facilities overall and was a very brief walk to shops and restaurants. A private, off-road parking space next to the lodge was a good start; a place to store four bikes under a wooden walkway was helpful and a first view of the lodge when opening the door was like a home from home! There was a well-equipped kitchen, a clean bathroom and two clean bedrooms; all very homely. It took less than five minutes to walk to any shop or restaurant (and there was a variety of dining opportunities in the main street) and we set off from the lodge on three major walks and two cycle rides with map in hand - easy! A day trip to Carlisle on the Settle to Carlisle Railway was great too. The whole family would recommend this rental to anyone wanting to visit the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewed October 17, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bury St Edmunds
Reviewed August 23, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing