We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Kirkby Stephen, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
maddee84
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed June 26, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Just back from an amazing week at the Cow Byre, wonderful views, wildlife right outside the door, excellent hosts, we couldn't have asked for any more. Would thoroughly recommend!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsVirtue
2 reviews
“Perfect hobeymoon”
Reviewed April 21, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My husband I stayed here for 5 nights for our honeymoon in March. It was absolutely perfect, such a romantic hideaway. We will definitely be returning. The whole cottage is perfectly kitted out for 2.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judeme
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Cottage, Beautiful surroundings, Bird watchers paradise”
Reviewed March 9, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We just returned from a three night stay at Cow Byre Cottage. The cottage is maintained to a very high standard and one of the quirkiest places I've stayed. Cow Byre has a lovely homely feel about it which is even better once you get the open log burning stove going on a cold March windy night. We took all of our own provisions and everything else we needed for a nice weekend away from it all. The grounds are very welcoming and all prior instructions are easy to follow i.e. where to park, where the key is etc. The owners where very thoughtful in the gifts they left. I won't go on too much about the Cottage as you need to visit for yourselves. The area is a walkers paradise with open fells, nature reserves etc. If you don't want to venture out on arrival to Cow Byre you need no go any further than the window as it's a bird watchers paradise, cameras to the ready and enjoy your stay; I know we did.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
longleggg...
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing romantic getaway in a beautiful location!”
Reviewed February 6, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Cow Byre for 3 nights for a short break during his birthday period. The property was exquisite and luxurious with roll top bath, wood burning stove and four poster bed, absolutely 5 star. The break was everything we wanted and more, the accommodation had everything we needed for a more than comfortable stay as well as lovely extras such as bathrobes, slippers and a great DVD collection. Upon arrival we were greeted with a bottle of wine, a personalised card, chocolates and eggs and milk in the fridge!
The views were superb and and the surrounding areas fantastic and accessible.
Lisa and Mark provided a useful folder containing info about the property and also surrounding pubs, activities and things to see.
We honestly could not fault a single thing about this accommodation or our stay- we shall definately be returning!
Thanks again
Kate & David

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 9, 2015
Thank you so much for such a fabulous review! We hope that your boyfriend enjoyed his birthday and are glad that you enjoyed what we have to offer here at The Cow Byre. We hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew610...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful and relaxing break in the countryside”
Reviewed January 21, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

This idyllic cottage is a perfect location for a short relaxing break with very easy access to both the east of the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales. Cottage is furnished with lovely attention to detail and provides quirky and endearing living space for young couples. We loved the open plan layout of the cottage - especially the views out over the hills from the fantastic bath!!

We would definitely return to the cottage. Our every need was catered for while also giving us the privacy and space we wanted for our mini-moon!

Highly reccommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cute but luxurious
Liked least: The rain!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2015
Thank you so much for your feedback, we really appreciate it. We're really happy that you appreciated the quirky, open plan nature of the cottage, it really adds a lot of charm and character! It's not very often that you get a beautiful view from a bath! We're glad you're looking to come back, lets get you booked in soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biztravel...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Amazing Romantic Getaway”
Reviewed December 3, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

The most beautiful cottage I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. We had never heard of Kirkby Stephen and I am so glad we stumbled across it and The Cow Byre. Gorgeous location, beautiful views, lovely people, amazing cottage, great pubs....we had the most wonderful time. Complimentary wifi, a huge dvd cupboard...incredibly clean! We haven't stopped telling our friends and family and recommending it to others. Fantastic 4 poster bed, huge roll top bath....everything you need...even a bottle of wine and cookies, milk and eggs...Thank-you....for a wonderful stay! Amy and Phil x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charley B
Henlow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Slice of heaven”
Reviewed November 25, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

One of the most beautiful and individual cottages I have ever seen. Had such a relaxing time and couldn't have enjoyed the mini break more. The wine, cookies and chocolates from Lisa and Mark were a lovely touch as was the milk and eggs. The views were phenomenal and my partner and I got quite used to waking up to such wonderful sights, even for the few short days we stayed. Very much hope to return again. Thank you for having us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open lay=out
Liked least: Struggled to find it. A sign post at the bottom of the drive would be a big help!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing