We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be returning!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kirkby Stephen Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Oldham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Won't be returning!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I turned up to a note on the door with the code to access the building, once inside my bag was right there - it could have easily been stolen. There was no heating on and the drying room was freezing! The owner was at a social event and not there until morning.

To get warm I placed 4 blankets over myself and still shivered.

The only good thing was that the next day the owner turned up, as did the heating...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eloise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    34
    8
    11
    6
See reviews for
9
19
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just what we needed after our wet and cold journey. The place was lovely and warm and very welcoming. Would definately be staying again. The managaer couldnt be more helpful if you needed anything which is good compared to some places i have stayed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeedsBiker44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I heard from a friend that this hostel was considered the best accommodation on the Coast to Coast route 15 years ago. While it is still a lovely building in a central location in the town, some of the facilities could do with a bit of attention now. The lounge is a lovely large room with comfy sofas, large tables and an adjoining kitchen. The heating is old and creaky but effective, the showers were hot and I slept fairly well in my bunk bed although I could only find one double socket for a room for 6 people. The full English breakfast was a bit greasy for me so I would self cater if I go again. I think it your view will depend on what you compare the hostel with. If you are used to B&Bs then this might seem a bit primitive but I have camped & slept in very basic bunkbarns so this seemed alright to be honest.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesignerWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic place.
We came as a very large group and rented the whole place for four days over new year.
The hostel was really pretty as a lot of the old features were kept from when it was a church, without sacrificing the function of the place.
It was actually a very warm building which surprised me because it is Arnold building.
We had everything we needed and more, the kitchen was full of all the equipment you could need and along with the bathrooms were large, clean and comfortable.
It was fantastic accommodation for the price and we had a fantastic new year.
Thank you so much
Xxx

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Suzy_Loo91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a superb location, very comfortable, and the manager is most helpful too. The only downside is the showering facilities that could do with improving... That said, it's ideal for walkers with shops, of all sorts (eg:- co-op, F&C's, Out-door shop's and many more) close by.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alban M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at the hostel after walking the wettest and longest leg of the C2C so far to be met with a note on the door explaining that there was no member of staff and if there was any problem then to call the mobile number provided. Fair enough. We then climbed upstairs to our 'ensuite' room. On entering the room our first sight was a wall covered in mildew and visibly damp. There were 2 beds- one single and one small double. The bed linen felt damp and greasy and when I smelt the pillow cases they were definitely not clean and you could smell that someone else's head had already been laying on them. The bedside table was old and tatty and pushed into the corner of the room away from the beds for some reason. On top of this, an old broken picture had been dumped on top. There was a night storage heater that looked about 30 years old in the room. We don't know if this worked but the room was extremely cold. Next we checked the shower where we found a large clump of black hair in the shower tray. Unsurprisingly we decided that we could not stay in this hostel and left to find somewhere else for the night. My boyfriend contacted Denise on the mobile number provided to politely explain the situation and when we asked if the £38 could be refunded she flatly refused. We were greatly disappointed by the whole experience. I would definitely not recommend this hostel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fiskfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We were doing a long walk which took us through the dales into Kirkby Stephens - a walk and destination we'd recommend to any walker.

When you come into Kirkby there are numerous little guesthouses etc. but, and not just if your budget's limited, we'd recommend this lovely place.

Fairly standard as far as hostels go - all the usual facilities and furnishings - but the common area is grand; the building is a converted church so has the grand space, nook, pews and all.

We had the run of the place - the weather is clearly putting people off these days. Any travellers or walkers will know though that it's been ideal for a good trek.

Anyways. It's a good price, all the things you might want/need with a little extra 'homely' touch - tea and coffee and the like provided, towels for £1,...bits like that.

All in all very warm and comfortable. If I'm ever up this way again I'll bee-line to this place.

But that's not the clincher. Denise - the lovely woman who runs it - is. She is properly brilliant. Here's the example...

... So we set off the next morning and - about 4 miles into the hike (towards Appleby) I realised I left my jacket behind. Too far to return I figured the best I could do would be call in and get Denise to send it on somewhere, then spend another £80 on another jacket to do the rest of our trek.

Oh no. Instead Denise rearranged her schedule, drove out to meet us in Appleby and gave me my coat.

A life saver. We'll never forget you Denise, and cannot thank you enough. Visit Kirkby. Stay at the hostel. Give Denise a big hug.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bootworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Stephen
0.0 mi away
The Old Croft House
The Old Croft House
#4 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nateby Inn
Nateby Inn
#1 of 1 in Nateby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
4.7 mi away
Brownber Hall
Brownber Hall
#1 of 2 in Newbiggin-on-Lune
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
The Black Bull Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
3.7 mi away
Augill Castle
Augill Castle
#1 of 1 in South Stainmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkby Stephen Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkby Stephen Hostel

Property: Kirkby Stephen Hostel
Address: Market Street, Kirkby Stephen CA17 4QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Kirkby Stephen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Kirkby Stephen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kirkby Stephen Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please understand the word Hostel, I offer buget accomadation, bunk beds with bedding provided. You can make your own meals, there is a drying room, hot showers,common room to relax in.All you need after a long day walking, cycling,traveling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Kirkby Stephen Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkby Stephen Hostel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing