We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hospitality and care in a fine old house”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Croft House
Ranked #4 of 25 Kirkby Stephen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good hospitality and care in a fine old house”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend break in late July - got a great double room opulently furnished. Our room looked out onf Market Street but was quiet at night with thick curtains and shutters. We had a beautiful en suite bathroom. Owners Nick and Rachel were friendly, chatty and lent us walking books for our excursions. The evening meal - which we tried two nights running - was all nicely done. The place can't be beat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoelCrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
68
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Judging from the other reviews here, I drew the short straw so far as rooms go, being given a narrow coffin of a bedroom decorated in shades of charcoal to black. The room would certainly suit a goth or travelling vampire, but for me arriving after a particularly soggy section of the coast to coast walk, the gloomy, hammer horror bedroom was something of a shock. The owner picked up on my dismay and apologetically explained that they'd taken over the hotel recently and hadn't redecorated. One definite bonus was an electric foot spa into which I immersed my aching feet, complete with extremely soothing bath salts also provided. The saving grace from the funeral parlour room was having a decent sized bathroom to myself, even though it was not particularly close to the bedroom, and whilst sitting on the loo one has a large porcelaine bottom to impossibly ignore on the wall opposite. The breakfast was excellent, and the tables laid so ornately I felt completely out of place in my hiking gear. Old Croft House is certainly different and at £35 it was good value.

Room Tip: Be warned the single room was decorated for Count Dracula.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHikingDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

After a grueling 22-mile day, my friends and I were greeted by a cheerful, smiling Nick who asked us to remove our wet & muddy socks and shoes, which he took care of posthaste. This top-notch B&B is run by the most friendly, knowledgeable, chic proprietors. We couldn't say enough good things about the place itself, with its winding staircase, its uniquely and elegantly-appropriated rooms - each with its individual charm - and of course the generous owners.

My room was decorated in the fashion of a French/New Orleans-style suite, with numerous fleur de lis everywhere, but in a very stylish way. Within walking distance was a library nook, from which I borrowed a book to read before I fell asleep. My friends had a room that had an ethereal theme, and my bathroom (not ensuite) was luxuriously decorated. I felt like I was in a spa and all service was very personalized, to include the delicious breakfast and great Coast-to-Coast advice we received the next day.

The location is also fabulous, within walking distance of the pubs and chemist. If you are doing the C-to-C, make this stop a must. I promise you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morganaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Great welcome, good accommodation, good position for coast to coast, hosts were also walkers and aware of the walk over nine standards and gave some god advice.

Breakfast was good and everything was clean

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge Suffolk
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We were so pleased we opted to stay here. What a beautiful warm house and a lovely warm welcome. Nothing was too much trouble for Nick and he took care of our wet clothes and boots immediately. Our room was delightful, so pretty and the bed was really comfortable. Breakfast was very good with such a huge choice and the dining room was light, spacious and very tastefully set out. Would certainly recommend this great B and B and hope this young couple will enjoy much success which would be very well deserved.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerwood
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Nick and Rachel young B&B keepers who are doing an excellent job at both the business and welcoming side. nick is a fount of info about the area and the "Coast to Coast Walk" which really appreciated. The room was large and had a touch of luxury with beautiful antiques and fine bedding. The breakfast was delicious with fresh fruits, yogurt, cereal and hot made to order. I really enjoyed a fresh Kipper with my eggs and whole grain toast. We would definitely stay here again and wish Nick and Rachel the best of success.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CycleChic20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Wonderful welcome and more than happy to dry out walkers' kit which was a godsend. Unusually decorated bedroom but quite large and plenty of hot water. Breakfast was great and free wifi was a bonus.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SarahH182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kirkby Stephen hotels
0.0 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
The Black Bull Hotel
#7 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
154 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pennine Hotel
The Pennine Hotel
#12 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
59 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nateby Inn
Nateby Inn
#1 of 1 in Nateby
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#11 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
166 reviews
4.7 mi away
Brownber Hall
Brownber Hall
#1 of 2 in Newbiggin-on-Lune
176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cheskin House
Cheskin House
#15 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Croft House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Croft House

Property: The Old Croft House
Address: Old Croft House Market Street, Kirkby Stephen CA17 4QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Kirkby Stephen
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Stephen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Grade II listed Georgian town house situated in the market town of Kirkby Stephen Dating from 1750 The Old Croft House has retained much of its original charm and character with a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Prices from £38 per person per night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Croft House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Croft House Kirkby Stephen, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing