We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend break as a Xmas gift”
Review of Barbon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barbon Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Weekend break as a Xmas gift”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have just spent a weekend at the Barbon Inn where we had a lovely weekend.
People very friendly, room was basic however very clean and cosy. We had reservations about eating in, we thought maybe the food would be basic and most likely out of the freezer, how wrong were we! the food was fantastic and the service was great.
The only down side was that the bar closed between 3 and 6, where we would of liked to relax with a drink or too on the afternoon.
In all a great weekend with lovely people, a really great Xmas pressie from our children.
Would most definitely go back

Thanks to all at the Barbon Inn...................
Julie and Keith Pendleton

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joolsp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    121
    38
    18
    4
See reviews for
33
237
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
361 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We popped in on a walk from Casterton for lunch over the Xmas period. The fires were burning and the landlord welcomed us in

The food was traditional bar food - we went for the "soupwich" - home made soup and thick cut ham sandwiches with a bowl of chips - hit the spot perfectly !

We've visited a number of times and would definitely recommend a visit

Room Tip: sorry - didn't stay over !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riddler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Had an excellent overnight stay at the Barbon Inn for our walking group Xmas celebration. Stayed in this area for last three years and this the best yet. Met by friendly staff on arrival, lovely, excellently priced lunch then nice recommended walk in Kirby Lonsdale. The cosy lounge area with log fire made excellent meeting place for guests. Evening meal and breakfast were enjoyed by everyone and the friendly staff and locals made the stay memorable. The rooms were all well presented with comfy beds and en suites with showers and a bath to soak in after a day on the fells were ideal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteJRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is an excellent and highly regarded hotel, inn and pub with real ale and good food. Popular all year around with walkers and others on holiday or en route to tyhe Lake District or Scotland. Near the Yorkshire Dales and only a few miles from the Lake District. This is my local pub and I have been going there for 20 yaers now.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Stamp_Consult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The food was good but that was about it. The hotel is shabby and smelly. None of the carpets or flooring fits well throughout. The place smells of old chip fat. The bedrooms are old fashioned - 70's flat pack furniture is not attractive. Although it was very cold outside when we stayed - I would have expected the inside to be snug - the bathroom was so cold that we couldn't shower. The staff were friendly apart from one person who was was extremely rude and offensive. We were literally thrown out of the bar area at 11 o'clock - not good. I would definately advise anyone who wants to visit this very beautiful area of the country to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WandaLakeDistrict, Owner at Barbon Inn, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Elizabeth N. stayed at the Barbon Inn on Saturday 1st December with her sister and husbands.
Thank you for your comments, I am very pleased you all enjoyed your food, we have a good reputation to uphold and it concerns me that later in the evening your stay was curtailed by the bar closing. We are a 17th Century country inn and keep to our licencing hours, you were asked to leave the bar because being the worse for drink you became loud and disruptive particularly to the bar person who was doing her job. I am sorry you felt the need to air these derogatory remarks; all our staff exceed the customer service awards and are proud of it. I always listen to guests comments and constructive criticism is welcomed and more often than not, very helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We spent a lovely weekend at the Barbon Inn. Great food, lovely breakfast. The room was clean and the bed was huge and comfy. The shower worked brilliantly only a bit noisy - you'll see. The scenery was breathtaking even in the drizzly rain. Visited Kirkby Lonsdale close by and strolled around the gift shops. Visit the chocolate mine if you get chance. We also visited Ingleton, Settle and Sedburg during the weekend and ended with a stop off in Skipton on the way home. All in all a great break from the norm. I would def recommend the Barbon Inn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Just had two nights at the Barbon and it was fabulous,warm friendly welcome, cosy, clean and great food.The log fires made it so inviting and the cosy settees. Can't wait to go back. Can recommend to all. Lovely scenery and some great walks. Thankyou to all for making our stay perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Lonsdale
3.2 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
17.1 mi away
Shap Wells Hotel
5.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 14 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Tufton Arms Hotel
Tufton Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#3 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#1 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barbon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barbon Inn

Property: Barbon Inn
Address: Nr Kirkby Lonsdale, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Barbon Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barbon Inn and Restaurant near Kirkby Lonsdale has been around since the 1650s and started life as a farmhouse. Situated in the peaceful and tranquil village of Barbon, this country inn offers old world elegance in its accommodation restaurant and pub. The Barbon serves traditional English cuisine with a modern twist. Specialty dishes using local produce with choices like confit duck leg served with dauphinoise potatoes, sautéed leeks and a rich blackberry sauce; menu choices change with the seasons. The inn has an excellent wine list which has been a labour of love for one of the owners, and she will help you select from the connoisseurs list. The Barbon Inn has 10 bedrooms one with a four-poster bed. It’s located halfway between the Lake District National Park and the Yorkshire Dales National Park which makes it the perfect base for exploring both. The pastoral feel is added to by a local racetrack that holds the Barbon Hill Climb. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barbon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barbon Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing