We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem.”
Review of Barbon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barbon Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I booked a 3 night stay in the Inn as part of a two week visit to the UK. Both my wife and myself found the rooms to be very comfortable, warm and very conducive to a good nights sleep. We spent the day walking and exploring the environs and returned every night for very good home cooked food sourced from the locality and cooked with no fuss.
We found the staff most welcoming and after two nights felt like part of the community. The overall experience was great, long may it continue.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVE46_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 401 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

Food and service excellent. Sandra, (joint proprietor) found out it was our anniversary and arranged some bubbly for ourselves and friends (on the house). Accommodation is fine for a 17th C. building.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dynasonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Booked 4 rooms for family wedding. Not ready when arrived within check-in time and had to get changed in used rooms - not pleasant. Not given room keys and were only able to get back in the hotel at night as other wedding guests had keys thank goodness. No-one contactable - found some keys hanging up in kitchen and had to disturb some other guests before, after about half an hour, we found 3 of our rooms. Two rooms we tried had guests in them - very embarrassing. Grandchildren very tired and lying in corridor- nightmare! Room 2 had extremely noisy Sanilav in a tiny ensuite with glass window in door! Explained problem in morning and received apology and reduction in final bill, although we didn't find 4 poster room but were charged for it. Left feeling annoyed but tried to laugh it off. However, two days later, received a phone call, accusing my husband and I of putting a "whole toilet roll" down the Sanilav, blocking it! Unbelievable! My husband and I are in our 60s and were absolutely insulted. We will NEVER go there again and advise others to take care and DO NOT BOOK ROOM 2.

Room Tip: Make sure it is not Room 2 with the antiquated, very noisy, Sanilav toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed at the inn for 3 days ( 3 for 2 offer) Room OK with old furniture.
Bathroom could be described as compact with a door with an opaque glass panel which was a bit disconcerting to say the least ( good job we have been together for some time!!) There was a notice on wall asking not to put anything other than loo paper down the toilet: no problem. However we were not told that the 2 switches on the wall (that we had not noticed) were to enable the loo and the shower tray to empty! Needless to say we had an embarrassing moment when the loo blocked and we were awoken with a discreet knock saying there was a leak and the said switches needed to be on all the time and how was it that they were off?!! Explained that we had not been taken to our rooms and therefore had not been given the necessary information so they had never been turned on since we had arrived.We would certainly have known as the noise was deafening ! (Perhaps a note in the room requesting that switches were left on could be considered??)
Rest of stay pleasant food and service was good and the weather was kind.

Room Tip: Check out bathroom first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Booked 3 rooms for family to attend a local wedding. The owners and staff coped well with our comings & goings. The food is good & service timely, there were a couple of decent beers in the bar... The bedrooms are comfortable - but remember it's a period building - so they are not enormous!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Booked a table at The Barbon after reading write up in the Gourmet Society guide to restaurants in the area.
Set in a very picturesque area and easy enough to find.
Food and service was first rate - if u like puddings u gotta try the sticky toffee with butterscotch sauce and ice cream. Believe me its worth the trip up from Notts alone.
Good choice of mains, perfectly cooked
Well worth another visit

Room Tip: Only ate there but from what I saw the place looked very clean and welcoming
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed at this inn as a treat. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were hugely impressed. The owners have succeeded in creating a home away from home feel, which is only enhanced by the fact all of the staff are incredibly friendly.

As this accommodation is in a seventeenth century coaching inn it is not in any way shiny or sterile, but Our room looked newly decorated and was very clean.

We also chose to eat our evening meal in the inn and this was also excellent pub food.

We will return when next in the area.

Wether we will chose to climb the huge hill at the rear of the inn again is a different matter.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frosty2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Lonsdale
3.2 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,149 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hipping Hall
Hipping Hall
#1 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
505 reviews
2.6 mi away
Snooty Fox
Snooty Fox
#2 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
563 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#3 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
210 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#1 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barbon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barbon Inn

Address: Nr Kirkby Lonsdale, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range: $35 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barbon Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barbon Inn and Restaurant near Kirkby Lonsdale has been around since the 1650s and started life as a farmhouse. Situated in the peaceful and tranquil village of Barbon, this country inn offers old world elegance in its accommodation restaurant and pub. The Barbon serves traditional English cuisine with a modern twist. Specialty dishes using local produce with choices like confit duck leg served with dauphinoise potatoes, sautéed leeks and a rich blackberry sauce; menu choices change with the seasons. The inn has an excellent wine list which has been a labour of love for one of the owners, and she will help you select from the connoisseurs list. The Barbon Inn has 10 bedrooms one with a four-poster bed. It’s located halfway between the Lake District National Park and the Yorkshire Dales National Park which makes it the perfect base for exploring both. The pastoral feel is added to by a local racetrack that holds the Barbon Hill Climb. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Barbon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barbon Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing