We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Advertised as open but it was closed!”

Jingling Lane Chippy
Description: Traditional British Fish & Chips
Restaurant details
Description: Traditional British Fish & Chips
Reviewed December 13, 2018

We have bought fish and chips from this chippy a number of times, and also dined in. It has always been excellent. However, this Wednesday although I checked the opening hours online and also the times outside the building it was closed without any explanation. We were on our way to visit family in the Yorkshire Dales and had made a detour so it was rather frustrating. I apologise for the 'grumble' if any emergency had forced it's closure but otherwise it would have been helpful if a note had even been 'pinned' to the door. Our frustration was shared by several other people who also expected it to be open.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Food
Thank syl47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
59Nikki, Owner at Jingling Lane Chippy, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2018

So sorry you were inconvenienced by our unadvertised closure, we had suffered a medical emergency during the night, and unfortunately I was unable to get back from the hospital in time to put a “note on the door”. Life occasionally throws a “Curve Ball” !!!! I hope you managed to find suitable refreshments elsewhere, I did manage to display a note on the door later that day, but my priority that day laid with my husbands needs. Once again I apologise for your inconvenience, and hope that we will have returned to our posts by the time you visit again.
Kind regards Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 80 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2018

Im not sure of the opening hours of this chippy but it seems closed more than open?/ But when you do find there fryer on the fish and chips are excellent.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank johnsA2596QF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
59Nikki, Owner at Jingling Lane Chippy, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2018

So sorry you are dissatisfied with our opening times, our opening times are clearly displayed on our shop window, they are also to be found on our Facebook page, trip advisor and Google. During the summer months, ( April - October inclusive, 7 months ) we are open 5 days a week, and in winter ( November - March inclusive, 5 months ) we drop down to 4 days a week. As we have extended family caring commitments, we find these hours manageable, we are may I add, a small family run business. I do however appreciate you taking the time out of your day to leave your review , and am pleased that when you do find us open, you enjoy our fish and chips.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2018

Four of us ate in here last night ......beautiful Fish & Chips, lovely fresh,tasty & a cup of tea. We were asked twice if everything of ok. Well worth a visit!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Clashfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
59Nikki, Owner at Jingling Lane Chippy, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2018

Thank you Clashern for taking the time to write your review, we are always so pleased when our visitors enjoy their meals, makes our work worthwhile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018

Excellent fish and chips, lovely light crispy batter. Hot and tasty. Eaten at the Devil's bridge. Lovely

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2018

we called in for fish and chips and it was very nice a good size fish very tasty you can sit in or take out would recommend

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank andym887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jingling Lane Chippy also viewed

Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
 
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
 
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
 

Been to Jingling Lane Chippy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing