We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at The Sun Inn”
Review of Sun Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sun Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent stay at The Sun Inn”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed for two nights with another couple and had an excellent mini-break. The rooms were well appointed and very comfortable although our superior rooms were slightly on the small side but this is unavoidable because of the age of the building. The staff were, without exception, professional, efficient, pleasant and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble - the service was faultless. And the food .... fantastic. The menu was imaginative and the food beautifully served. The added touch of complementary tea and coffee served at any time for residents in the bar was very enjoyable. If returning to that area, we would definitely stay again at The Sun Inn. Kirkby Lonsdale itself is a lovely little town with lots of great independent shops.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Front Office Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you to you and your friends for coming to stay with us - it really sounds like you were charmed by our little town.

We would love to welcome you all back to the Sun Inn and to Kirkby Lonsdale.

All the best

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,201
    147
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
128
964
25
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We had a brilliant time. The staff were welcoming and friendly. Our bedroom was beautifully furnished with lots of complimentary goodies. The food was top class and reasonably priced. We had initially booked in for two nights but loved the place so much that we stayed an extra night. Kirby Lonsdale is an ideal place to stay as there is so much to see in the area. We can't wait to return to The Sun Inn.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babybearelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Front Office Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hello...

Thank for this great review - we look forward to seeing you in September!!

Best wishes

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed at the Sun Inn last weekend and wish we were back there now. Everything about the Inn was fantastic from the location in the enjoyable Kirkby Lonsdale, the welcoming bar, extremely attentive and friendly staff, great breakfast, to the most important thing the room. The room (room 10) was everything we expected and was warm, comfortable with some lovely nice touches and a lovely bathroom. All in all this was a treat for us and although the Sun Inn is quite expensive, we think it is just about worth it, and I hope we can save the pennies up to visit here again next year for our weekend away without the kids!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for this lovely review - I hope you do manage to get back to us next year for a nice break.

All the very best

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oaksey
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

was recommended to stay here by a local company I do business with. Everything about the Sun Inn is superb. The staff are friendly, professional and nothing is too much trouble. The room was great, spotlessly clean, warm and cosy but with a contemporary feel. Great little touches, like a little wooden box with ear plugs in, a bottle of champagne on ice and homemade biscuits.

I ate in the lovely bar area that evening and enjoyed the fabulous atmosphere. Blazing log fires and great chilled out background music. I had a fillet of beef and I can honestly say it's one of the best steaks I've ever eaten !!

After a great nights sleep, the breakfast was also superb. Everything 100% fresh and the food was amazing. Can I also complement the guy who runs the bar area and served in the breakfast area, I think his name may have been Paul. He's an absolute credit to the Hotel. Really friendly, efficient and he's got superb people skills !

I cant recommend this place enough and it's also superb value for money. I've already told friends about it and I will be back again, this time to spend a weekend with my wife !

Well done again to all at The Sun.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joneseyoaksey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write this lovely review for us.

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again with your wife.

All the best

Steve (Paul!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Just back from our short break at the Sun Inn, Kirkby Lonsdale, and wish it had been longer. I know I am repeating what others have said but I need to. We have stayed at many hotels in the Lakeland areas over the years and don't usually bother with reviews, BUT... This establishment is Excellent. As soon as we walked into the Sun we were met by smiling staff and were immediately attended to and welcomed, and then shown to our room, which was exactly as it was shown on the web-site, warm, spotlessly clean, and spacious, with a large en-suite bathroom with modern walk-in shower, quality toiletries and lovely matching bath-robes. We were given our parking-permit which is an excellent plus point, and began to enjoy our break immediately. The food in the restaurant is as good as it gets, prepared by an excellent chef who obviously takes great pride in his work, so make a point of dining here other than just enjoying the excellent breakfast. And there is abundant complimentary coffee in the bar for guests...another nice touch. I could go on but that would spoil it for new guests. I'll finish with the mention that every member of staff that we either dealt with, or just passed in the corridors, was extremely pleasant and friendly, (Steve, do you never tire?) taking the time to smile and say 'Hi' no matter what they were doing. We will be going back to stay at the Sun Inn whenever we can, and will also be making a point of calling whenever we are just out and about for a day drive up there. See you all again, and Thanks.
Good Luck with the flying, Andy.

Ruth & Darryl

Room Tip: You will not go wrong with any of the rooms here, and don't worry about the church bells, its no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rudamay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Haha.. thank you for this lovely review - I do tire sometimes!!

I look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Best wishes

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We have just had 2 nights at the Sun Inn and can't wait to go back - in fact as soon as I've written this I'm straight onto the web site to try to book!!!
From the way we were greeted when we arrived to the beautiful room (room1) the parking permit to the excellent toiletries the attention to detail for our dog - a beautifully wrapped bag of dog treats and his own bowl and also the offer of breakfast in the bar so the dog could join us- and there's also free coffee in the bar as well as in your room bath robes, ear plugs in case the church bells bother you,home made flapjacks in your room and a breakfast to die for
And as if that's not enough tge restaurant and bar are lovely
I want to say don't book because if everyone dies I mightn't get a room but I can't so book a room here -if you don't you'll be sorry!!
Oh and finally if the weather takes a turn for the worse and you're not prerared don't worry they gave wellingtons and raincoats to borrow!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annieho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Owner at Sun Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you so much for this lovely detailed review.

We really enjoyed looking after you all the the Sun and look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes

Mark & Lucy Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Just come back from our stay at the sun inn for my birthday. We stayed in a standard room which was just lovely, very big! good bathroom with a huge shower, you got your own robes lots of nice toiletries to use. We brought our 7 month baby girl along with us and the sun inn made the whole experience stress free. Nothing was too much to ask really friendly and the main plus points was the food was excellent! We had 3 courses which was delicious I had the venison and my husband had the steak superb! We got our deserts brought up to our room so that we could put baby to bed and eat them in peace. Overall really good value we can't wait to book again! One and only regret was that we didn't bring the dog she would have loved it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stacyloram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this lovely review for us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sun Inn with your dog too!

Best wishes

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Lonsdale
1.2 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,119 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hipping Hall
Hipping Hall
#1 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
491 reviews
17.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,364 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#3 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
205 reviews
0.0 mi away
Copper Kettle
Copper Kettle
#12 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Inn

Property: Sun Inn
Address: 6 Market Street, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five star Sun Inn in the heart of Kirkby Lonsdale offers a luxury blend of old and new; traditional Lake District warmth of a 17th century inn with flag stone and oak floors, old beams and roaring log fires combined with stylish contemporary restaurant and deluxe hotel bedrooms. Situated on the edge of the Lake District, Yorkshire Dales and Forest of Bowland, it is accessible to some of Englands finest scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing