We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful little place!”
Review of The Sun Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sun Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2008

Have just returned from a 3 night break at the Sun Inn with our dog, Jazmin. The trip was to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and we were hoping for a peaceful retreat with a bit of luxury. We got exactly what we wanted! We booked a newly refurbished deluxe room which was well worth the bit of extra money. The bathroom was delightful with complementary Bath House toiletries and the rooms spacious and tasteful with flat screen TV and a very comfortable double bed. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious! What really made our stay so special were the staff who are so friendly and cannot do enough for you - especially the duty manager (I think is name is Steven but I can't be sure!) The Sun Inn is situated in a picturesque village with lots of lovely boutique style shops, and plenty of places to eat and/or have a refreshing glass of beer or wine. Parking is a bit of a problem but we were lucky. The village itself is situated near a river and plenty of places for walking. There are also several surrounding villages to visit - we would recommend the waterfall walk at Ingleton which is 15 minutes drive from Kirkby Lonsdale.
All in all a thoroughly pleasureable experience. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keith-fee-eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,424 - 1,430 of 1,438 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2008

Have just spent two nights at the Sun Inn on our annual escape from the children. We were looking for a relaxing break and the Sun Inn delivered. The pub itself has been beautifully refurbished and is clearly popular with residents and locals alike. The bedrooms are tastefully finished with creams and browns creating a very contemporary feel. Our deluxe room (7) was a good size - not huge but plenty big enough - with a super ensuite. We had a gorgeous view of the church and hills beyond. Food in the restaurant is very good, but not cheap. We ate there once and once at the Highwayman (superb). Breakfast is excellent, lovely granola and creme fraiche followed by freshly cooked choice including locally sourced sausages and bacon. All the staff are extremely helpful and well trained. The Sun Inn is probably not the cheapest option in the town, but certainly delivers value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PWhitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2008

We had a lovely mini break in The Sun Inn in Kirkby Londsdale, one of the prettiest towns in the North West. It was my step father's birthday and my mum is recovering from a serious illness so we were keen to treat them. Lucy, the lovely owner was great at organising champagne and flowers for their charming room overlooking the old church.

The Inn has a great restaurant although the bar itself is only small.I would advise booking as it is popular. I thought the food was better than the much lauded Highwayman down the road with a nicer atmosphere.

Rooms are done in a cool contempory style whilst retaining the period features like stone walls and sash windows. Our front room overlooked the high street so we had a bit of street noise from a stag party but nothing major.

Breakfast was superb- freshly cooked local produce with attentive but not intrusive service.

Parking was fine although I would imagine in high season it might not be as easy to secure a long stay place. The town itself has a few good pubs and loads of cute little shops including the world's best cheese shop with their own live pianist. Try the Snowdonia cheddar.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hobbesmanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2008

16th Feb 2008
Had a very enjoyable one night stay. The service could not be faulted from making the booking to checking out. The room was superb and very comfortable, Evening meal was excellent and i can recommend the beef served with bubble and squeak. We had a very relaxing time. Breakfast was spot on. Can't wait to stay again.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank BWROSSENDALE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2008

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tweedguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2007

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Roger_Bansko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2007

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rumpole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Lonsdale
0.1 mi away
Snooty Fox
Snooty Fox
#2 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
134 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,168 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hipping Hall
Hipping Hall
#1 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,447 reviews
6.7 mi away
Redwell Inn
Redwell Inn
#1 of 1 in Arkholme
122 reviews
11.9 mi away
Lyth Valley Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun Inn

Address: 6 Market Street, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range: $136 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five star Sun Inn in the heart of Kirkby Lonsdale offers a luxury blend of old and new; traditional Lake District warmth of a 17th century inn with flag stone and oak floors, old beams and roaring log fires combined with stylish contemporary restaurant and deluxe hotel bedrooms. Situated on the edge of the Lake District, Yorkshire Dales and Forest of Bowland, it is accessible to some of Englands finest scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing