We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most pleasant break.”
Review of Sun Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sun Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The overall experience was excellent. All aspects of our stay was ' top notch'. The staff were pleasant, the food good and the room (No 10 was lovely). Some other plus points, no large screen tv, no awful music and no game machines, just good, honest atmosphere. Really nice warm 'proper' fires too. Will defiantly return.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janwattersflorist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

944 - 950 of 1,414 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

Kirby Lonsdale is one of my favourite places to vist, it is the most gorgeous spot. The Sun Inn is the icing on the cake and a real treat is an overnight stay. The rooms are cosy and tastefully decorated, attention to detail is perfect. Dinner was fabulous as was breakfast, menus are imaginative and offer good choice. Little touches like complimentary warm drinks for residents in the cosy bar are perfect and welcome after a bracing walk. The staff are friendly and efficient, nothing is too much trouble. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJ1038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have just returned from a short stay at the Sunn inn, from the time you arrive the staff as very welcoming, the rooms were very comfortable, clean , and attention to detail, was good.
We had an evening meal in the restuarant and it was excellently presented, and very tasty.
We will definetely return for another visit.
This is the place to relax, the staff and place are faultless, a must weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank car63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Just enjoyed a wonderful three night stay at The Sun Inn as a special treat for my wife's birthday.
Everything about our stay was absolutely impeccable. Our room was faultless and with small but thoughtful touches such as excellent homemade biscuits each day and fresh milk supplied in a small vacuum flask right through to the complementary colognes and moisturisers etc. I had elected for the dinner, bed and breakfast deal and we were both very impressed by our first evening meal in the hotel restaurant and are happy to say that the standard remained very high for the duration of our break. We can testify that the AA rosette that the chef and his staff have earned is certainly deserved and quite possibly they should have earned at least a two rosette rating.
Whilst certainly not that cheap, the well chosen wine list offered us a choice of some very good bottles of quality wines which we certainly savoured. In addition to the great wines we enjoyed I found the three real ales in the bar to be of exceptional quality, all sourced from regional breweries and very well kept indeed.
Finally a mention to all of the staff at the Sun Inn who all made our visit all the more pleasurable by their collective friendly demeanor and attentiveness, all without any trace of snootiness which can sometimes afflict other hotels. We would both highly recommend staying at The Sun Inn and certainly hope to return before too long.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is a great little spot to relax and put your feet up for a while. Comfortable seating, coal fires, great music and the food looks good as well. The staff are very polite, professional and efficient. Free WiFi if you ask for the code at the bar. Two local beers are excellent, plus a good choice of decent German beers as well.

Well worth popping to see if it suits you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maw747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just had a thoroughly enjoyable night's stay at The Sun. Room was immaculate,food and service absolutely first class. We have visited here before but this was our first stay overnight. Ist place in Kirkby Lonsdale according to other reviewers is well merited.

A nice touch, free capuchinos etc from the bar for residents.

The only problem, not The Sun's fault, is the difficulty in parking.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winckleywhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

From the moment we arrived until we checked out, no request we made was ever too much trouble. Kind gestures were consistently delivered by the whole team. For example: helping to carry our bags to our room, fresh milk in a mini flask with home-made biscuits were provided in our room every day, helping us find the best local walk - all this helped to make our short break a real treat and we felt very cared for by the excellent team here. The room was comfortable and as I expected from the informative website pictures. The food was good, well presented with great efforts made to serve seasonal produce from local suppliers - very local in some cases as the butcher is practically next door. So well done to the owners and managers for instilling such a good culture in this place and we look forward to coming back soon. The town is charming with lots of interesting shops and places to eat. Great area for walking and there is no better place to unwind afterwards than back in The Sun Inn bar in front of the fire.

Room Tip: This place is great if you need dog friendly lodgings. I am not a dog owner but they do take care t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Growyourownveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Lonsdale
2.7 mi away
Hipping Hall
Hipping Hall
#1 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
506 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Snooty Fox
Snooty Fox
#2 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
618 reviews
15.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,422 reviews
0 mi away
Plato's
Plato's
#2 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Inn

Address: 6 Market Street, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range: $113 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five star Sun Inn in the heart of Kirkby Lonsdale offers a luxury blend of old and new; traditional Lake District warmth of a 17th century inn with flag stone and oak floors, old beams and roaring log fires combined with stylish contemporary restaurant and deluxe hotel bedrooms. Situated on the edge of the Lake District, Yorkshire Dales and Forest of Bowland, it is accessible to some of Englands finest scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing