We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three night stay of pure bliss!”
Review of Sun Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sun Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Just enjoyed a wonderful three night stay at The Sun Inn as a special treat for my wife's birthday.
Everything about our stay was absolutely impeccable. Our room was faultless and with small but thoughtful touches such as excellent homemade biscuits each day and fresh milk supplied in a small vacuum flask right through to the complementary colognes and moisturisers etc. I had elected for the dinner, bed and breakfast deal and we were both very impressed by our first evening meal in the hotel restaurant and are happy to say that the standard remained very high for the duration of our break. We can testify that the AA rosette that the chef and his staff have earned is certainly deserved and quite possibly they should have earned at least a two rosette rating.
Whilst certainly not that cheap, the well chosen wine list offered us a choice of some very good bottles of quality wines which we certainly savoured. In addition to the great wines we enjoyed I found the three real ales in the bar to be of exceptional quality, all sourced from regional breweries and very well kept indeed.
Finally a mention to all of the staff at the Sun Inn who all made our visit all the more pleasurable by their collective friendly demeanor and attentiveness, all without any trace of snootiness which can sometimes afflict other hotels. We would both highly recommend staying at The Sun Inn and certainly hope to return before too long.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

946 - 952 of 1,413 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is a great little spot to relax and put your feet up for a while. Comfortable seating, coal fires, great music and the food looks good as well. The staff are very polite, professional and efficient. Free WiFi if you ask for the code at the bar. Two local beers are excellent, plus a good choice of decent German beers as well.

Well worth popping to see if it suits you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maw747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just had a thoroughly enjoyable night's stay at The Sun. Room was immaculate,food and service absolutely first class. We have visited here before but this was our first stay overnight. Ist place in Kirkby Lonsdale according to other reviewers is well merited.

A nice touch, free capuchinos etc from the bar for residents.

The only problem, not The Sun's fault, is the difficulty in parking.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winckleywhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

From the moment we arrived until we checked out, no request we made was ever too much trouble. Kind gestures were consistently delivered by the whole team. For example: helping to carry our bags to our room, fresh milk in a mini flask with home-made biscuits were provided in our room every day, helping us find the best local walk - all this helped to make our short break a real treat and we felt very cared for by the excellent team here. The room was comfortable and as I expected from the informative website pictures. The food was good, well presented with great efforts made to serve seasonal produce from local suppliers - very local in some cases as the butcher is practically next door. So well done to the owners and managers for instilling such a good culture in this place and we look forward to coming back soon. The town is charming with lots of interesting shops and places to eat. Great area for walking and there is no better place to unwind afterwards than back in The Sun Inn bar in front of the fire.

Room Tip: This place is great if you need dog friendly lodgings. I am not a dog owner but they do take care t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Growyourownveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed one night at The Sun Inn, we were warmly greeted on arrival and even had help carrying our luggage upstairs. We had Room 7 with a lovely view over the churchyard. The room was comfortable and cosy and bathrobes and Bath House products are provided together with a dog bowl and towel.

The bar area is very warm and welcoming with a great atmosphere. We chose dinner from the £26.95 menu and the food was superb ! Service was excellent, everyone was friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

After a good nights sleep we had a lovely breakfast with lots of choice on the menu.

We will definetly return to the Sun Inn very soon !

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We have just had a fabulous night at this wonderful inn. Not only was the seasonal food superbly tasty and well presented, the bed ooh! so comfortable and the staff absolute treasures, but detail that many establishments forget had not been forgotten: for example, ample width towel rail, quality toilet paper, hooks under the bar to hang jackets and handbags; and many other examples of a thoughtful management who know exactly what their guests find so relaxing. What a find for the future!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed the weekend to celebrate a 90th birthday with family. Fabulous, cozy rooms which I only wish I could have spent more time luxuriating in! Breakfasts were unhurried and given the same attention as the excellent evening meals. I am celiac and was so grateful for the information available on the ingredients and the effort of the staff to make sure everything was suitable for me.
Can't wait for come back.

Room Tip: Room 1 is small with little wardrobe space, but fine for overnight, or times when you are not in you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbaraGib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Lonsdale
2.7 mi away
Hipping Hall
Hipping Hall
#1 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
506 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Snooty Fox
Snooty Fox
#2 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
617 reviews
15.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,423 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#3 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Inn

Address: 6 Market Street, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range: $113 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five star Sun Inn in the heart of Kirkby Lonsdale offers a luxury blend of old and new; traditional Lake District warmth of a 17th century inn with flag stone and oak floors, old beams and roaring log fires combined with stylish contemporary restaurant and deluxe hotel bedrooms. Situated on the edge of the Lake District, Yorkshire Dales and Forest of Bowland, it is accessible to some of Englands finest scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing