We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a hotel - a pub with rooms more like!”
Review of Orange Tree Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kirkby Lonsdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orange Tree Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kirkby Lonsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Hay-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not a hotel - a pub with rooms more like!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Recently stayed here for 2 nights, the room was clean enough but the bed was just a metal frame camp bed pushed against a wall, no headboard.
The room had got a conservatory that opened on to some decking that was very wobbly and unstable, across the decking was the boiler room that was quite noisy, not loud enough to keep you awake but loud enough to notice all the time droning on in the background. Breakfast was very unimaginative, fry up or fry up the choice is yours! No yoghurt or Fruit, No fish or vegetarian option, jam and marmalade came in those sealed plastic pots that you get in service stations. The waitress, in jeans and a hoody, didnt know where the sausages or bacon were from, being a farmer i think traceability is very important. I wouldnt rush back, it served a purpose - no more. I dont think they can call themselves a hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank farmerswife44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    38
    8
    9
    2
See reviews for
16
42
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I was shocked to read one review of this hotel as it bore no resemblance to the stay we just enjoyed. First I did know of the 3 for 2 and booked on that basis. No one mentioned a curfew to us at any time, we were just told to hand the key in so they knew if we were back!!
Closing time is midnight Saturday anyway!! We enjoyed the breakfasts and the evening meal we had here!
We got as much coffee , toast etc as we wanted and all meat products were a high quality. And scrambled eggs when requested!! Our bed was a bit soft for my taste but clean and fresh bedding. My friend had no cups one day but on asking that was easily remedied and with an apology too!! The beer choice was great, and the food choices too.
I have limited mobility and I would hardly describe the journey to the top floor as 4 FLIGHTS!!
You would have to park in the same street for the Sun as that has no parking either!! Both would use street parking up the hill!! And if the rooms are superior at THe Sun, so are the prices! Altogether we enjoyed our stay and didnt feel the price for 3 nights excessive, taking into account the food quality.

Room Tip: Room 3 has a conservatory looking over a deck area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lluckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

At £85 per night I expected a whole lot more. The room was 3 nights for the price of 2 (although this wasn't stated when I booked I had to ring back and ask when saw later on Internet) but we came home after 2 not being able to bear another night in the room. Beds like camp beds which creak noisily and uncomfortably with every movement, no pillow cases on pillow - asked on arrival or some and these were given the following morning (with a spare pair on side for good measure) only one tea cup for double room and a shower room that could do with a good clean.

Our room was on top floor but any movement from any rooms sounded like happening at bottom of bed.

As others have said were told in no uncertain terms that is an 11pm curfew or face being locked out- or ring a bell for house next door who 'might' be able to let you in. We were there for a wedding on the Friday night and were told curfew extended to 12.30- which was nice to acknowledge this but it really should be clear before booking that this would be case- I have seen a management response to someone earlier stating that it is not the case but it was almos the first thing we were told and it was repeated multiple times!!

Breakfast seems to depend on staff as what can hve. First morning asked for scrambled eggs and old no and no toast. Second morning went downstairs o see people having scramble and poached eggs and we were given a rack of toast. Frustrating

Having stayed in b&b's across the UK this is easily the worst I have stayed in and possibly the most expensive. £50 would be more realistic. Some friends stayed in the sun inn and the rooms were infinately better.

What is also not advertised is the 4 flights of stairs to top rooms so don't book if have proves. Parking on street and not that close by.

Avoid would be my advice, terrible value for money and the rooms look nothing like this pictures on the website (and I saw all 3 top floor rooms).

I have given the location a high score but kirkby is so small that there can't be an inconvenient location

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mazclaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Eaten here twice recently. The first night we had steaks, cooked to perfection on sizzling platters with mushrooms, tomato and mountains of chips. Superb. The next time we had the homemade burgers, again superb. Good no-nonsense pub grub.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OHG1X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We eat here infrequently but have always had a good experience during our past visits. The Orange Tree is quite well known for its steaks and Wednesdays is "Steak Night" when they are reduced. Not the finest but they are good "working" steaks and usually cooked as you requested. We like the back restaurant cubicles.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1978sprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Visited lunchtime Thursday. Nobody behind bar. Somebody emptying pool table. Ignored us as we walked in. Stood at bar for a couple of minutes while person sorting the pool table continued to ignore us.
Having finished at the pool table, barman(?) then came from the machine, walked past us to get behind the bar, no acknowledgment and then "administered" the pool income while continuing not to notice/acknowledge us.
Eventually served but no warmth or interest.
The Pub itself shouts of initiatives, it has its own brewery & has lots going on - but you are only as good as when you are off.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank berealUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Friendley welcome and throughout our two day stay. Had dinner first night and this was fine,not wonderful,not bad,but ok. Rooms have been refurbished. Bustling busy bar. Service very good. Good value at £45 b&b per night(2sharing). Breakfast standard fare but no fresh fruit or fish alternative. I would stay there again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Djh2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kirkby Lonsdale hotels
1.3 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#1 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,361 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#3 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plato's
Plato's
#2 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
567 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copper Kettle
Copper Kettle
#12 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Tree Hotel

Property: Orange Tree Hotel
Address: 9 Fairbank, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the historic market town of Kirkby Lonsdale, The Orange Tree Hotel provides the perfect base from which to explore the surrounding Lake District and Yorkshire Dales national parks.Our family run establishment typifies everything you might expect of an English country pub; warm open fires, oak beams and an intimate, relaxed atmosphere. We are renowned for the quality of our sumptuous, hearty meals and our impressive range of beers from our own Kirkby Lonsdale brewery and changing guest ales. Whether you wish to stay in quality accommodation or simply need a refreshing pint of traditional cask ale, The Orange Tree Hotel is your destination of choice. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing