We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pool table income more important”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Orange Tree Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kirkby Lonsdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orange Tree Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kirkby Lonsdale
uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pool table income more important”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Visited lunchtime Thursday. Nobody behind bar. Somebody emptying pool table. Ignored us as we walked in. Stood at bar for a couple of minutes while person sorting the pool table continued to ignore us.
Having finished at the pool table, barman(?) then came from the machine, walked past us to get behind the bar, no acknowledgment and then "administered" the pool income while continuing not to notice/acknowledge us.
Eventually served but no warmth or interest.
The Pub itself shouts of initiatives, it has its own brewery & has lots going on - but you are only as good as when you are off.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank berealUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    36
    7
    9
    2
See reviews for
16
39
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Friendley welcome and throughout our two day stay. Had dinner first night and this was fine,not wonderful,not bad,but ok. Rooms have been refurbished. Bustling busy bar. Service very good. Good value at £45 b&b per night(2sharing). Breakfast standard fare but no fresh fruit or fish alternative. I would stay there again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Djh2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed for one night in Oct. Very friendly welcome. The room was fine with all you would expect. We had lunch in the pub and dinner in the restaurant and both were good quality. The breakfast was also very good. The bar area was busy and had a good atmosphere. Service was great. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAEMEL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and I have been staying at the Orange Tree for almost 10 years and try to visit every year.
We have just been with our family for 3 nights and enjoyed every minute.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel for both food and accommodation.
Try an OT burger with a pint of Monumental - excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Went for a family meal out at end of holiday and could be more pleased with food. Steaks, burgers, lasagna, and fish - all consumed with pleasure and plates licked clean. Great food; great value for money. Service was a little slow, but this is a minor niggle for what was a fantastic meal. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TheCraneFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

I was staying in Kirby Lonsdale a few weeks ago with my friend, we came across this pub whilst out for a walk that evening.
We only intended on staying for a drink but 2 bottles of perfectly chilled & presented Prosecco later, we had joined the quiz night!! Lovely hosts, friendly staff & the food was great.
Will certainly be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

we came here for the fish and chips night on mondays and were quite disappointed. The service and food were not up to the usual standard. We ordered our food and didnt have to wait long (as it was quite), when our food arrived we had to ask for out knives and folks as we werent given any! The fish was nice but the chips were hard and not cooked all the way through!! Normally enjoy eating here but not sure if i will return again!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank MissRLost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Lonsdale
1.3 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
5.5 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#1 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#3 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plato's
Plato's
#2 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Tree Hotel

Property: Orange Tree Hotel
Address: 9 Fairbank, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the historic market town of Kirkby Lonsdale, The Orange Tree Hotel provides the perfect base from which to explore the surrounding Lake District and Yorkshire Dales national parks.Our family run establishment typifies everything you might expect of an English country pub; warm open fires, oak beams and an intimate, relaxed atmosphere. We are renowned for the quality of our sumptuous, hearty meals and our impressive range of beers from our own Kirkby Lonsdale brewery and changing guest ales. Whether you wish to stay in quality accommodation or simply need a refreshing pint of traditional cask ale, The Orange Tree Hotel is your destination of choice. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing