We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal holiday cottage for two”
other travelers have booked this property
Entrance and driveway to Biggins Grange Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance and driveway to Biggins Grange Barn
Driveway and garden, parking area Garden and seating area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Entrance and driveway to Biggins Grange Barn
Driveway and garden, parking area
Garden and seating area
Hallway
Kitchen, with views over the fells
Dining area
18th Century spice cupboard in the kitchen.
Sitting Room, with electric log burning stove.
Bedroom
Bedroom, leading to en suite and dressing room
Bathroom, with dressing table
Bathroom
Dressing gown.
Romantic Balloon Flight over the Barn
Christmas at Biggins.
Certificate of Excellence.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John-SueJ...
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal holiday cottage for two”
Reviewed July 11, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We feel lucky that we chose Biggins Barn for our holiday in Lake District and Yorks Dales.
Directions and key collection were simple and we parked in drive in the attractive garden.
The cottage rooms were all unusually spacious and pleasantly light from extra roof windows. All was beautifully clean and very well equipped with an extra welcome tray and fresh flowers. Kirby Lonsdale is near and we were able to walk in about 15mins to the choice of restaurants. The friendly owners live next door, which is reassuring but we had no occasion to disturb them. Congratulations on a well kept property at reasonable rent.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfortable with all we needed
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2016
Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your holiday in the barn, and found everything to your liking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel106
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Still a great location and comfortable home”
Reviewed July 1, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This was our second visit to this homely, comfortable cottage situated in a quiet hamlet and just a short walk from the town of Kirkby Lonsdale. Everything can be found here for a wonderful stay. Great restaurants, lovely walks and a Booths supermarket are all close by and not forgetting the Lakes and Dales, which are an easy drive to reach. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and will return for a third stay in the not too distant future. Our sincere thanks go to the owners, Tina and David.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2016
We are always happy when people return, we must be doing something right! We try to do our best to make everything as comfortable and homely as possible, so very nice to know it is appreciated. Look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 25, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely location and ease of walking into Kirkby Lonsdale
Liked least: Settee could do with replacing. A bit worn
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2016
Very pleased you enjoyed your return visit. Would love to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
johnengli...
seaham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a nice break away.”
Reviewed June 14, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

what a fantastic cottage for a holiday, situated in a quiet hamlet and easy access to to all the lakes around and other places of interest. met the owner and and was very helpful to us if we required anything. no doubt about it we are coming back and it will be in the next few weeks if possible.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quietness
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2016
Thank you for your nice review. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janetmfer...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Dales have been special to me for many years and this was another spectacular dimension!”
Reviewed June 4, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This building must be full of interesting history but the barn conversion is so well done and the interior is so cosy! It has an ambient temperature which is so comfortable with heating off and all amenities to make for the perfect week's holiday.
We have been so lucky with hot and sunny days but I'm sure we would have had a wonderful time in this landscape whatever the weather! Beautiful scenery all around.
David and Tina are the perfect hosts- just helpful if you need them.

Date of stay: May 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2016
Thank you for your nice review. David and I are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday, and that you had such fabulous weather.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy B
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, comfortable home, real lovely thoughtful owners”
Reviewed May 27, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

There are about six steps up to the front door and another 6 steps inside but very easy access.
This is a very well insulated property and we had to turn the heating off even though it was cold out side.
Really lovely stay with dish washer, washing machine, DVD's books and games. Everything you would need for a great stay.

Thank you Tina and David. Hope to see you again soon.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, easy access to Lake District, Yorkshire Dales and Kirby Lonsdale's great restaurants. Tina and David provided Gluten Free food and a bottle of wine for our arrival. Great touch.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 28, 2016
So pleased you enjoyed your stay at Biggins Grange Barn. You were perfect guests, it was lovely to meet you. You are welcome back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnandro...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent week in superb accommodation”
Reviewed November 8, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at the Biggins Grange Barn at the end of October and had a tremendous week. The location is great for exploring the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales and ideally placed for nipping into Kirkby Lonsdale - good pubs and restaurants - about a mile away. The Barn itself was superb; one of the best rentals we have ever experienced. As other reviews have said, David and Tina, the owners, have thought of everything in making the Barn such a special place to stay. We thoroughly enjoyed our week there and will definitely return.
Highly recommended.

Date of stay: October 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2015
Thank you, so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Nice to know the little extras are appreciated ! We provide even more for Christmas and New Year! Look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing