We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Top marks for Hipping Hall””
Review of Hipping Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hipping Hall
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kirkby Lonsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
1 review
““Top marks for Hipping Hall””
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had a relaxing two-night stay at the Hipping Hall; it is our pleasure to recommend this as a luxurious escape in the heart of beautiful countryside.

It is a modern, small, family-run hotel where every interaction with the staff was just perfect. Owners, staff and everyone connected with this hotel are friendly, welcoming and courteous.The atmosphere was relaxed; the food was delicious and the room was perfectly comfortable featuring a flat screen tv.

One person made our stay particularly welcome and that was Gabby who served our evening meal; she had a bright and informal style and artfully struck the balance between being engaging without intruding on your dining experience. She is an Angel.

We have found our little gem when we come again to this part of the country.A big thank you to you all may it continue.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 315mitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    78
    31
    6
    1
See reviews for
30
378
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was our second stay we came for my partners birthday and had also come for my birthday at the end of April. The first time we stayed in Room 9 which is a cottage room adjacent to the main hotel which was lovely and this time we stayed in Room 6 in the main hotel which is the biggest room more like a suite as it has a separate lounge area. As in previous reviews we also heard a strange knocking sound late at night but this only lasted about 10 minutes so it wouldn't deter from us choosing the same room again.
The food is of excellent quality we chose to dine from the dinner menu on both occasions as I am a fussy eater and don't eat fish but the chef is very accommodating and I was able to have a fillet steak for my main course on both visits. The maitre d even remembered I had ordered steak on our first visit and had thought I would want one again so he had pre warned the chef which I thought was very impressive indeed.
The dining room is magnificent and resembles a Tudor banqueting hall complete with wood panelling and minstrels gallery where some tables are placed.
All the staff are extremely efficient and polite and nothing is too much trouble whatever you ask for.
The breakfast is also excellent and everything ordered is brought to your table. No underdone cold food under heat lamps here and no having to make your own toast bliss!
I agree with a previous reviewer this is a place for a special occasion and would recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere that is a bit more special.

Room Tip: Room 6 if you want a bit more space but Room 9 is cosy and quaint
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJBLytham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

At the end of May and into June we stayed for the second time at Hipping Hall for three days. We cannot fault the room which was delightfully cosy and light; the service which was very friendly and professional and the food which was just wonderful. To cap it all, the House wine was a perfect compliment to the food.
Our compliments and thanks go to Andrew and all his Staff for such a lovely stay, with a special mention to Liz on reception.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We celebrated our 42nd wedding anniversary at Hipping Hall and can honestly say we couldn't have chosen a better restaurant. The evening was sunny and calm so we enjoyed our gin and tonics in the courtyard chatting to Andrew, the very pleasant owner who always remembers you, and asks after everyone. Our daughter had her wedding breakfast here 4 years ago and it was delightful. Again the meal was outstanding, although we had ordered just a starter and main course, we were also served canapes, amuse bouche, and gorgeous home made petit fours with our coffee. The staff are knowledgable, friendly but not too intrusive.
The wines were exceptional and you can have a glass of the specially recommended to suit each course! Great idea! We felt that we had had a truly special experience on special day. The weather was much better also than 42 years ago.

Room Tip: Did not stay, we live nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
127 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

It has taken us nearly four years to get here after a recommendation, the fact that it still lived up to expectations must say something for it.
The staff were superb and attentive throughout without being overwhelming. As someone with a good appetite I was sceptical if this style of menu would fill me,it did and the food as expected was first class and a refreshing different and delightful taste to each course.
The dining room itself was to a high standard of decor,classy but not stuffy.
The room was also to a high standard (room 6) I did note a recent comment about a consistent knocking noise from another guest on Trip Advisor. I did also hear this,it did not come from the room but probably from a nearby boiler or pump.Not a major issue for me.
Be aware though that due to its unique style there is no guest information in the room, no internet facility,no brew facilities and no names or numbers on the room (which caused a lost guest to knock on my door !). You can get drinks delivered and information purely by asking but perhaps not everyone wants this intrusion when you want a coffee in your rooom ?.You do of course pay well for all this so do not expect normal hotel prices either,but this not a routine hotel.
I would recommend it as a delightful short stay for a special occasion

Room Tip: All rooms are individually on the web site with photos and full description.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LancashireIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We booked Hipping Hall as a bit of a last minute escape, first impressions were great, even from booking, the service was personal and welcoming. The room was beautifully decorated and the whole place felt like staying at a luxurious home. We went down for dinner and the manager/owner greeted us, he was friendly but with a slight nervous disposition, almost as if he was new to it all. We had the tasting menu and the service and food was great, could not fault it. The problem occured when we went to our room (room six) where there was a consistent knocking or banging throughout the night. Waking up from a restless nights sleep we were looking forward to our tea tray and newspapers we had ordered the evening before, only to be disappointed when neither arrived. Annoyed and tired, we went down for breakfast where we mentioned our restless nights sleep to a female manager who dealt with it efficently and effectively, stating we can have late check out and she will amend the room rate.Brilliant, except it was not this lady that checked us out, it was Andrew the manager mentioned before. He said he would take the £15.00 chocolates off the bill as a gesture for the poor nights sleep, However, there was nothing wrong with the chocolates! We were unhappy with the room, a mere £15.00 off the room was not sufficent for what should have been a restful stay. He argued that we had had a reduced rate for DBB anyway, completely disregarding the fact that we were still paying alot of money. What they could have done is invite us back to rectify the problem however, the situation was not dealt with properly and has tainted my view on what could have been a lovely place to stay. It is a shame as it is a beautiful setting.

Room Tip: Don't have room six, most expensive with a view of the chef's courtyard and worst nights sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kezia_RH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

This was a third stay at Hipping Hall, this time for a one night stay on the way to Scotland. This visit was probably the best so far, mainly because it was much busier than our previous visits and therefore there was more atmosphere in the dining room.

We had the taster menu including the wine and it was top notch from start to finish. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and our room was extremely comfortable and well furnished.

Hipping Hall is definitely one of our favourite hotels in the UK.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Lonsdale
1.5 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,092 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
575 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
7.6 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
516 reviews
8.3 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 14 in Kendal
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hipping Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hipping Hall

Property: Hipping Hall
Address: Cowan Bridge, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kirkby Lonsdale
Hotel Class:5 star — Hipping Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hipping Hall is a modern country restaurant with 3 AA Rosette dining and luxuriously appointed bedrooms.Sitting between the beautiful English Lake District and the rugged Yorkshire Dales, Hipping Hall is the perfect venue to explore the very best of what the North-West has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Hipping Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hipping Hall Kirkby Lonsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing