We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Small Things make all the Difference!”

Review of No. 3 Horse Market

3 Horse Market
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
3 Horse Market
3 Horse Market Bedroom 1 (King Size)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
3 Horse Market
3 Horse Market
Bedroom 1 (King Size)
Bedroom 2 (King size)
Bedroom 3 (Twin or Super-King)
Lounge
Kitchen
32' TV in Every Bedroom
Landing
Bathroom
Shower Room
Separate WC
Utility Room
Sun Room
Patio Area
Front Door
Kirby Lonsdale
Kirby Lonsdale
The River Lune (3 Minutes walk from the Cottage)
The River Lune (3 Minutes walk from the Cottage)
The River Lune (3 Minutes walk from the Cottage)
The River Lune (3 Minutes walk from the Cottage)
The River Lune (3 Minutes walk from the Cottage)
2015/2016 Price List
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NorfolkFo...
Norwich
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Small Things make all the Difference!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Stayed here on a last minute decision to go away with a friend. Lovely town with plenty of places to eat. The house is in a great location and the parking permit is a bonus. The bedrooms are a good size with lovely bathrooms. (including the toiletries). The bottle of wine on arrival is a nice touch as is the delivery of milk and bread on the first morning. Perfect!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidsBur...
Bury lancs
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Well what Can I say.
Kirby Lonsdale is a fantastic location in it's self but to be able to stay at , No 3 The Horse Market is a bonus. The property is very tasteful decorated and well equipped.
Around three days before we were booked in at the house I received an email with concise but detailed instructions on where to collect keys, checking in and out times. Parking can be a problem in the town and quite costly depending on how long you are staying, however. The owners have had the foresight to provide guest with a parking permit which can be used in Kirby and the wider area. We just parked the car up on the top car park near Booths, and forgot about it for the three day we were there. The house has a good heating system which you can have full control over so you are not stuck with set times on the programmer. I have only one negative comment and that's the check out time is a bit on the early side 12:00 PM would be more realistic rather than 10:30 am. we were 20 minutes late getting back from breakfast in the town and the lady who looks after place wasn't too happy. Still we understand she has a job to do and it didn't spoil our New Years break . Fantastic place to rent, thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and the décor
Liked least: The check out time
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 17, 2014
We appreciate the feedback about our check-out times however our housekeeper only has a short amount of time to service the house, to the high standards our guests expect, between guests and this does allow our guests to have an earlier check-in time of 1530.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damian s
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Superb Cottage right in the Centre of Town”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed here with 2 x friends for a New Year short break. We had booked to spend our New Years Eve at Plato's restaurant in the Town Centre and the Cottage could not have been located more conveniently about 50 yards away. The cottage has been renovated to an excellent standard with all mod cons. The bedrooms all have a flat screen TV and comfy beds. We bagged the en-suite bedroom before our friends even got a chance. The rooms are small but what do you expect from a traditional style cottage. The owners have gone to extra lengths to include all facilities and we enjoyed everything about this cottage. Only downside is parking not allowed hence the owners kindly provide a car parking display card for the public car park FOC. Outside sitting area if used in the summer months would not be very private. Apart from that we recommend this place very much.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debstark2...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous house and perfect location.”
Reviewed November 27, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Picked this area, as I had been once before and loved the cobbled streets and quaint shops. It was also well located for a family get together. House is beautifully decorated and furnished, with all the equipment you would need to cook meals etc. Comfy beds and fluffy towels. Toiletries in all bathrooms adds a special touch. Lovely and warm, as it was cold weather! Location was fabulous, as we could walk everywhere, hardly used the car. Central and yet quiet location. Lots of lovely coffee shops and places to eat- ALL dog friendly, which was such a treat for both the dog and us! Very near the river, so lovely morning walks with the dog. I would definitely go back to this house/area -we all loved it.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirbykx
salisbury
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely house, perfect location, and comfy beds!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for 3 nights,with my husband,daughter, son in law , and their baby, aged 18 months.
The house was very well equipped for all age, and the beds were very comfortable.
The place was very clean and beautifully presented.
We very much appreciated the bottle of wine, bread and milk on arrival.
After unloading our baggage, we used the parking permit to park in the car park by Booths,which proved to be a pleasant walk!
We loved the close proximity to the village, and pubs!
We were very sad to leave, and hope to return soon!
Fiunally, we were impressed by the peace and quiet in the neighbourhood.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian P
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb and Luxurious Cottage in Central Kirkby Lonsdale”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Cannot fault this cottage at all. Everything you needed was provided and the kitchen was well equipped and spacious. Beds, bedding and towels (hairdryers as well) of excellent quality and enough TVs for everyone.
Also had free WiFi and even had bread and milk delivered on the first morning!
Although no parking outside, it is easy to drop off luggage and use the free parking pass in a nearby car park. Alternatively free off street parking is also available within a few minutes’ walk.
Pretty quiet for a central location, although it is possible to hear some noise from the back bedroom at night but we did not find it disturbing and felt that kirkby Lonsdale is the sort of place where people are pretty considerate of each other.
Loads of places to eat and drink and a bacon sandwich and mug of coffee at Devils Bridge is well worth the short(ish) walk.
Will definitely go back, in fact booked for next year already.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quality of the accomodation
Liked least: No parking, but it's no big deal as free parking pass provided
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WinstonGl...
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
“Comfortable Cottage in Central KL”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
4
people found this review helpful

We were three adult walkers. Once we became familiar with KL's car parking the location was ideal for restaurants, pubs and shops. Being located in the town centre a certain amount of noise was expected. However, the bedroom to the rear suffered noise each night between 11.00pm and 12.30pm from revellers in the rear garden of a local pub...so the window had to be closed. The cottage was well equipped and comfortable. It has been renovated to a high standard. We had the hassle of a power cut on returning one evening. The trip switch was soon corrected once the access code to the locked cupboard was obtained from the owners but we were not clear why the fuses are kept behind a locked door.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Four TVs...one in each bedroom
Liked least: Noise from neighbours in courtyard... and noise from pub staff at rear every night
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2013
As our guest points out the cottage is centrally located and occasionally the customers from the restaurant garden in the main street can be heard, however they are a very considerate to the local residents and are keen not to disturb.

Unfortunately the cottage circuit breakers are located next to the mains electricity supply inside our housekeepers supply cupboard. As we are a child and pet friendly cottage this needs to be locked as it contains cleaning products and other supplies that must be kept out of the reach of our little guests. We are however always available on the telephone should our guests have any problems. Consequently, as always, we were able to assist our guests as soon as they discovered the power problem.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$99
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing