We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit shabby and dated in need of a refresh.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Whoop Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Whoop Hall
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kirkby Lonsdale
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A bit shabby and dated in need of a refresh.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Checked in really quickly and most of service/staff were good. Only complaint was when waiting for afternoon tea, one guy was pottering around bar area 'hoyking' his guts up apparently choking on flem. Not nice and put us off tea which we skipped. Rooms were ok as was bed but could do with a refresh as could the bathrooms. Hot water tap hardly worked in sink. We then used the onsite pool and gym. These were excellent and the staff very polite and helpful.
The meal we had the second evening was mediocre. The staff were good and attentive but the food not great. The first course of warm breads was the worst part. The focaccia was not fresh and the edge was actually hard. The main courses were ok but nothing special.
Breakfast was buffet style and this was good, hot and plentiful.
It's in a nice place with some lovely walks nearby and Kirkby Lonsdale (Avanti restaurant is excellent).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    324
    162
    123
    196
See reviews for
174
629
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Went for birthday weekend with family and had a fantastic time in kirby Lonsdale. Family room was huge - 2 large singles and a double. Dinner was AMAZING we all ate every last bit of 3 courses and I'd rank it up there as one of best meals had in long time, breakfast on the other hand was on hot plates and was just okay. They would be best off serving customers direct.
Staff were very accommodating & friendly at all times.
Amazing pool, good gym facilities which is a real plus and very sociable relaxed in bar plus lots of other sitting areas so can see why used for weddings.
Only complaint is this place could be better with a touch of paint and a better Hoover.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank EmmaManchester_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I bought through Groupon for my anniv get a way for a few days. The staff especially the duty manager were so friendly, the food excellent (garlic mushrooms and fish pie to die for), could have done with a few chairs around the pool area so could site about, message was excellent, room was fine for the few days, afternoon tea was gorgeous. Music could be a little quiter in the reading area, but overall had a lovely time thanks and will be returning with the kids and the dog

Room Tip: good location, takes dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Yeah had a Groupon deal amazing price we paid! Would we go back? No, the owner ( whom asked me to put this on trip advisor ) was awful! what a sad, rude, old guy! He was raising his voice at Adi (manager) then we had an altercation he made himself look really silly! We had room 1 and no shower but a bath the Room was very clean. The food was excellent the staff amazing but he blew it! To cut it short even the locals at kirkby Lonsdale avoid this place because of him! No more needs to be said! Thanks Adi and Catwoman x

Room Tip: Room 1 has no shower but a bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Talitha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepshed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

I have just spent two very enjoyable nights at Whoop Hall Hotel with my wife on a Group-on deal. I chose the hotel mainly for it's location, and the deal seemed excellent value. We were given room 16 (which was a spacious suite, at no extra cost) and despite the fact that it could do with a lick of paint, it was lovely and very comfortable. If I am to be honest, the greeting was less than warm (extremely business like in fact) but the remainder of the staff were warm, courteous and friendly. The afternoon tea was gorgeous (included in the deal) and there was a good selection of alcoholic drinks which were reasonably priced, everything we needed really!!

The evening meal in Connors was extremely well presented and tasty (it was by far the best sticky toffeee pudding that I had ever enjoyed) we were served with a smile, and asked on several occassions if everything was ok with our meals. Breakfast was superb on both mornings, and eggs cooked to order did not present a problem to the accomodating staff. As I was checking out, I complimented the staff (it seems that it is always the lowest paid staff who try the hardest to present a welcoming front) and had a brief word with the head chef to compliment him (and his team) on the excellent food.

All in all, we will return to the hotel in the future as it is in an excellent location for exploring the area, it has excellent food, and it represents excellent value for money. The Group-on offer enticed us to the area at a time when we perhaps would not have ordinarily have gone there, but what a good deal it was!! Keep on offering the deals, and keep the rooms full!

Room Tip: Room 16 is a road facing, ground floor suite with lots of room and a huge bathroom. If you are not c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyP13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at whoop hall on a group on offer, and were met by very friendly staff who advised us that a BBC television crew were staying, great we thought clearly a quality location, we were wrong. I out room was possibly the oldest and was certainly the dirtiest in the hotel, we asked to be moved within 2 minutes of arriving in the room, however as the hotel was full (good old BBC) no alternative room was available. Next morning we decided that either we were moved or we were leaving and reporting our experience to Groupon, as the BBC crew had left we could choose which room we would like. So where was the room lacking, a) the toilet rim had never seen cleaning cream, the shower had no pressure and was full of grunge around the plug hole, the mattress was so soft we felt every spring.
Onto the restaurant, service very good and the food was ok.

Would we book again ? Certainly not

Room Tip: The hotel is located on a main road so is not as tranquil as others in the region. Be sure to book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kirkby Lonsdale hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
lancs
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Spent 2 days group on deal ,staff lovely food good, We arrived to find we had no shower, perhaps group deals not entitled to showers?? spoke to other people on same deal they had shower and bath. We were in room 1 badly needs a shower installing had to go to the Gym for a shower. I was quite surprised how the owner spoke to his staff, rather patronising , these people really work long hours and were truly very nice and helpful. He definitely needs training in TQM(total quality management)

Room Tip: don't accept room no 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mgill2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Lonsdale
9.4 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
14.8 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
16.5 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#3 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#1 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whoop Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whoop Hall

Property: The Whoop Hall
Address: Old Station Yard Burrow with Burrow, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Whoop Hall 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whoop Hall is a 3 star, family-run hotel situated on the outskirts of the attractive market town of Kirkby Lonsdale; this is the ideal base from which to explore some of England’s most beautiful countryside, the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales. Whoop Hall is uniquely positioned in the rolling countryside of North West England, where Cumbria, Lancashire and Yorkshire meet with the coastline of Morecambe Bay close by. This historical hotel offers a wide range of leisure facilities including an 18 meter swimming pool and gym. The hotel welcomes families with children and there is a four-poster bedroom for those who value that added touch of luxury.All 24 rooms are en-suite, spacious and comfortable, to offer a relaxing ambience. All individually furnished and decorated in keeping with the character of the hotel. Rooms come complete with colour television, radio, direct dial telephone and tea and coffee making facilities. Also there are family rooms, and for disabled guests, specially adapted accommodation on the ground floor. There is ample of safe parking to the front and rear of the hotel. Guests can enjoy full complimentary use of the extensive facilities in the hotel’s country club, as well as enjoying the extensive landscaped gardens, a sun terrace and children’s adventure playground.Connor’s Restaurant – Whoop Hall is proud of its team of professional chefs, who create freshly made dishes on the premises using fresh local produce, which makes the restaurant and bistro firm favourites with locals and residents alike. Converted from a barn, the renowned restaurant sits on several levels, and features a minstrel gallery complete with oak beams. The informal atmosphere creates the perfect ambience to enjoy choosing from the varied menus, which are regularly changed to bring fresh delights to our diners. The Whoops comfortable bar host’s traditional hand-pulled ales, roaring log fires and welcoming staff. Live music is played in the bar several nights a week. To complete the dining experience, relax, unwind and linger awhile over coffee and aperitifs in the lounge. Turners Bistro – is open daily for breakfasts, lunches and evening bar snacks. Guests are able to choose from a wide and changing menu. All meals are created with the finest of local produce. In the summer months enjoy alfresco dining on the terrace, overlooking spectacular, panoramic views of the open countryside of three counties – Cumbria, Lancashire and Yorkshire.Guests can take advantage of complimentary leisure facilities at the hotels Country Club; facilities include 18m swimming pool, spa, sauna, steam room, sun shower and state of the art fitness studio. Also guests can indulge in the ultimate in pampering – the bliss beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Whoop Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whoop Hall Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing