We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay with a friendly welcome !”
Review of The Whoop Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Whoop Hall
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kirkby Lonsdale
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family and I recently stayed at The Whoop Hall for a short break. The hotel was a great base for visiting the Lake District we had some great weather too ! The welcome was very friendly and we were really impressed with the eagerness of the receptioinst when we asked about activities in the area for our grandchildren . The rooms were clean and spacious . We thoroughly enjoyed the leisure facilities although the water in the pool was a little cool.The food in the bistro was excellent and the children were made very welcome nothing was too much trouble . A large buffet style breakfast was on display each morning for us to enjoy . All in all highly recommended and good value too!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denny555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

790 - 796 of 1,149 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed here on Tuesday 2nd April. Room was booked for 2 adults and 2children (age 11 and 9). When we arrived we were given a room that was clearly for 3 people with the addition of a camp bed that did not fit anywhere in the room! Room had also not been vacuumed from previous guests. Kids ended up sharing a single bed which was also very uncomfortable. Breakfast was adequate and leisure facilities were clean. All in all very disappointed with the room and will not be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smmcveigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed here as a couple who purchased the Groupon deal.Had a lovely stay and enjoyed every minute of it .The room we was allocated was brilliant .Food was great and the meal we received as part of the package was delicious . We both enjoyed our breakfasts which was made with quality products.I guess locally sourced.Staff were very polite and couldn't do enough for us.Would definitely stay here again a great relaxing stay .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 780JuneR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night Easter Break at this hotel with some friends .Excellent value for money. Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean and very comfortable it had everything we needed to make our stay enjoyable. The staff was very welcoming and friendly. It was no problem at all when we asked for rooms that were next to each other .Service in the Bar & Restaurant was excellent and the food for both breakfast & dinner was very good. Will definitely return and maybe take the opportunity to explore the surrounding area further. It is in an ideal location to explore the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales .

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnI122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I have recently returned from a stay at Woop Hall. We will not be returning. The room fell below my basic expectations by having a hard, uncomfortable bed, no phone in the socket and no hairdryer. I wash my hair everyday in the shower and had to get one from reception after I had showered the next morning. I ended up washing my hair in the sink that day. The bathroom was pink 1970's plastic with no thermostatic control valves, burning hot water and a very poor quality ancient self mix shower. Loose guttering on the outside wall kept banging during windy weather. Very annoying at 3am.

The menu was very poor. I would suggest that the owner and chef look at the imaginative menu at Avanti in Kirby Lonsdale. My steak dinner on the first night was greasy and the black pudding Scotch egg (with my excellent hock terrine) was greasy and quite disgusting. The pizzas on the second night had uncooked bases. I would rate the breakfasts however as being good and wholesome.

The attitude of the owner was perhaps the most surprising and disappointing. He was rude and unwelcoming on our arrival. We had already been advised of our room number several days before, however he seemed to change this to another room, when he found out we were on the Groupon deal. He was scruffily dressed and there was little or no eye contact. Worst of all he was gossiping about guests within my earshot, hardy setting an example to his staff who were running around like headless chickens due to a lack of staff. He is not a people person and sadly lacking in basic interpersonal skills.

The service in the restaurant was dreadful, with only one person taking orders and serving/clearing tables. Wine was dumped unopened on the table with odd wine glasses. The owner kept going into a cubby hole behind the bar to turn up the sound on his favourite numbers, while we were dining. The music was so loud that I could not hear myself speak - let alone X, my partner. I love the Corrs....... but not at volume 10, whilst I am dining and trying to talk. For me sitting and talking with X over a nice meal is one of life's great pleasures.

The only saving grace at this hotel were the two headless chickens - Ryan and Naomi who were pleasant and helpful to guests. They were just really nice people. Ryan in particular kept apologising to guests about the long waiting times in the restaurant due to lack of staff. Naomi with her blonde plats was just a delight.

I would advise others to not to chose this venue for a function or important event when they can't get the basics right. I am really very, very, disappointed in this hotel as it is in such a lovely setting and with such fabulous potential.

Room Tip: Stay at home or go to Crooklands Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cheshire_wit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My mum and I have just recently returned from a two night break there which was good value for money...lovely little place in the countryside,not to far from centre of Kirby lonsdale. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the burning log fires gave it a homely feel..we had a lovely room with a nice view...good breakfast and evening meal...but felt the cream tea on arrival was very disappointing!!...stale sandwiches,stale cake,weak coffee!!...so maybe room for improvement there!..Unfortunately we didnt get time to take advantage of the leisure facilities...which was a shame,as pool looked amazing!...would i stay again?...yes.

Room Tip: we had room 15 on first floor which was lovely it faced a busy main road,but nice views of hills,wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kjbrown62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We've just returned from a two night break, which was excellent value for money.
The place has a homely feel, with coal fire in the lounge and bar. The staff are friendly and you feel relaxed. There is a good selection of tasty food on the menu which is nicely presented. Breakfast has a good selection of food, both hot and cold, and is available until 10am, allowing time for a lie in if needed.
An added bonus was being able to use the leisure facilities, with pool, steam room, sauna and jacuzzi with towels provided.
This was our second visit and would definately return again.

Room Tip: Request a room with a shower especially if you have mobility problems, as some rooms have bath only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank das_500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Lonsdale
1.5 mi away
Hipping Hall
Hipping Hall
#1 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
505 reviews
1.1 mi away
Snooty Fox
Snooty Fox
#2 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
112 reviews
4.4 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
9.1 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
563 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#3 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whoop Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whoop Hall

Address: Burrow with Burrow The Meadows, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2GY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range: $89 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Whoop Hall 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whoop Hall is a 3 star, family-run hotel situated on the outskirts of the attractive market town of Kirkby Lonsdale; this is the ideal base from which to explore some of England’s most beautiful countryside, the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales. Whoop Hall is uniquely positioned in the rolling countryside of North West England, where Cumbria, Lancashire and Yorkshire meet with the coastline of Morecambe Bay close by. This historical hotel offers a wide range of leisure facilities including an 18 meter swimming pool and gym. The hotel welcomes families with children and there is a four-poster bedroom for those who value that added touch of luxury.All 24 rooms are en-suite, spacious and comfortable, to offer a relaxing ambience. All individually furnished and decorated in keeping with the character of the hotel. Rooms come complete with colour television, radio, direct dial telephone and tea and coffee making facilities. Also there are family rooms, and for disabled guests, specially adapted accommodation on the ground floor. There is ample of safe parking to the front and rear of the hotel. Guests can enjoy full complimentary use of the extensive facilities in the hotel’s country club, as well as enjoying the extensive landscaped gardens, a sun terrace and children’s adventure playground.Connor’s Restaurant – Whoop Hall is proud of its team of professional chefs, who create freshly made dishes on the premises using fresh local produce, which makes the restaurant and bistro firm favourites with locals and residents alike. Converted from a barn, the renowned restaurant sits on several levels, and features a minstrel gallery complete with oak beams. The informal atmosphere creates the perfect ambience to enjoy choosing from the varied menus, which are regularly changed to bring fresh delights to our diners. The Whoops comfortable bar host’s traditional hand-pulled ales, roaring log fires and welcoming staff. Live music is played in the bar several nights a week. To complete the dining experience, relax, unwind and linger awhile over coffee and aperitifs in the lounge. Turners Bistro – is open daily for breakfasts, lunches and evening bar snacks. Guests are able to choose from a wide and changing menu. All meals are created with the finest of local produce. In the summer months enjoy alfresco dining on the terrace, overlooking spectacular, panoramic views of the open countryside of three counties – Cumbria, Lancashire and Yorkshire.Guests can take advantage of complimentary leisure facilities at the hotels Country Club; facilities include 18m swimming pool, spa, sauna, steam room, sun shower and state of the art fitness studio. Also guests can indulge in the ultimate in pampering – the bliss beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Whoop Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whoop Hall Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing