We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whoop hall stay.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Whoop Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Whoop Hall
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kirkby Lonsdale
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Whoop hall stay.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

My mum and I have just recently returned from a two night break there which was good value for money...lovely little place in the countryside,not to far from centre of Kirby lonsdale. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the burning log fires gave it a homely feel..we had a lovely room with a nice view...good breakfast and evening meal...but felt the cream tea on arrival was very disappointing!!...stale sandwiches,stale cake,weak coffee!!...so maybe room for improvement there!..Unfortunately we didnt get time to take advantage of the leisure facilities...which was a shame,as pool looked amazing!...would i stay again?...yes.

Room Tip: we had room 15 on first floor which was lovely it faced a busy main road,but nice views of hills,wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kjbrown62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    327
    164
    124
    202
See reviews for
176
641
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We've just returned from a two night break, which was excellent value for money.
The place has a homely feel, with coal fire in the lounge and bar. The staff are friendly and you feel relaxed. There is a good selection of tasty food on the menu which is nicely presented. Breakfast has a good selection of food, both hot and cold, and is available until 10am, allowing time for a lie in if needed.
An added bonus was being able to use the leisure facilities, with pool, steam room, sauna and jacuzzi with towels provided.
This was our second visit and would definately return again.

Room Tip: Request a room with a shower especially if you have mobility problems, as some rooms have bath only
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank das_500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights on a group on deal. We found all the staff to be very helpful and friendly even though they were very busy - especially in the restaurant. We had our dog with us and she was given a bone to her delight. The roaring open fires in the lounges were very cosy and the afternoon tea was delightful. Dinner on the first night (included) was lovely and the portion of sticky toffee pudding was enormous. Yes, the room was a bit dated with the coloured bathroom suite etc but it was clean, comfortable and warm. All in all it was very good value and as we pass through the area quite often we plan to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay last weekend and have to say that we really enjoyed our time there. All the staff were very friendly and could not do enough to help. They even packed up our delicious afternoon tea to take with us, as we were out for the day and couldn't fit it in! The breakfasts offered a wide variety and the meal in the evening was very good. The rooms were clean and bed was very comfortable. We think it was excellent value for money and will certainly return in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms 6 and 8 had nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaz w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

This place has got so much potential,oak beams and open fireplaces. Why would you want to fill the place with uncomfortable wicker conservatory furniture, it was like sitting on a double decker bus from the olden days!
The owner strutted around trying to look important, not once did he make any eye contact or make any attempt to interact with any of his guests. Not good for business.
People visiting using their Groupon voucher were treated like 2nd class citizens.
The room (18) was cheerless with a view of a roof. It was no better than a room at a run down Travel Inn.
If you've never stayed anywhere better than a 2star hotel, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blossboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kirkby Lonsdale hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We went with friends on a groupon deal so we really got a bargain stay. The pub part of the building is quaint and has log fires although we still felt cold . The rooms were okay really, they had tried to improve them by nice pictures and painted walls but the bathrooms do need re doing from the 70s peach suites. And all of the double glazed windows in our rooms were faulty.
The hotel was cleaner than we expected overall but the cleaning of the bedrooms needs to be better to encourage us to go back. Even staying with groupon deals we do expect more than just the beds to be made for our second night. Glasses in the room were dirty when we arrived and both they and the cups were not washed when the cleaners did our rooms. Lots of dust and dirt on skirting boards and the rooms weren't hovered so that wasn't very inviting. However the bedlinens and towels were of a good quality and clean.
However the spa area and gym were wonderful, very modern and clean although a little crowded at peak times. It is worth the trip for the facilities and the wonderful staff. The food was okay although a little cold on our first night. However the staff coped admirably despite being short staffed and really looked after us. The coffee was awful, really cheap or watered down despite coming from a gleaming coffee machine on the bar. I suppose you get what you pay for and our stay wasn't expensive however we have been to much better hotels for around the same price with groupon so little things need to improve if they want repeat business.
Kirkby Lonsdale was really worth a visit as it has loads of gorgeous little shops and cafe's.

Room Tip: Apparently there are some rooms with views although ours looked onto the spa roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcyNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I agree this is a jaded place, not a hotel I would want to go back to and certainly never want to eat there again. I had a groupon deal for two nights wish I'd stopped home. Afternoon tea consisted of stewed tea or weak coffee and a few cakes and cucumber sandwiches. Clotted cream was off and put my husband in the bathroom all afternoon. The evening menu for Groupon was only worth £15 and when set against the overpriced a la carte it wasn't worth anything. Breakfast wasn't cold but wasn't anything to shout about. The room annoyed me. Bathroom smelt mouldy and the tiles were blackened in many places. We were going to meet friends there one our second night for a meal but decided to go elsewhere. There are plenty of better places in Kirkby Lonsdale. Staff tried their best but too few of them doing jobs they seemed ill suited for. Yes I agree with a previous review this place needs a good shake up.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GiseleKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Lonsdale
9.1 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
15.0 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
6.8 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Redwell Inn
Redwell Inn
#1 of 1 in Arkholme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#3 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#1 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whoop Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whoop Hall

Property: The Whoop Hall
Address: Old Station Yard Burrow with Burrow, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Whoop Hall 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whoop Hall is a 3 star, family-run hotel situated on the outskirts of the attractive market town of Kirkby Lonsdale; this is the ideal base from which to explore some of England’s most beautiful countryside, the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales. Whoop Hall is uniquely positioned in the rolling countryside of North West England, where Cumbria, Lancashire and Yorkshire meet with the coastline of Morecambe Bay close by. This historical hotel offers a wide range of leisure facilities including an 18 meter swimming pool and gym. The hotel welcomes families with children and there is a four-poster bedroom for those who value that added touch of luxury.All 24 rooms are en-suite, spacious and comfortable, to offer a relaxing ambience. All individually furnished and decorated in keeping with the character of the hotel. Rooms come complete with colour television, radio, direct dial telephone and tea and coffee making facilities. Also there are family rooms, and for disabled guests, specially adapted accommodation on the ground floor. There is ample of safe parking to the front and rear of the hotel. Guests can enjoy full complimentary use of the extensive facilities in the hotel’s country club, as well as enjoying the extensive landscaped gardens, a sun terrace and children’s adventure playground.Connor’s Restaurant – Whoop Hall is proud of its team of professional chefs, who create freshly made dishes on the premises using fresh local produce, which makes the restaurant and bistro firm favourites with locals and residents alike. Converted from a barn, the renowned restaurant sits on several levels, and features a minstrel gallery complete with oak beams. The informal atmosphere creates the perfect ambience to enjoy choosing from the varied menus, which are regularly changed to bring fresh delights to our diners. The Whoops comfortable bar host’s traditional hand-pulled ales, roaring log fires and welcoming staff. Live music is played in the bar several nights a week. To complete the dining experience, relax, unwind and linger awhile over coffee and aperitifs in the lounge. Turners Bistro – is open daily for breakfasts, lunches and evening bar snacks. Guests are able to choose from a wide and changing menu. All meals are created with the finest of local produce. In the summer months enjoy alfresco dining on the terrace, overlooking spectacular, panoramic views of the open countryside of three counties – Cumbria, Lancashire and Yorkshire.Guests can take advantage of complimentary leisure facilities at the hotels Country Club; facilities include 18m swimming pool, spa, sauna, steam room, sun shower and state of the art fitness studio. Also guests can indulge in the ultimate in pampering – the bliss beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Whoop Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whoop Hall Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing