We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay On Wedding Weekend”
Review of The Whoop Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Whoop Hall
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kirkby Lonsdale
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Stay On Wedding Weekend”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Had a great weekend at friends wedding, the staff could not do enough for you and were excellent with our son Jack (Aged 10). Fantastic atmosphere in all public areas plenty of games etc for the kids. Wedding day ran smoothly and the manager Adrian was a master of all trades and made sure everyone had a great time and even finshed off the night as DJ! The food was excellent over the whole weekend especially the buffet style breakfast (my husband said the Bacon was to die for and I agree). We used the pool on 3 occasions and had a lovely enjoyable swim. We would highly recommend Whoop Hall. Fantastic Staff, Fantastic Location, Fantasic Weekend

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    340
    172
    131
    221
See reviews for
181
674
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

After reading reviews on Whoop Hall we approached our stay with trepidation to say the least, we needn't have worried, we were met and greeted by Adrian who could not be more welcoming and helpful to us. We were immediately put at ease and started to relax. Our room was clean, comfortable and warm, despite it being minus 2 outdoors. Food and hospitality was second to none and all the facilities were explained to us and we took advantage of all they had to offer. We would have no hesitation in re booking with or without Living Social/groupon, we were not treated any differently. Adrian should be highly commended for his attention to customer service. Alan and Karen

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Whoop Hall on a Groupon offer. Arrived at 3pm and checked in by Nicole who gave us the keys to room 1. On entering we found it to be a fair size and was very clean. Only slight downside there is no shower, only a bath, which was okay but I do prefer a shower. We had afternoon tea then returned to our room to relax before dinner. The bar area is really cosy with a real fire. We had a drink at the bar before being shown to our table. The meal was excellent [Steak, Mushroom and Ale Pie/ Mushroom Fricasse] and returned to the bar for drinks. Breakfast is a buffet type, with everything from a full breakfast to cereals and friut.
For a building that's 400 yrs old, the old girl's still going strong. Ideally placed a couple of mins drive outside of lovely Kirkby Lonsdale, the views are stunning. We spent the 2nd day driving through Settle, Skipton, stopping in Harrogate for a couple of hours, then driving through Ripon, Leyburn, Hawes and Sedburgh, a round trip of 100 miles or so.
A big thank you to Jo, Adrian and all the staff for their hard work and making our stay a pleasant one. We will return one day.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a bath only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a wedding last weekend for 3 nights.. Instantly warmed to the place and the staff.. Made to feel very welcome and the down to earth staff are happy to meet your needs and crack a joke and smile..
The wedding was run really well and without fuss.. And the atmosphere was relaxed at all times with Adrian the non stop hard working manager getting everything right and injecting humour throughout the weekend.
A clean down to earth place run by a great team.. We really enjoyed our stay and would have no hesitation on returning or recommending the whoop hall.
We hung out here for 3 days with a 5 year old kid and a young dog and at no time was it stressfull. We were welcomed in a very warm and genuine way which left us feeling good.. Nice one...
See you again guys and girls.. Thank you

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just spent a long weekend here for our good friends wedding.
Venue full of charm and character, with open log fires and lovely relaxed atmosphere.
Wedding suite was gorgeous, and was filled with laughter and fun by guests and staff alike. The wedding reception food was scrummy (the bride especially loved the pigs in blankets),
and the self service breakfast buffet was also good (I sampled this fully all 3 mornings!!), staff were always attentive and accommodating keeping us supplied with hot beverages.
Rooms were clean and cosy, good access for wheelchairs in the downstairs rooms.
The staff, especially Adrian were so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble, they made you feel like family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WheelyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed here recently for a wedding and was amazed at the 'can do' and welcoming attitude of the staff. The location is stunning and the food was excellent and wholesome. There are some improvements that could be made to some of the rooms but overall I would thoroughly recommend whoop hall.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hapoygojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed here last weekend for a family wedding and had a fabulous time . The bar area was cozy with plenty of room to accommodate everyone . The food at the wedding breakfast was tasty and the meal on the Sunday night in the restaurant was delicious. I would say they should have more staff working on an evening especially when the hotel is busy as the staff member running dinner service was a bit stretched . Although he was pleasant and nothing was too much bother. The staff at the wedding , especially the manager were fabulous as he even stepped in when the DJ didn't show . The location is superb with access to the Dales and the Lakes.
Didn't try the pool this time , perhaps next time :-)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dbttigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Lonsdale
1.5 mi away
Hipping Hall
Hipping Hall
#1 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
491 reviews
9.1 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
534 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
15.4 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,340 reviews
17.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whoop Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whoop Hall

Property: The Whoop Hall
Address: Old Station Yard Burrow with Burrow, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Whoop Hall 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whoop Hall is a 3 star, family-run hotel situated on the outskirts of the attractive market town of Kirkby Lonsdale; this is the ideal base from which to explore some of England’s most beautiful countryside, the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales. Whoop Hall is uniquely positioned in the rolling countryside of North West England, where Cumbria, Lancashire and Yorkshire meet with the coastline of Morecambe Bay close by. This historical hotel offers a wide range of leisure facilities including an 18 meter swimming pool and gym. The hotel welcomes families with children and there is a four-poster bedroom for those who value that added touch of luxury.All 24 rooms are en-suite, spacious and comfortable, to offer a relaxing ambience. All individually furnished and decorated in keeping with the character of the hotel. Rooms come complete with colour television, radio, direct dial telephone and tea and coffee making facilities. Also there are family rooms, and for disabled guests, specially adapted accommodation on the ground floor. There is ample of safe parking to the front and rear of the hotel. Guests can enjoy full complimentary use of the extensive facilities in the hotel’s country club, as well as enjoying the extensive landscaped gardens, a sun terrace and children’s adventure playground.Connor’s Restaurant – Whoop Hall is proud of its team of professional chefs, who create freshly made dishes on the premises using fresh local produce, which makes the restaurant and bistro firm favourites with locals and residents alike. Converted from a barn, the renowned restaurant sits on several levels, and features a minstrel gallery complete with oak beams. The informal atmosphere creates the perfect ambience to enjoy choosing from the varied menus, which are regularly changed to bring fresh delights to our diners. The Whoops comfortable bar host’s traditional hand-pulled ales, roaring log fires and welcoming staff. Live music is played in the bar several nights a week. To complete the dining experience, relax, unwind and linger awhile over coffee and aperitifs in the lounge. Turners Bistro – is open daily for breakfasts, lunches and evening bar snacks. Guests are able to choose from a wide and changing menu. All meals are created with the finest of local produce. In the summer months enjoy alfresco dining on the terrace, overlooking spectacular, panoramic views of the open countryside of three counties – Cumbria, Lancashire and Yorkshire.Guests can take advantage of complimentary leisure facilities at the hotels Country Club; facilities include 18m swimming pool, spa, sauna, steam room, sun shower and state of the art fitness studio. Also guests can indulge in the ultimate in pampering – the bliss beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Hotwire so you can book your The Whoop Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whoop Hall Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing