We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whooping it up at Whoop Hall”
Review of The Whoop Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Whoop Hall
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kirkby Lonsdale
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We were a large wedding party covering the whole range of families. We had children from 18 months, teenagers, families, solos, pensioners, two wheelchair users and 3 dogs (one with 3 legs!) The hotel provided the accommodation, the venue for the ceremony and wedding breakfast followed by a Ceilidh and disco.

The staff couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful. We all booked our own rooms and filled the hotel for the Saturday night and virtually so on the Friday and Sunday evening. Breakfast was an excellent buffet regularly topped up with fresh items and the wedding breakfast carvery was exceedingly tasty, plentiful and well presented. Any issues we had (and most were of our own making in fairness) were seen to politely and quickly by the whirlwind that is Adrian the Manager, even to standing in when the disco failed to arrive. Though staff numbers aren't large they make up for it with a phenomenal work rate and unfailing cheerfulness. Open fires make the atmosphere as warm as the welcome.

The wedding celebration was truly sublime, the added bonus was the leisurely weekend break (making full use of the leisure facilties) for those who stayed the full 3 days. We were blessed with fine weather,and whilst we cannot credit the hotel for that, there was a sneaking suspicion that if any hotel could provide the right weather then this would be the one.

There will certainly be at least an anniversary celebration on the same lines, at the same place and that is, in my opinion, the very best recommendation. Well done to Kim, Adrian and their staff, to paraphrase General McArthur 'We will return'.

We can highly recommend the Lune Cycleway (the old Leeds to Lancaster railway track bed). For a gorgeous, tarmaced crossing the Lune river, especially with wheelchairs and toddlers, and even more especially for steam railway buffs.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 150BH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

824 - 830 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

I visited this hotel for a family wedding recently and was made very welcome. The staff were attentive and helpful throughout the day, the food was good and plentiful and the bar/lounge great for socialising.

Although I didn't stay the night, all public areas were well kept and of a good standard.

The barman even filled my hot water bottle for the drive home!

Lovely weekend and the wedding seemed to all go off swimmingly.

Only sad I didn't stay and try out the pool, next time!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Courtylk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Visited the hotel for a wedding. Had a brilliant time, the hotel was beautiful and the food very good. Staff were incredibly helpful, friendly and accommodating. Overall I had a very good experience at whoop hall and would definitely recommend it in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaCampbell41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We got married at the Whoop Hall this weekend and it was FANTASTIC! Everything ran smoothly, mainly down to the superb staff who worked long hours to make sure we didn't have to lift a finger. They bent over backwards to make sure everyone was happy: children, wheelchairs, dogs, you name it! The atmosphere was relaxed and welcoming. The hotel manager even stepped in when our DJ failed to turn up.

Lesley1954 is a disgruntled relative (with poor spelling and grammar) who is looking for anything to criticize. We could have got married at the Ritz and she wouldn't have been happy! The food was excellent; even a chef friend commented that it was the best wedding meal he had eaten. Please don't judge this lovely, welcoming hotel by her review!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shona_Bobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Me and my fella went not expecting much after reading the reviews but were very pleasantly surprised. The service was great, the room was great, the spa and gym facilities were excellent and the food was lovely especially the home made pizzas which we would highly recommend. The owner was fantastic, jolly and funny, the serving and spa staff were excellent. Great value for money overall. We will be returning in the summer with our 2 small children. Couldn't recommend enough ( especially the home made pizzas ). Can't understand the bad reviews about the owner as he couldn't do enough for us and was highly professional at all times.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeriandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding. Room was damp smelling and mold on bathroom window. Bathroom can didnt work but made noise all the time. No phone in room yet book said to call0 for reception incase of emergency 104 at night and 102 for restaurant etc. they even offer alarm calls with no phone. Toilet in main area didnt flush and smelt. Public area very tired and worn. Food services at breakfast very slow. Food at wedding POOR and hot food was Luke warm. Melon so hard it wasn't fit to eat all veg tasted like frozen stuff not fresh.
From booking service has been bad but when it's a wedding venue you do not get a choice. Prices charged for rooms are certainly not value for money. My only recommendation is don't boon at whoop Hall.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesley1954pickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

After reading the reviews we very nearly cancelled! We were on Group on so expected the worse. Room 5 was fine, not superb, but roomy and clean (and lovely and warm!). En-suite was also clean. The staff were very polite and helpful. we did meet the (infamous) manager, but I speak as I find and he was fine with us. The food was very good quality. Yes there are extras to pay on some dishes, but as there was £30 allowance for the two of us I thought that was fine and allowed us to have the more expensive dishes if we chose to. The Spa and gym were also clean and were impressive. Yes, the place could do with re-decorating, but, if you are going on a deal, it's a perfectly pleasant place to stay, and in a brilliant location for exploration of the Lakes and north Lancashire.

Room Tip: Room 5 is a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Lonsdale
1.5 mi away
Hipping Hall
Hipping Hall
#1 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
506 reviews
1.1 mi away
Snooty Fox
Snooty Fox
#2 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
114 reviews
4.4 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
9.1 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
566 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#1 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whoop Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whoop Hall

Address: Burrow with Burrow The Meadows, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2GY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range: $72 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Whoop Hall 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whoop Hall is a 3 star, family-run hotel situated on the outskirts of the attractive market town of Kirkby Lonsdale; this is the ideal base from which to explore some of England’s most beautiful countryside, the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales. Whoop Hall is uniquely positioned in the rolling countryside of North West England, where Cumbria, Lancashire and Yorkshire meet with the coastline of Morecambe Bay close by. This historical hotel offers a wide range of leisure facilities including an 18 meter swimming pool and gym. The hotel welcomes families with children and there is a four-poster bedroom for those who value that added touch of luxury.All 24 rooms are en-suite, spacious and comfortable, to offer a relaxing ambience. All individually furnished and decorated in keeping with the character of the hotel. Rooms come complete with colour television, radio, direct dial telephone and tea and coffee making facilities. Also there are family rooms, and for disabled guests, specially adapted accommodation on the ground floor. There is ample of safe parking to the front and rear of the hotel. Guests can enjoy full complimentary use of the extensive facilities in the hotel’s country club, as well as enjoying the extensive landscaped gardens, a sun terrace and children’s adventure playground.Connor’s Restaurant – Whoop Hall is proud of its team of professional chefs, who create freshly made dishes on the premises using fresh local produce, which makes the restaurant and bistro firm favourites with locals and residents alike. Converted from a barn, the renowned restaurant sits on several levels, and features a minstrel gallery complete with oak beams. The informal atmosphere creates the perfect ambience to enjoy choosing from the varied menus, which are regularly changed to bring fresh delights to our diners. The Whoops comfortable bar host’s traditional hand-pulled ales, roaring log fires and welcoming staff. Live music is played in the bar several nights a week. To complete the dining experience, relax, unwind and linger awhile over coffee and aperitifs in the lounge. Turners Bistro – is open daily for breakfasts, lunches and evening bar snacks. Guests are able to choose from a wide and changing menu. All meals are created with the finest of local produce. In the summer months enjoy alfresco dining on the terrace, overlooking spectacular, panoramic views of the open countryside of three counties – Cumbria, Lancashire and Yorkshire.Guests can take advantage of complimentary leisure facilities at the hotels Country Club; facilities include 18m swimming pool, spa, sauna, steam room, sun shower and state of the art fitness studio. Also guests can indulge in the ultimate in pampering – the bliss beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Whoop Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whoop Hall Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing