We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disagree with other negative reviews”
Review of The Whoop Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Whoop Hall
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kirkby Lonsdale
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed at Whoop Hall from 6 - 8 Feb (Groupon deal) - overall we were very impressed and the stay exceeded our expectations. The accommodation was comfortable and the location was excellent for easy access to Dales/Lakes as well as Ingleton, Kirby Lonsdale and Lancaster.

The real positives for this place were the exceptional service - nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff who we came into contact with - and the quality of the food, which was very good on both nights we ate there.

I would recommend this place for a nice getaway for a couple of days for couples and/or young families.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatrickR190744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

851 - 857 of 1,171 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

given smelly room, had to ask for room change immediately on arrival. the second room was ok, but constant banging doors made it difficult to relax,food in the restaurant good. only got change for a10 pound when buying drinks at the bar, gave manager 20 not good. hotel needs ref'urb throughout; won't return again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Groupon voucher at Whoop Hall 5/2/2013

2 night stay at Whoop Hall. On Groupon voucher, with family and two dogs
we had to pay £10.00 each dog, per night , they could go all over,
but not in the restaurant, so staff set up breakfasts in the bar for us and the two dogs, we love our dogs and so did whoop hall, it was wonderful.
All the staff where very accommodating, nothing was too much trouble.
We would return and recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jotoecurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

That's the new name for the hotel myself and my partner gave it as we have never seen as many cobwebs before as there were in our room.
The staff were nice and friendly and the leisure facilities second to none - the only problem being when we were asked to bring the towels down from our room to use as they had run out. (We were unable to do this having only been left 1 large towel between us for our second night)
Food in Connors restaurant was delicious on an evening with plenty of choice and good portion size. Breakfast was a let down with food that had clearly been sat under the heat lamps a little too long and stale croissants. A nice touch would have been asked if you would like fresh toast with your tea or coffee instead of that also being in a basket under a heat lamp and a bit more choice for continental breakfast as not everyone likes a full English breakfast.
Sounds like another moan but it's the little things such as cleanliness and choice that make a good hotel on top of good customer service. Just needs those additional touches.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bubbleheadblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at the Whoop on a groupon voucher so the cost was very reasonable . The staff were very inviting and couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome. The room was small and basic with a little noise from the music in the bar ( we were situated directly above) but not enough to impair our sleep. The leisure facilities were brilliant! The location was also excellent with lots to see and do close by.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhymeschic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed here with my partner for a much needed break. The manager was a little abrupt but approachable, and all the staff were faultless, very helpful and polite. I can't comment on the spa facilities, but the food was good and service excellent. The main downside was the location of the hotel, on the main through road, but this of course cannot be rectified, and there are some lovely walks only a short drive away. Based on our initial stay, we would certainly stay again

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoomersMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Very friendly welcome and service at this relaxing hotel and spa near Kirkby Lonsdale which was perfect for a winter break. Lots of lovely walking nearby to get an appetite up for the hearty meals with generous portions served up in the restaurant. En-suite bedroom clean and comfortable and free access to good-sized pool, sauna, steam room and gym. If staying lomger would have used the beauty salon facilities too.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Lonsdale
1.1 mi away
Snooty Fox
Snooty Fox
#2 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
136 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hipping Hall
Hipping Hall
#1 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
518 reviews
4.4 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,140 reviews
9.1 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
572 reviews
15 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whoop Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whoop Hall

Address: Burrow with Burrow The Meadows, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2GY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range: $84 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Whoop Hall 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whoop Hall is a 3 star, family-run hotel situated on the outskirts of the attractive market town of Kirkby Lonsdale; this is the ideal base from which to explore some of England’s most beautiful countryside, the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales. Whoop Hall is uniquely positioned in the rolling countryside of North West England, where Cumbria, Lancashire and Yorkshire meet with the coastline of Morecambe Bay close by. This historical hotel offers a wide range of leisure facilities including an 18 meter swimming pool and gym. The hotel welcomes families with children and there is a four-poster bedroom for those who value that added touch of luxury.All 24 rooms are en-suite, spacious and comfortable, to offer a relaxing ambience. All individually furnished and decorated in keeping with the character of the hotel. Rooms come complete with colour television, radio, direct dial telephone and tea and coffee making facilities. Also there are family rooms, and for disabled guests, specially adapted accommodation on the ground floor. There is ample of safe parking to the front and rear of the hotel. Guests can enjoy full complimentary use of the extensive facilities in the hotel’s country club, as well as enjoying the extensive landscaped gardens, a sun terrace and children’s adventure playground.Connor’s Restaurant – Whoop Hall is proud of its team of professional chefs, who create freshly made dishes on the premises using fresh local produce, which makes the restaurant and bistro firm favourites with locals and residents alike. Converted from a barn, the renowned restaurant sits on several levels, and features a minstrel gallery complete with oak beams. The informal atmosphere creates the perfect ambience to enjoy choosing from the varied menus, which are regularly changed to bring fresh delights to our diners. The Whoops comfortable bar host’s traditional hand-pulled ales, roaring log fires and welcoming staff. Live music is played in the bar several nights a week. To complete the dining experience, relax, unwind and linger awhile over coffee and aperitifs in the lounge. Turners Bistro – is open daily for breakfasts, lunches and evening bar snacks. Guests are able to choose from a wide and changing menu. All meals are created with the finest of local produce. In the summer months enjoy alfresco dining on the terrace, overlooking spectacular, panoramic views of the open countryside of three counties – Cumbria, Lancashire and Yorkshire.Guests can take advantage of complimentary leisure facilities at the hotels Country Club; facilities include 18m swimming pool, spa, sauna, steam room, sun shower and state of the art fitness studio. Also guests can indulge in the ultimate in pampering – the bliss beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Whoop Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whoop Hall Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing