We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year Break Over priced and understaffed”
Review of The Whoop Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Whoop Hall
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kirkby Lonsdale
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The staff were terrific--friendly and hard working but there weren;t enough of them resulting in long waits at Dinner.

The Gala Buffet was excellent but at £295 per person for 3 nights it was poor value---no canapes ; no champagne at midnight;no fireworks--nothing to do on New Years Day as Country Club closed at 2pm.

The room was basic;quite cold ;clean enough.

Public rooms were very attractive and location good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joan1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

838 - 844 of 1,139 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have stayed at the Whoop Hall three times now, and each time we have found the hotel standards very high. The rooms are comfortable, the staff are friendly and helpful, the food is very good. Adrian the hotel / restaurant manager is excellent, nothing is too much trouble, and this can be said for the rest of the staff and the owner and his wife, who was on reception.
Last stayed 02/12/2012.
Mr & Mrs Fleming.

Room Tip: Room 19 is larger than other rooms we have had, and it has a seating area with a settee and arm chai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anthony f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Me and my husband stayed at Whoop hall on a groupon for our wedding anniversary , The staff made our stay very enjoyable. They were very friendly and nothing was too much for them. The restaurant Manager was fabulous and very helpful. The room was very comfortable and the facilities were good , tea & coffee is help yourself to as much as you like at no extra cost. We have recommended Whoop Hall to our friends and will continue to do so. We are looking forward to booking ourselves in again for another stay soon. Mr & Mrs Byron

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We booked the Hotel's 3 night New Year's package from 30th December - 2nd January. The staff were excelent, rooms comfortable and food was pretty good, although service on the 30th and 1st Jan was very slow, however the waiting staff were excellent - not their fault! The New Year's eve Gala Dinner was very good, but it took a while for the dancing to get going.The DJ was one of the staff! As a package, I would say it was poor value as there were NO extra's ie; champagne reception, drinks at midnight, games, quiz etc. Even the Leisure centre, which was one of the main attractions of the Whoop Hall was only open between 10.00am and 2.00pm on New Year's Day. We had breakfast at 09.30am, went for a long walk expecting to come back for a leisurely afternoon in the jacuzzi, steam room etc, and there it was - closed!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david_sherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Just had a lovely break at Whoop Hall.
We had absolutely no cause for complaint, all the staff were wonderful including the manager who we had read previous bad comments about. I think because he is Portugese he can seem abrupt but Infact he is a really nice guy.
The food in the hotel is excellent, on living social or groupon deals a limited menu is offered or a £15 pp allowance towards the A La Carte menu. We think this is totally fair considering the amoumt we paid for the deal.
The room was perfectly acceptable, huge and comfortable king sized bed. Plenty of storage space. Nice bathroom with bath and shower. And above al it was clean.
The leisure facilities are good, pool, steam room, sauna, beauty rooms and a well equipped gym.
The hotel is a 5 min drive out of the town and that for us was the only very slight downside.

All in all we got a great break at a great price.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fevladfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Whoop Hall under a Groupon offer. The hotel is well located and we had no problems but I would say this is an average hotel. The rooms were clean enough but nothing special - I would compare them to a Travelodge style of room. I am surprised that some have commented on the good quality of the food as we did not find this to be the case for our evening meal. Acceptable as part of a Groupon offer but if not, a complaint would have been forthcoming as the quality was poor. On the other hand, breakfast was very good. There were not many staff around and at times there was a wait at the bar to get served. As we were in no rush this was no problem and to be honest the low staff numbers was understandable as the hotel was not particularly busy during our stay. Overall we enjoyed our stay but if you intend to visit be realistic with your expectations.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mally2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My Wife, my 2 kids(13 + 16 years old) and myself have just had our Best Christmas EVER at The Whoop Hall. We booked the Hotels own 3 night Christmas package, after speaking to a member of staff on the telephone back in September. The reception we received on arrival was nothing but perfect, very polite, clear and to the point. Our room was clean and warm with a double bed and 2 single beds, but still had masses of room to spare, and a shower in the bathroom. The Spa facilities at this Hotel are superb. All free to use on our stay. A great sized swimming pool,Spa Pool, Sauna and a Steam room and also a Gym (But I didn't use this!) A free bath towel per person every time you use the facilities. Now onto the food. WOW!! It was amazing. From a massive choice of breakfast foods in the morning, (Champagne on arrival on Christmas Morning!!), to a great selection of meals on the Dinner time menu, and then to top it off in the Evening, even more fantastic foods, Hot and Cold buffet style...You will never go HUNGRY eating at this Hotel. The bar had free WiFi which was a god send for me (Kept the kids amused), a pool table, fruit machine and a very well stocked Bar.They also have a selection of Family board games to play anytime, Newspapers and magazines available to read as well.
The staff at the Hotel are absolutely amazing and I hope they see this review, because thanks to them, we all had an amazing time. They never stopped working to make our time feel really special. Thank you very much, all of you. I cant praise the Hotel and Staff enough. Great value for the money!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Lonsdale
1.5 mi away
Hipping Hall
Hipping Hall
#1 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
502 reviews
4.5 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
296 reviews
9.1 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.4 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#3 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
208 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#1 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whoop Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whoop Hall

Address: Burrow with Burrow, Kirkby Lonsdale la6 2gy, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range: $102 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Whoop Hall 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whoop Hall is a 3 star, family-run hotel situated on the outskirts of the attractive market town of Kirkby Lonsdale; this is the ideal base from which to explore some of England’s most beautiful countryside, the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales. Whoop Hall is uniquely positioned in the rolling countryside of North West England, where Cumbria, Lancashire and Yorkshire meet with the coastline of Morecambe Bay close by. This historical hotel offers a wide range of leisure facilities including an 18 meter swimming pool and gym. The hotel welcomes families with children and there is a four-poster bedroom for those who value that added touch of luxury.All 24 rooms are en-suite, spacious and comfortable, to offer a relaxing ambience. All individually furnished and decorated in keeping with the character of the hotel. Rooms come complete with colour television, radio, direct dial telephone and tea and coffee making facilities. Also there are family rooms, and for disabled guests, specially adapted accommodation on the ground floor. There is ample of safe parking to the front and rear of the hotel. Guests can enjoy full complimentary use of the extensive facilities in the hotel’s country club, as well as enjoying the extensive landscaped gardens, a sun terrace and children’s adventure playground.Connor’s Restaurant – Whoop Hall is proud of its team of professional chefs, who create freshly made dishes on the premises using fresh local produce, which makes the restaurant and bistro firm favourites with locals and residents alike. Converted from a barn, the renowned restaurant sits on several levels, and features a minstrel gallery complete with oak beams. The informal atmosphere creates the perfect ambience to enjoy choosing from the varied menus, which are regularly changed to bring fresh delights to our diners. The Whoops comfortable bar host’s traditional hand-pulled ales, roaring log fires and welcoming staff. Live music is played in the bar several nights a week. To complete the dining experience, relax, unwind and linger awhile over coffee and aperitifs in the lounge. Turners Bistro – is open daily for breakfasts, lunches and evening bar snacks. Guests are able to choose from a wide and changing menu. All meals are created with the finest of local produce. In the summer months enjoy alfresco dining on the terrace, overlooking spectacular, panoramic views of the open countryside of three counties – Cumbria, Lancashire and Yorkshire.Guests can take advantage of complimentary leisure facilities at the hotels Country Club; facilities include 18m swimming pool, spa, sauna, steam room, sun shower and state of the art fitness studio. Also guests can indulge in the ultimate in pampering – the bliss beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Whoop Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whoop Hall Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing