We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel, Good Location”
Review of The Whoop Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Whoop Hall
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kirkby Lonsdale
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average Hotel, Good Location”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Whoop Hall under a Groupon offer. The hotel is well located and we had no problems but I would say this is an average hotel. The rooms were clean enough but nothing special - I would compare them to a Travelodge style of room. I am surprised that some have commented on the good quality of the food as we did not find this to be the case for our evening meal. Acceptable as part of a Groupon offer but if not, a complaint would have been forthcoming as the quality was poor. On the other hand, breakfast was very good. There were not many staff around and at times there was a wait at the bar to get served. As we were in no rush this was no problem and to be honest the low staff numbers was understandable as the hotel was not particularly busy during our stay. Overall we enjoyed our stay but if you intend to visit be realistic with your expectations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mally2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    336
    171
    127
    217
See reviews for
179
667
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Accrington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My Wife, my 2 kids(13 + 16 years old) and myself have just had our Best Christmas EVER at The Whoop Hall. We booked the Hotels own 3 night Christmas package, after speaking to a member of staff on the telephone back in September. The reception we received on arrival was nothing but perfect, very polite, clear and to the point. Our room was clean and warm with a double bed and 2 single beds, but still had masses of room to spare, and a shower in the bathroom. The Spa facilities at this Hotel are superb. All free to use on our stay. A great sized swimming pool,Spa Pool, Sauna and a Steam room and also a Gym (But I didn't use this!) A free bath towel per person every time you use the facilities. Now onto the food. WOW!! It was amazing. From a massive choice of breakfast foods in the morning, (Champagne on arrival on Christmas Morning!!), to a great selection of meals on the Dinner time menu, and then to top it off in the Evening, even more fantastic foods, Hot and Cold buffet style...You will never go HUNGRY eating at this Hotel. The bar had free WiFi which was a god send for me (Kept the kids amused), a pool table, fruit machine and a very well stocked Bar.They also have a selection of Family board games to play anytime, Newspapers and magazines available to read as well.
The staff at the Hotel are absolutely amazing and I hope they see this review, because thanks to them, we all had an amazing time. They never stopped working to make our time feel really special. Thank you very much, all of you. I cant praise the Hotel and Staff enough. Great value for the money!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed at Whoop Hall on a Groupon offer and added an additional night. We found the hotel to be clean and warm and the staff friendly and helpful. The food was very good and the location beautiful and we visited both the Lakes and Harrogate whilst we were there. Our room was very comfortable, the only problem being that there was no shower and as I had recently had a knee operation, I had difficultly using the bath. I would definitely recommend Whoop Hall for a short, relaxing break.

Room Tip: If you are unable to easily use a bath, check that your room has a shower facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nellem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had a groupon offer and for the price we paid the weekend was fine. We seem to have been lucky with our room as it was warm and clean. The service although brilliant was slow in the restaurant but not the fault of the staff as there was one young girl and one young guy trying to serve in the bar and in the restaurant. I understand why the manager might come across as rude to us it was just a northern personality and I am northern so I can say that.
I would check see if they have any parties on though as the sound from the music does travel up into the rooms but all the staff were appolgetic about this and it was the christmas period.
There were some supplements for meals on the groupon offer but there were plenty of choices without supplements.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Midnightblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Just back from a very relaxing short break at Whoop Hall. Very accommodating staff make this a relaxing place to stay. Food choice, value, quantity & quality all excellent. Rooms very pleasant & clean. Bar area as you would hope for, nice big log fire, plenty seats & tables. Great choice of beers, spirits etc. Many local beers. (Oyster Stout highly recommended).
Overall, I would have thought it the ideal place to visit as is easy to get to, just out of the lovely town of Kirkby Lonsdale. KL is a well kept town, with a very good selection of interesting shops, none of them High Street chains. You don't have to drive far to get into some very rural countryside, where you may drive for miles without seeing another car.
It seemed to me that this is a place where the management & staff do not have to try too hard at being helpful. It comes naturally to them. My advise to all travellers, wherever you go is keep an open mind, and treat people as you would wish to be treated yourself.

Room Tip: If you find a room you like, remember the number & ask for it next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Having just returned from a weekend at Whoop Hall, I would like to complement all staff and management for the friendly atmosphere they created throughout our stay. Superb evening meals with top class food and choice for all on the menu, started each day with a good breakfast. Comfortable rooms and great sport facilities.
Nice relaxing surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Bought a 2 day package at this hotel through groupon.tried to alter the dates at last minute because of childcare issues.Owner was very abrupt on the phone and said he had lost out on business.Can't see where he is coming from.Payed in advance through Groupon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andysb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kirkby Lonsdale hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Lonsdale
9.1 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
524 reviews
6.8 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
501 reviews
6.6 mi away
Redwell Inn
Redwell Inn
#1 of 1 in Arkholme
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
1.4 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#3 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
204 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#1 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whoop Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whoop Hall

Property: The Whoop Hall
Address: Old Station Yard Burrow with Burrow, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Whoop Hall 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whoop Hall is a 3 star, family-run hotel situated on the outskirts of the attractive market town of Kirkby Lonsdale; this is the ideal base from which to explore some of England’s most beautiful countryside, the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales. Whoop Hall is uniquely positioned in the rolling countryside of North West England, where Cumbria, Lancashire and Yorkshire meet with the coastline of Morecambe Bay close by. This historical hotel offers a wide range of leisure facilities including an 18 meter swimming pool and gym. The hotel welcomes families with children and there is a four-poster bedroom for those who value that added touch of luxury.All 24 rooms are en-suite, spacious and comfortable, to offer a relaxing ambience. All individually furnished and decorated in keeping with the character of the hotel. Rooms come complete with colour television, radio, direct dial telephone and tea and coffee making facilities. Also there are family rooms, and for disabled guests, specially adapted accommodation on the ground floor. There is ample of safe parking to the front and rear of the hotel. Guests can enjoy full complimentary use of the extensive facilities in the hotel’s country club, as well as enjoying the extensive landscaped gardens, a sun terrace and children’s adventure playground.Connor’s Restaurant – Whoop Hall is proud of its team of professional chefs, who create freshly made dishes on the premises using fresh local produce, which makes the restaurant and bistro firm favourites with locals and residents alike. Converted from a barn, the renowned restaurant sits on several levels, and features a minstrel gallery complete with oak beams. The informal atmosphere creates the perfect ambience to enjoy choosing from the varied menus, which are regularly changed to bring fresh delights to our diners. The Whoops comfortable bar host’s traditional hand-pulled ales, roaring log fires and welcoming staff. Live music is played in the bar several nights a week. To complete the dining experience, relax, unwind and linger awhile over coffee and aperitifs in the lounge. Turners Bistro – is open daily for breakfasts, lunches and evening bar snacks. Guests are able to choose from a wide and changing menu. All meals are created with the finest of local produce. In the summer months enjoy alfresco dining on the terrace, overlooking spectacular, panoramic views of the open countryside of three counties – Cumbria, Lancashire and Yorkshire.Guests can take advantage of complimentary leisure facilities at the hotels Country Club; facilities include 18m swimming pool, spa, sauna, steam room, sun shower and state of the art fitness studio. Also guests can indulge in the ultimate in pampering – the bliss beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Whoop Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whoop Hall Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing