We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of a boutique hotel”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2011

We have just returned from a great 2 night stay at the Royal. We stayed in room 14 which was beautifully decorated, and had a huge shower and bathroom!

This really is a gem of a hotel that I hope people will support, as it has just been refurbished to a really high standard. We met some locals who said it was lovely to see it as a thriving hotel once again, I hope it stays that way as they really deserve it.

The staff are so attentive, but not pretentious at all. Everyone is made to feel so welcome. We ate in the restaurant one night which has stunning high ceilings, and a slightly colonial feel to it. The food was lovely and very reasonably priced for a hotel like this.

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place, we will certainly be back soon!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dascha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 422 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2011

10 friends had a super overnight stay - the standard of accommodation was excellent and we found the staff extremely helpful. We had dinner at the hotel which was lovely and we all thought the whole package was great value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmwbingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

We had a lovely weekend with 5 other couples, evening meal was great, rooms very clean and tasteful. Staff very helpful and friendly...already recomended the Royal to other friends...

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingDuo02009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011

My stay was excellent from start to finish Jay the manager was on the ball with the running of the hotel his staff where spot on with service really impressed nothing was a problem for Hector who just smiled all the time in fact everyone was the same.
As a solo traveller i didnt feel out of place at all the food was excellent and great selection on the menu.
The rooms where very clean and beautiful and very quiet i hope the standard of this hotel continues it was just fantastic a real gem the only thing that was not good was the car park .
Will be back soon .

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011

The Royal Hotel is a beautiful building which has been refurbished to provide a comfortable mix of traditional and contemporary with an eclectic mix of fixtures and fittings which make for interesting viewing.

We stayed in Room 2 which was very comfortable with excellent views onto the town square and the very large bathroom has a slipper bath and walk in shower; the bed was comfortable with excellent pillows surpassing the usual hotel standard.

The bar and restaurant are well frequented by visitors and locals alike and the staff provide a warm welcome whether you are resident or just calling in for a drink or a coffee. There is also a lovely little snug with a roaring fire and lots of books to peruse. Breakfast was excellent and the restaurant menu has something for most tastes.

We were particularly impressed with the unpretentious way with which the manager runs operations and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Without doubt we shall be staying again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dphoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

It's wonderful to see the hotel in use again after years of being derelict. We'd gone in for a drink during a previous visit to Kirkby Lonsdale and were so impressed that we returned for a short holiday to mark our anniversary and a big birthday. The service was good and the staff friendly. The evening meal was excellent but where the food really excelled was at breakfast. There was so much choice that we never did have a full English breakfast! We can hardly wait to return.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deputydawg49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

My husband myself and friends have stayed at this lovely hotel numerous times now. The staff are lovely, there is always room for parking. All the rooms are lovely, but we and our freinds like to stay in the same rooms each time we visit. The evening menu is great, each time we go we like to try something new on the menu. We would recommend this hotel for anybody visiting Kirkby lonsdale, FAB

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COLUMBO17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Lonsdale
2.6 mi away
Hipping Hall
Hipping Hall
#1 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
506 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,151 reviews
0 mi away
Snooty Fox
Snooty Fox
#2 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#1 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plato's
Plato's
#2 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Main Street, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range: $123 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing