We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Still very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have visited this hotel several times on our way north to visit family. We visited again in August and must say it is still one of the best hotels we have been in. The staff are friendly and helpful nothing is too much trouble, food is very good and the rooms very comfortable. Well worth a visit and Kirkby Lonsdale is a lovely little town with some very interesting shops.

Room Tip: Back rooms are quieter if you do not want to get up too early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fussytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    92
    28
    19
    6
See reviews for
49
234
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,156 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,205 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

The Royal Hotel is centrally situated in the pretty town of Kirkby Lonsdale, right opposite the market square. Completely refurbished in boutique style, the bedrooms are extremely comfortable and well appointed with pleasant, ultra modern bathrooms. The restaurant and other public rooms reflect a similar decor and the atmosphere is friendly and relaxed. Service at breakfast could not have been better and there was an ample choice of dishes. The Eggs Benedictine was especially good. Home made pizzas are served during the afternoon and evening, making dining here popular with families. Parking opposite, on the town square, is chargeable, but the Devil's Bridge car park, a few minutes walk away, is free at all times and I have not heard of any problems there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Howi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

What on earth do you want? Nice staff, comfortable, wacky and well decorated surroundings, a good choice of beers and wines, a varied menu and all very reasonably priced - this is just a good place to eat and drink. From my experience, I can only say highly recommended. Hope you enjoyed your stay a s much as us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crytic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Recent stay with partner lovely hotel had room 11 which had bath in bedroom as well as full wet room stunning food in restaurant wonderful breakfast excellent.
Perfect place for a classy relaxing break all set in wonderful countryside close to lake district

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Love this place and can't recommend it more! I think my family and I use it has a home away from home. Gorgeous rooms, fantastic location, lovely food and the staff are always helpful especially Jay. Hope to visit again soon :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starfishcoconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkconnel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Booked for one night for DBB for only £123. For this price we expected their worst room they had. We had room 2 which was at the front of the hotel . It was huge filled with high quality furniture. The only negative comment being such a large room there was only a standard double bed, which was lost in huge room. When we walked into the bathroom our mouths dropped . There was a slipper bath in the centre of the room, also a double rain shower. Our meal was superb with excellent service from the friendly staff. The standard was maintained at Breakfast. The night stay was so relaxing, and we wished we had booked for two nights.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malcolm h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We have just had a weekend at the Royal Fri and Sat in room 9
We looked forward to a smart comfortable room but got a dark stuffy room with little natural light and even less fresh air
The walls behind the radiators were black and none of the cupboard drawers opened
The bathroom was the nicest part of the room but there was a lack of bathrobes that we were promised on the web site
The staff are lovely - they could do with a receptionist - and the public spaces nice Breakfast was a triumph but for £310 for a weeken I expected better

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annieho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Lonsdale
1.1 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
16.0 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#1 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Plato's
Plato's
#2 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#3 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Main Street, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing