We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Excellence”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding Excellence”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

What a lovely hotel this is to hold your special days celebrations. The hotel is decorated to a very high standard, the decor and furnishings are very welcoming and comfortable, whilst the food is outstanding. The staff are very friendly, hard working and accomodating and this was shown with the attention given to the younger members of the family. Nothing was too much trouble. We were sorry we cound not stay here as fully booked at time of our call, a real real shame but we will definately be staying here in the future. Can't wait!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    94
    28
    20
    6
See reviews for
49
238
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This hotel has recently been refurbished and is done out to a very high standard. It over looks the market place and is right in the middle of things. The food is very good and coupled with the really great staff makes for a very enjoyable stay ! Rooms done out to a very high standard with comfy beds. My wife and me came with friends for two nights and we enjoyed it very much.
Our one and only gripe is the parking is rather limited and often involves the staff shifting cars about...you can park in the square but it costs !
Kirkby Lonsdale is very nice with lots of shops and plenty of coffee stops. I cannot really fault this hotel and cannot wait to go again ! Passing traffic can keep you awake at night...

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 11 are the best ! Room 11 is on the top floor so no noise from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dredgehead14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This hotel is a great find. The accommodation is comfortable with everything you may need. The food was very good and the staff couldn't have been more kind and helpful. I stayed for 1 night on my way north but would love to return for a 2 or 3 night stay to explore the lovely countryside surrounding Kirkby Lonsdale.

Room Tip: As far as I can see any room would be acceptable and accessible as there is a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bowpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We travelled through Kirkby Lonsdale on a very wet Sunday afternoon looking for a cosy refuge and good local fayre. The Royal has been recently refurbed and is well worth a visit. We chose it because we have visited several of this group's other pubs and restaurants in Lancashire and never been disappointed. We ordered cumbrian ham with fried eggs on ciabatta and fish and chips. Both meals were superb, nothing else to say really. Service was friendly and efficient. We chose to eat in the pub lounge rather than the dining room. Helpfully you can choose food from any menu in any room rather than the stuffy restrictions you get too often in some pubs/restaurant seeking to be more than they are. If you are up this way give the Royal a try. Oh and they do a good selection of local brews!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyBurger1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonstone
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at the royal last August for my wife's birthday, and it was outstanding. This time the stay was not quite as memorable partly due to the room not being as good as the last time and having to wait for our room to be cleaned after the booking in time.
The restaurant is still very good and the service excellent.
The hotel is showing signs of use with some bareness on the carpet and the odd stain on walls and doors. However these were minor observations one year on from an outstanding stay, I still think this hotel is very good quality and will visit again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My wife and i stopped here for a night in May to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

The hotel and the staff were very friendly and had an excellent manner, the duty manager couldn't do enough for you and he even gave us a quick tour of the other rooms!! We stayed in room 9 which was clean, comfortable and very well furnished and decorated.

We stopped for our evening meal which was delicious in very attractive surroundings and this was supported by an equally enjoyable breakfast.

We enjoyed our stay and as ardent fans of Kirkby Lonsdale, we will be stopping here again!!

Room Tip: Look on the website, it offers a virtual 360 view of the rooms. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Engineer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Level Contributor
99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Stayed here on Thursday 2nd August for 1 night, lovely hotel, room 12 was gorgeous, be careful as the shower door sticks, checked in and when we advised the receptionist there was a faulty light it was fixed straight away, the TV screen froze a lot which was annoying when we wanted to watch The Olympics, however the overall stay was great and breakfast was AWESOME!!!!! We will be back

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlottelucas99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Lonsdale
1.1 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
16.0 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#1 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Plato's
Plato's
#2 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#3 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Main Street, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing