We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Den”
Review of The Pheasant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Pheasant Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Dunmow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Den”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Just returned from short stay. Very friendly welcome, good service. Served best food we have ever tasted with plenty of choice. Fantastic atmosphere, the bar and restaurant have just been refurbished and they are continuing with the accommodation our room was a little tired but the whole place was immaculately clean. We would go back again. First Class!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    42
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
32
119
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here for one night on Sunday and could not fault anything. The Inn is a lovely building and the décor is really nice. From the moment we walked in to checking out, the service was excellent. We were made to feel very welcome and all the staff were really friendly. Our room (4) was huge, the en suite had a great shower and the beds were extremely comfortable. The walls were about 2 feet thick so there was no noise from anywhere. The meals seemed a little bit more expensive than we would normally pay but having sampled them, they were worth every penny. The breakfast was included in the price of the room and was every bit as good. There was a good choice of beers which I have been told were very tasty. Comfort, friendliness, cleanliness, value for money could not be faulted and we would love to stay again.

Room Tip: Room 4 was fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chzeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our first visit and certainly not our last, Everything was perfect, the friendly welcome, great service, excellent food with plenty of choice including lots of lovely deserts, The hosts Carol & Paul were very friendly and attentive nothing was too much trouble, Beautiful setting with a lovely relaxed atmosphere, Superb !!!. Here's to our next visit

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Went for a family meal and could not fault anything. The steak and ale pie is the best I have ever tasted. Will definitely be going back, and next time I'm booking a room. I have feeling the breakfast might be good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2013

A wonderful family gathering!
We had a private lounge to relax and drink while we decided what to choose from the menu.

From starters, mains, deserts and local cheese everything was very tasty. You could tell a lot of passion and dedication was going on in the kitchen.

Can't wait to book b&b so next time i can have more wine:)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Leightonbeck29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Have stayed several times over the years both when touring and on local fishing trips. Found the rooms to be clean and comfortable and the food excellent with friendly, helpful staff. Much quieter and cheaper than the hostelries in nearby Kirkby Lonsdale and with plenty of parking space at the back.
Would have no hesitation in staying again if I ever return to the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mervyl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Took my wife here for a weekend away, to get a change of scenery. The staff are so friendly and helpful, and the food was fantastic. The steak pie was one of the best I have ever had - a proper pie! None of that gastro pub pile of meat with a bit of pasty balancing on top posing as a pie nonsense. This was really satisying! I have eaten in a lot of good restaurants over the years, and the food here really was top class. Couldnt fault a thing.

The rooms and accomomodation were also lovely. Peaceful and relaxing. Only slight criticism is the lack of a shower screen / curtain in the bathroom.

Will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room away from the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anon_yorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Lonsdale
1.4 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,118 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hipping Hall
Hipping Hall
#1 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
490 reviews
10.0 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Copper Kettle
Copper Kettle
#12 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
90 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#9 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
69 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Homestead
The Homestead
#1 of 1 in Melling
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Inn

Property: The Pheasant Inn
Address: Casterton, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pheasant Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Pheasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing