We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pheasant Inn

The Pheasant Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Went with the family for the first time for Sunday lunch on reading the reviews on tripadvisor. Our 5 year old was made to feel really welcome. The food was really good and reasonably priced. Everyone left feeling full and satisfied. Worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gilly-tee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    54
    10
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A winning combination of seriously good food in handsome surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have been there thrice over the last several months, once with a group of gents from my immediate neighbourhood, and twice with my wife and friends. Each time, the food has been "real" and very nicely presented from a good-choice menu. Normally, I don't bother with restaurant desserts, as I find them usually disappointing. However, at the Pheasant, they have been exceptionally good, and I suggest you save room for one before hitting the road.

Lots of choices of dining rooms both inside and out. Pleasant surroundings also - a car park with what has to be one of the best bucolic views in England. Casterton is a lovely village, too.

Come and try it for yourself - I certainly intend to go back periodically, but I live within only a half-hour's drive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigfish44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milnthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Tasty lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Called for lunch mid week.
Just had sautéed ceps and mains of veal escalope and feta Kiev.
All very nice and very tasty.
The escalope was a bit soggy but they offered to change it, although the eating experience was not spoiled.
Would definitely call again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinnergong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Worth a journey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

My partner and I travelled some distance to have dinner at The Pheasant on the recommendation of a friend and our meal exceeded our already high expectations.My main course of escalopes of rose veal,mushroom sauce,potato rosti infused with Brie and bacon and a selection of vegetables was absolutely delicious,and my partner was equally ecstaticabout her lamb dish.All our food was beautifully cooked and presented,the service was impeccable and the staff friendly and attentive.A great dining experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barry23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful food, great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have high standards when it comes to eating out & we are always nervous when going somewhere new, but this place didn't disappoint! The staff were very attentive, efficient, welcoming & genuinely friendly. The food was fantastic: flavoursome, well cooked & professionally presented. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pheasant Inn also viewed

Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
 
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
 

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing