We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service with relaxed atmosphere”
Review of Plato's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plato's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Recieved a great last minute deal for bed and breakfast and we were not disappointed. The service was friendly, without being intrusive, the overall atmosphere was relaxed and informal.

My only regret is that we didn't choose to have our evening meal at Plato's, instead we ate at the Sun Inn which was mediocre at best.

Comfortable beds with a good choice for breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esor666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

505 - 511 of 617 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

We've stayed at Plato's once before and we like its friendliness, informality, and the "buzz" in the restaurant on an evening. This time, we took advantage of a DBB package at £120, available till the end of June, and again had a very pleasant stay.
There are some nice touches that you don't get everywhere, such as bathrobes, fresh milk delivered to your door in a small vacuum flask, and a complimentary scone and coffee each once we'd checked in to our room. Others have commented on the problems with parking in Kirkby Lonsdale and that can be a pain, especially when it rains as it did both days we were there, though Plato's staff are very helpful at explaining the best options for dropping off bags/cases, and for free on-street parking a little walk from the hotel.
We had a very enjoyable dinner (and breakfast the following morning) - with one exception: the bottle of red wine served at our table was actually warm to the touch as well as the taste! That really shouldn't happen in such a well-regarded establishment. Strangely, we spotted an large, empty wine rack in a lobby just off the restaurant, but were told that our bottle had come from "downstairs, and they will be all be warm..."! All the food was good, but the desserts (in our case strawberries and cream and vanilla bean cheesecake with rhubarb and rhubarb syrup) were something else - our tip is to make sure you leave room for a pud!
The room (ours was room 7) was very comfortable indeed and has a nice view right down the main street, but room 8 is good too, though be aware of the low beams in that one.
There was a minor glitch on checking out, as someone else's meals had been charged to room 7 (and ours to room 4) - perhaps because no one asked us for our room number when we went down to dinner? - but all was quickly resolved.
It's hard not to like Plato's - but there are just a couple of things they could maybe tighten up on. Overall, a lovely stay though.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhiltheRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights and it was a lovely experience. Room 4 was beautiful and had everything we could possibly need. All the staff were so friendly and polite. They were very busy but helpful. The town is really pretty. Parking is a bit difficult but the streets were not designed to take the volume of traffic and in an old village like this it's to be expected. If you want a relaxing break with something special this is the place to go

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank songster58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We found the hotel and the staff very warm and friendly. The food was excellent and the choice of drinks was superb.
The bedroom and en-suite were large and well decorated and we found the bed very comfortable.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 7 and it was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Williambrianskelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

A really lovely hotel with excellent food and a great atmosphere. The restaurant was busy on a Tuesday evening a very good sign, but worth a call in advance to book a table. An ideal location in the centre of the town with easy access to the wider area. I was made to feel very welcome so thanks to the team.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Love Kirby Londsdale it has been a romantic retreat for my husband and I for a good few years, we always stay at Plato's but visit all our favorite pubs especially The Sun and The Royal ....Stunning place full of character and good food ... just a fab chill out place for spoiling yourself. Imagine my suprise at coming face to face with Prince Charles who was staying in the area over easter and decided to have a little tootle around shaking hands with his subjects....fab! just made my weekend.....enjoy the photo's

Room Tip: Ask for our favorite Room 8 under the eaves right at the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estateagent47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in room 6. Just for one night on the excellent mid week dinner bed and breakfast rate.

The room was clean and the bathroom was excellent.

We wandered around town for a bit before spending the afternoon in the bar reading the paper and having some local beers.

The restaurant was reasonably busy so if you intend eating book in when you book the room.

Every member of staff was lovely made us feel so welcome.

I recommend it as a nice base for exploring the lower lakes.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulinyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Lonsdale
0.1 mi away
Snooty Fox
Snooty Fox
#2 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
134 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hipping Hall
Hipping Hall
#1 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
517 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
0 mi away
The Sun Inn
The Sun Inn
#1 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plato's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plato's

Address: No 2 Mill Brow, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range: $102 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Plato's 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plato’s is set in the heart of Kirkby Lonsdale - once discovered never forgotten. On the edge of the Lake District, the Dales and The Forest of Bowland. A pretty little market town set in the Lune Valley with wonderful walking, stunning views and really good shopping.As a boutique hotel, we understand that one of the joys of going away is to have a touch more luxury than you do at home. So that is why in our higgledy piggledy old building, we have made sure that every room is unique. The only thing that is standard is comfort - the ultra luxury Vi-Spring beds, the crisp cotton linen, the stacks of fluffy white towels, the state of the art flatscreen TVs, the luxurious en suite bathrooms some with baths and others with rainfall showers, the complimentary bottle of Plato's wine and gorgeous local Sedbergh Soap Company toiletries.Downstairs we have a Bar and Restaurant - Proper home cooking with a twist made from fresh ingredients sourced on our doorstep, a wine list selected by grape so that you can try new variations of your favourite wine, and honest beers and ales for the drinker who knows the difference.All prices are per room per night and include our sumptuous breakfast which is served until 2.30pm so you really can have a lazy lie in (please note that the room cleaning service finishes at 10am and check out on day of departure is 11am). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Plato's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plato`s Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing