We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a gem.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plato's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Plato's
Certificate of Excellence
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“What a gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Plato's is a gem, first visit here and I was very pleased. The hotel itself is quite small but the space has been functioned very well.
The room was lovely again small but well portioned. I stayed in room 5 the best highlight was the bed omg it was heaven. The mattress, the pillows and the bedding omg just exceptionally comfty.
The food was tasty and well presented, seasoned well overall nothing bad to say. The only annoying thing is there was no hot water in the morning and the shower was very slow not powerful at all.
The staff are brillant. Always willing to help and they seem to really care for their customers.
Overall a wonderful stay and will be back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    90
    12
    9
    3
See reviews for
50
375
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Great location, although the car parking could be an issue for some, but the staff were very helpful, and sorted out the car park ticket in the morning which meant we did not have to get up at 7.45. Rooms are spot on, clean and comfortable, but we did wonder why there were ear plugs in the bathroom. All became clear at 6am when the brewery wagon delivered to at least 3 pubs in the main street.
Staff were very friendly and the breakfast was very good. Good selection of local brews in the bar, and a log fire.

Room Tip: The hotel is on the main road (literally) and has traditional sash windows, which look great but are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Went here just for a meal so can't rate the rooms but WOW the food and service was amazing :-) was greeted warmly and given a lovely table tucked up a corner so felt private and romantic but gave a good view of everything going on. Started with a fish platter which was crammed with prawns, shrimps, smoked salmon, squid rings etc yummy. This was followed by Seabass on a fennel risotto with chilli jam for my hubby and the best Paella I have ever had it was devine from start to finish and was served with aioli, had to share some with the other half as generous portion. Was too full to have a dessert but they all sounded very tempting. Hubby enjoyed some local beers and as driver I found the local water delightful! Have eaten at a couple of Michelin starred restaurants and not had such good food as experienced in Plato, chefs know their stuff. Wish we were more local than a 3 hour drive :-( away.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CharlieW62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Love Kirby Lonsdale Love Plato's fab for a overnight or weekend break. Rooms are quirky and cosy and very clean. Late breakfast if preferred which suits us fine. Although you need go no where else to eat and drink as Plato's is fantastic for both please try the other pubs and their Tapa's we went mid week and the New Inn which again is another superb pub was busy and the tapas were fantastic. We always go into the Royal Hotel, how can you not....this is the most beautiful Hotel right in the centre which is very "Harry Potter - ish" full of candles and chandeliers and its super authentic quirky rooms ..it is just beautiful. We tried the Snooty Fox and this seems to be the local, we sat in the old tap room which was cosy warm and welcoming. Treat yourself to a mid week pre christmas break you wont regret it.

Room Tip: The top rooms are quieter as the building is old so you can sometimes hear the floor boards creeking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank estateagent47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Clean, comfortably chic; family-feel. Travelled with mum; different bedrooms, but each with their own charm - large and eaves room; smaller one with sumptuous bedlinen

Modern and comfortable bathrooms

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

The rooms at Plato's are individual, clean and very comfortable. Attention to detail such as beautiful toiletries and a flask of milk outside your door each evening add to the personal touch. The staff are fabulous and nothing is too much trouble. The food is gorgeous and cakes on arrival are most welcoming. The atmosphere is one of a friendly boutique hotel and in the evenings the atmosphere is very lively.
I would recommend Plato's to anyone who wants to stay in a friendly, warm atmosphere. We will certainly be back!

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying at the front of the hotel then we could watch activity on the High Street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our second stay at Plato's in Kirby Lonsdale and once again it was excellent. We love the atmosphere of the place with very freindly well trained staff and first class accomodation. We dined in the restaurant on our fist night and really enjoyed the food, breakfasts were also top notch. We stayed in room 4 which is the Ruskin room which was nice and spacious with a great view down the main street. All in all a great weekend and I'm sure we will return soon.

Room Tip: Room 4 is the largest room with a lovely en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Lonsdale
0.9 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
5.7 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#1 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#3 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plato's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plato's

Property: Plato's
Address: No 2 Mill Brow, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Plato's 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plato’s is set in the heart of Kirkby Lonsdale - once discovered never forgotten. On the edge of the Lake District, the Dales and The Forest of Bowland. A pretty little market town set in the Lune Valley with wonderful walking, stunning views and really good shopping.As a boutique hotel, we understand that one of the joys of going away is to have a touch more luxury than you do at home. So that is why in our higgledy piggledy old building, we have made sure that every room is unique. The only thing that is standard is comfort - the ultra luxury Vi-Spring beds, the crisp cotton linen, the stacks of fluffy white towels, the state of the art flatscreen TVs, the luxurious en suite bathrooms some with baths and others with rainfall showers, the complimentary bottle of Plato's wine and gorgeous local Sedbergh Soap Company toiletries.Downstairs we have a Bar and Restaurant - Proper home cooking with a twist made from fresh ingredients sourced on our doorstep, a wine list selected by grape so that you can try new variations of your favourite wine, and honest beers and ales for the drinker who knows the difference.All prices are per room per night and include our sumptuous breakfast which is served until 2.30pm so you really can have a lazy lie in (please note that the room cleaning service finishes at 10am and check out on day of departure is 11am). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Plato's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plato`s Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing