We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Inn- Great Leisure centre”
Review of Whoop Hall Inn

Whoop Hall Inn
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Reasonable Inn- Great Leisure centre”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We only used the inn for a nice meal and a drink, but had use of the leisure centre adjacent which is a superb facility

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank RDog_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    46
    41
    30
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirkby Lonsdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

On the whole the food is generally good, it is well presented by pleasant staff, the actual restaurant is very nice and there is a good seating area where you can sit whilst waiting for your food

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Dirty and dated”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We called in here for drinks, thank goodness we were not staying. The Carpet in the bar area was very grubby, and the furniture is not the usual bar furniture but wicker, so not very comfortable.

There is also an unpleasant smell of boiled vegetables that lingers in the air.

We would not return.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mwalshm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not as nice as you might at first think.....”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a shame. This is what appears to be an old building with charm and character, and has been added to and extended to make it more than just a 'pub'.

The bar was a bit loud with 70's rock, and people sitting around looking a little uncomfortable! No worries, let's have a beer. Bit cold in the place to be honest, especially where the pool table is.

Room was so-so. Shower didn't work that well and the washbasin would not drain away within half an hour! Told the staff but not fixed the next day.

Food was interesting. Not poor but not great considering the price. Same music issue as the bar :-) we dined at The Sun Inn in town the next evening and were blown away for the same price!

Afternoon tea was included and the sandwiches and cakes were nice, but the coffee was very weak and there was no tea. Chilly again. It was a cold few days mind.

Breakfast - not bad but you'd better not leave it until late or there won't be any food left!

Didn't use the facilities really, so can't comment on that.

What I will say is the owner, an Italian guy, seems friendly enough but there simply were not enough staff on while we were there. There was a barman who dealt with our room key and served in the restaurant. He was absolutely rushed off his backside, and it was the same the next day too. Of course service suffered as a result.

Good location, although you'll probably want to book a cab to town and back if you want to drink whilst visiting. The selection of shops and restaurants and pubs is amazing and good quality.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stereoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Hubby & I stayed 1st to 3rd February 2013 in room 20 through KGB vouchers. Included dinner on first night which was very good quality & afternoon tea taken next day with unlimited tea & coffee in lounge area with log fire & daily newspapers. Room was adequate for what we paid, however the shower proved a little taxing! The staff were extremely helpful & friendly. Buffet breakfast was acceptable in the lovely breakfast room with beautiful views of the hills (role on spring/summer) & very good on the second morning. We enjoyed several games of pool & relaxed in the lounge made very cosy with the log fires. The disappointing thing with the pool is the lack of any chairs, sun beds etc so nowhere to relax. Nice visit to the steam room & sauna instead! You can walk into Kirkby Lonsdale within 30 minutes & there is a lovely walk along the riverside. Plenty of shops in the village & restaurants. Will return again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hyacinth19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whoop Hall Inn also viewed

Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
 
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
 
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
 

Been to Whoop Hall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing