We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay in lovely surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Pig Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“lovely stay in lovely surroundings”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Have just spent 2 nights at the Blue Pig. Had a warm welcome from Sue and Bill. Clean and cosy rooms; excellent breakfast; friendly and helpful hosts, in the heart of the little interesting town. Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
153
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have been lucky enough to visit the very beautiful Kirkby Lonsdale several times over the past twelve months. My choice of accommodation has always been The Blue Pig. Sue and Bill have always been so welcoming, friendly and helpful. The rooms are cosy, clean, comfortable and quite honestly the best bed I have ever slept in!. I have stayed there alone on business and have always felt very happy with my choice of place to stay. The breakfasts are cooked perfectly with fantastic local produce of the highest quality. It really is an outstanding place to stay and I will miss this place as it has felt like a second home to me! Highly recommend and can't wait to find an opportunity to go back :)

Room Tip: I have stayed in both of the double bed rooms and both are equally as lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just spent another brilliant weekend at the Blue Pig with Bill Sue and Mac.
We have visited the Blue Pig every year for the past five years and from the first visit to the one last week, the hospitality from Bill and Sue remains the same,friendly,welcoming and above all they genuinely want your stay to be perfect. The breakfasts are still the best we have had anywhere, fresh local produce used and enough to keep anyone going all day.
If you want to stay with two of the nicest people you are likely to meet, in a home with character, comfortable beds and everything you need to feel like your at home, then you won't get anywhere better than the Blue Pig.

We will continue to stay at the Blue Pig as long as Bill and Sue are open for business.
In the words of the advert for a well known drink, "if Carlsberg did guest houses, they would be just like the Blue pig"

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenDave1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonstone
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We chose to stay here for our wedding anniversary because of its location and good reviews. I can tell you it is a first class and so glad we didnt book into the boutique Platos next door! Sue and Bill are wonderful hosts of this comfortable and outstanding B&B. I have to agree with other reviewers that this is the best B&B we have stayed at. I will definitely be recommending this little gem to our family and friends. The room was very comfortable especially, the bed and the breakfast was excellent and helped sort my husbands hangover!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marleyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Mere words can't properly describe our one night stay at the 'Blue Pig'. Sue and Bill made us welcome right from the start, and their friendliness lasted until we left the next morning. The rooms are bright and airy, and the bed had the most comfortable mattress we have experienced in a B&B. During one of our many conversations, Sue noted that she buys all of the breakfast items in the early morning, prior to cooking. She offered 'black pudding' (a real North of England treat), which was gratefully accepted, and served to totally complement the hearty breakfast that was provided.
In closing, whilst Kirkby Lonsdale does not offer much for the casual visitor ('Devil's Bridge' and 'Ruskins View notwithstanding), it's worth visiting the town for the pleasure of staying at the 'Blue Pig'

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed in the Blue Pig on the 11th August this year. Had stayed in Kirkby Lonsdale before and found it delightful. Sue and Bill are the best hosts we have ever come across and their B&B is unquestionably the most comfortable and friendly we have ever had the pleasure to have come across. The rooms are furnished to a very high standard and on suite facilities are of a standard that you would expect from a 5 star hotel. Breakfast could not be faulted. Again, the choice of menu was exemplary and cooked to perfection. We would have no reservations in recommending this B&B to anyone and will certainly stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had an overnight stay here whilst attending a wedding. Sue was very accommodating allowing us to drop our bags in our room so we could catch the coach to the venue. Room was very clean with great facilities. Breakfast was delicious and the location in the village was perfect for us with the added bonus of a parking space a short walk away. We would definitely try to book in here again whilst visiting this area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Lonsdale
1.2 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,106 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hipping Hall
Hipping Hall
#1 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
486 reviews
10.2 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#1 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,363 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#3 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copper Kettle
Copper Kettle
#12 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Pig Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Pig Bed and Breakfast

Property: Blue Pig Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4 Mill Brow, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful bed & breakfast accommodation is situated in a newly renovated 17th Century cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Blue Pig Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Pig b&b
Blue Pig Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing