We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a treat!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vanilla Pod

Vanilla Pod
Ranked #1 of 74 Restaurants in Marlow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $102 - $102
Cuisines: French, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always a treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We've visited this restaurant a number of times and the standard of the food here is always outstanding. Last night the Fennel Soup was out of this world. i also had the Venison with Celeriac Puree........the combination of flavour was so good I didn't want it to end. The staff are always attentive and pleasant, and the atmosphere is sometimes quiet, but don't be afraid to talk and laugh.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    95
    30
    17
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food but cramped”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We just ate there for our first year wedding anniversary...

The food was delicate, original, beautiful and delicious. Well worth it. But we were crammed in right next to another couple whose relationship openly broke down before us....it was impossible to ignore and a result of there being too many tables, too closely packed together....

In hindsight would have preferred a bit more space and privacy....

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We visited this restaurant with friends to celebrate a birthday and we were very impressed by the food and service. I shall just get my one grumble out of the way. The lighting is far too bright which , I think, detracts from the atmosphere. It is one narrow room anyway and more subtle lighting would help to make it cosier.
We chose the menu at £45 for 3 courses. My "slightly smoked " salmon starter was delicate and tasty and my main of haddock on celery with vanilla was beautiful - just a perfectly sized portion and really delicious. Other highlights included a very expertly cooked venison and the other mains of sea beam and sea bass. The bitter chocolate soup dessert was fab and we also appreciated a lovely cheeseboard including pickles, jam and lots of crackers.
Our waitor was friendly, efficient and not at all stuffy. We found it to be good value as there was nothing we could fault. We'll be back- just turn down those lights please!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LizBrown2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A culinary delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Four of us visited this lovely restaurant last weekend to celebrate my husband's birthday and had a nine course taster menu pre purchased with a a voucher. The meal comprised of the chef's choices, so no selecting from a menu on this occasion and it was certainly exciting waiting for each course to be served, then being informed what was beautifully presented before us.

It was a delight to discover new flavours all in pleasant relaxed surroundings. At the time of booking it had been a mentioned one of us had a dairy and gluten intolerance and the chef had obviously gone out of his way to enure this was catered for.

The service was excellent , although not quite as attentive as on previous visits, this was probably due to the restaurant being full and certainly didn't detract from what was a thoroughly unhurried and enjoyable evening. I look forward to going back for more.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MarshaMarlow_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Level Contributor
126 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Unique dining, delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I took a friend here for her birthday and we had a lovely time. The restaurant is like a converted home so you feel like you are eating in someone's house, and a small house at that so it feels very cosy and intimate. The food is excellent. We had the 3 course meal which was priced at 25, but that was the special; you could easily spend a lot more here if not careful or you just want a splurge. The wines were good, service was prompt and attentive, and my chocolate dessert was so rich and yummy. They also give you little fresh candies that are a sweet end to a nice meal

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank campfamily50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vanilla Pod also viewed

Marlow, Buckinghamshire
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
 
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
 
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Vanilla Pod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing