We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glade End Guest House
Ranked #3 of 21 Marlow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A great stay”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed for one night, attending a function at an alternative venue.
Check in was simple, there was no one there at the time of our arrival, however, one little phone call and we were directed to Number 75 across the road.
The room was immaculate, a quality feel to the whole building.
Car parking is not a problem, there is plenty of room for several cars.
Breakfast is, as one would expect, excellent, again, quality prevails.
We will definitely stay at Glade End again if and when we are in the area in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albrad57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilyGrant, Manager at Glade End Guest House, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Albrad57,
Thank you very much for your lovely comments, and taking the time to write to us. I am pleased that you found our check-in process and car parking easy, and thrilled that you found our guest house a quality experience, and enjoyed the ambience of No75. Thank you for your compliments regarding breakfast which I have passed on to the Chef. We look forward to welcoming you back to Glade End in the future.
With kind regards,
Lily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    166
    23
    8
    3
See reviews for
42
252
25
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
deal, kent
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed overnight at Glade End so we could have Valentines Day at Tom Kerridge's Hand & Flowers - well worth the trip from Kent for a Michelin "pub lunch".
It worked really well. Two quality experiences. The Glade exuded quality and tranquility. All the little extras of a top rated hotel. The easy walking distance through the town made it even more pleasant - watch out for the shops for ladies!.
Breakfast was also excellent - "home cooked", a delight.
The lady who received us was most helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Our room in the Annexe (with its peaceful lounge) was delightful. The short walk to the main house i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffreyg743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilyGrant, Manager at Glade End Guest House, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Geoffrey G,
Thank you for your wonderful comments and taking the time to write to us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your Valentine’s lunch at the Hand and Flowers! I am thrilled you found our guest house a quality experience and enjoyed the ambience of the annexe (also known as No75) and that our location is perfect for exploring beautiful Marlow. Thank you for your kind compliments regarding breakfast and the service we offer which I will pass on to our Chef and staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to Glade End, Marlow in the future.
With kind regards
Lily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night for a birthday meal treat and were very impressed. Self-check in was simple and clear. Our room (Peacock) was in the seperate building of number 75 - only a 30 second walk from the car park. The room was immaculate and clean, very spacious with great light and a quality feel - only found a cobweb or two in the the cloakroom that likely appeared overnight.

The antique furniture was pleasing, however the right hand piece was much taller than the left - so when you sat to read a book, the light bulb under the shade was very bright and uncomfortable without the shade being deep enough to cover it, a small easily solved detail however. The storage space was generous, we had trouble opening the built in wardrobe doors at first as the shagpile rug is so deep, it stopped the doors from opening - just a repositioning solved it. Two very comfortable chairs in the room are great for reading a book or sharing an evening drink - for this, and occasional small table between the chairs would be useful.

We were spoilt with the Roberts Radio with ipod dock, but it left no socket for charging your phone - a little niggle when you have to decide between the lamp or battery life!

The bed was very comfortable and we had a fantastic nights sleep, with no noise from outside disturbing us. Breakfast was lovely, a friendly welcome and service - along with a fantastic cooked breakfast and choice of fresh fruit and cereals.

We would highly recommend this Guest House and would be sure to stay again on any future visit to Marlow.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Peacock room, recommended by previous reviewers and a good choice. At the back of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilyGrant, Manager at Glade End Guest House, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Chris B,
Thank you very much for your review and choosing to stay with us for a birthday treat. I am thrilled that you enjoyed the Peacock room. Thank you for your observations within the room and your ideas. We have now moved the rug away from the cupboard door and I will look at adding and adapting the other items to your suggestions.
Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Glade End when you are next in Marlow.
With kind regards
Lily Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed here for one night on business and it was a perfect for this kind of stay. Although there was nobody is meet us upon arrival, it was not an issue as the keys were left in the reception room for collection. It's good to know they have trust in their guests to let themselves in.

I stayed in the Gossmore room which is for single occupancy. The only minor issue is that the picture shown on the website is actually the same as for the Gregory room so it was a little misleading. Also, it not clear which rooms are located in The Glade as my colleague and I ended up being separated. Not a big thing but can imagine it could be for a large party.

Great location, breakfast was great and free Wi-fi a great touch.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJHBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilyGrant, Manager at Glade End Guest House, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear JJBHK,
Thank you for your review and taking the time to write. I am pleased that you found our check in process simple. My apologies for the incorrect photograph on our website, we are currently in the process of updating our website with new images and clear descriptions. We are located across two houses that are very close to one another. We always look to accommodate parties in the same house wherever possible.
We look forward to you staying with us when you are next in the area.
Kind regards
Lily Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Breakfast is excellent, well cooked, well presented and a very wide choice.
My main reason for choosing the Glade End was the location as it is within easy walking distance of my workplace and is very near the town centre with all its restaurants and pubs. I'm looking forward to going back there again next week.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PIK_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilyGrant, Manager at Glade End Guest House, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear PIK_13,
Thank you for taking the time to write. I am pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast and we look forward to seeing you very soon.
Kind regards
Lily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Glade End guest house is a perfect home away from home in Marlow. I stay in the Glade End every time I am in town for business and I was never disappointed. The rooms are always clean and the staff is always freindly and ready to help.

It also a walking distance from all the restaurants and pubs in and around High Street.

I highly recommend the Glade End for both business and a quiet weekend in beautiful Marlow.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YaronZ772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilyGrant, Manager at Glade End Guest House, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear YaronZ772,
Thank you for taking the time to write. I am pleased to hear that you feel at home when you stay with us and we thank you for your continued support.
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Marlow.
With kind regards
Lily Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed for one night at Glade End as a group of us came out from London to eat at the Hand and Flowers (which was excellent by the way!). Lily was there to meet us on arrival and she could not have been more welcoming. As it was quiet, Lily upgraded us to one of the larger rooms which was very nice. It's an easy walk into the high street, our room was spotless and the breakfast Lily cooked up was great. Can't ask for much else. btw - I appreciate the free wifi when many places try to charge exorbitant rates for it these days.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlm089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilyGrant, Manager at Glade End Guest House, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Jlm089,
Thank you for staying with us recently. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and lunch at the Hand and Flowers. I was delighted that we were able to upgrade you and that you appreciated the WIFI that is included in your room price.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Glade End in the future.
With kind regards
Lily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlow
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
2.7 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hurley House Hotel
Hurley House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hurley
56 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chequers Inn Hotel and Restaurant
6.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glade End Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glade End Guest House

Property: Glade End Guest House
Address: 2 Little Marlow Road | Glade End, Bucks, Marlow SL7 1HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Marlow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Marlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glade End Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glade End and its en-suite rooms, are a 8 minute flat walk from Marlow town centre and the business park. Marlow offers 15 pubs and restaurants offering a wide range of food tastes, including two top rated UK restaurants. Glade End offers free high speed broadband Wifi, free off road parking, and inclusive "chef prepared" breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Glade End Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing