We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is still superb.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Showboat - CLOSED

Showboat
Price range: $26 - $39
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Situated in the heart of the marina at Harleyford estate, Showboat floating bar, restaurant and B&B is a unique dining establishment complete with bed and breakfast accommodation provided within.Our philosophy is very simple: provide an unforgettable experience to our guests.It is about the love and attention that our Maitre d' Igor Minuzzo dedicates to our guests.It is about the devotion with which our chefs Karl Breese and Manu Consolaro are preparing all the dishes.It is about the people who return to the Showboat and bring with them that sense of enjoyment and pleasure.
Brill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It is still superb.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I really missed popping into this friendly restaurant while it was closed in February. The menu Last week was unusual and full of wonderful flavours. Igor the host makes everyone fell special. Top ratings yet again

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laraine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    13
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“If you want something a little bit different or special”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Located on the river in Marlow and accessed through the scenic private grounds of the Harleyford Estate, ‘Showboat’ offers a unique eating experience.

On land or on board you can enjoy a menu full of interesting choices and great flavours. I highly recommend the ‘Smoked Calamari’ presented in a charming manner and the Artichoke and ricotta ravioli with pecorino tuile and basil cress was delicious. The Lemon sole and char grilled salmon with aubergine crisps and sharp bitto cheese was impressive to look at and tasty. The Pork burger with poached apple and parsnip remoulade was unusual and flavoursome. To finish, the coconut panna cotta with parsnip crisps was a scrumptious desert.

Showboat is great value for money, a small price for big service. The staff on the boat were attentive and the atmosphere in the evening was ‘modern French bistro’. On a warm summer’s day I can only imagine the Showboat being full of happy customers watching the river life, enjoying the facilities and appreciating their inviting surroundings.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 110Thomas_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent service, Great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had a fantastic meal, the service was outstanding and the food was delicious, everyone commented on our excellent host Igor he was so attentive even when busy and never flustered, the rest of the staff where excellent too, we'll done showboat

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Try it...you will like it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Been for my wife's birthday.. very nice place, lovely food & different from many others restaurant. Nice selection on the menu with unusual & very nice flavours. Presentation very good. Owner is very nice, friendly, welcoming. Prices are very reasonable. We will go again and will probably stay in one of the nice rooms. Thank you very much for this nice evening. Phil & Caroline

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philcaz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lazy Lunch on the River”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

My wife and I went for a relaxed lunch at the Showboat on the River near Marlow. The food is interesting and very high quality. There is a high level of hospitality and service provided by the Owner who is very attentive.
Great food, excellent service, fantastic location on the Thames.
Alan Taylor

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Showboat also viewed

Marlow, Buckinghamshire
 
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing