We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel, great location with very attentive staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Compleat Angler
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Marlow
GreenLeadersSilver level
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hotel, great location with very attentive staff”
Reviewed July 29, 2010

I found the process of booking a pleasure as the reservations department were so warm and friendly. This was emulated throughout my stay by all the staff I encountered from Reception to The Bar & Restaurant.
When traveling a lot on business, it is most refreshing to find a hotel that feels close to home!
Well Done and Thank You all!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnonPMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    558
    316
    158
    100
See reviews for
251
1,100
24
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

My mother's 90th Birthday Lunch Party was a great success thanks to the setting, the excellent meal and, particularly, the staff.
They coped with our group of 20 without problem.
To be recommended.
Gerald Turley

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeraldT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
672 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Recently had lunch here with an American business client who was very impressed with the setting. had lunch in the Bowater restaurant. Not at all busy but plenty of attentive staff. We both ordered the Caeser Salad and Pork Rib Eye which were both excellent. My only criticism was the espresso which was just stale black coffee. Overall though a very good experience and reasonable value for money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFrequentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth
Level Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We have just stayed for a week in the Compleat Angler.
This was a birthday celebration combined with our summer holiday and it could not have been surpassed. It was just brilliant.
From the warm welcome from all the staff who remembered us from previous visits we were instantly made to feel at home.
The room was beautiful, the bed so comfortable that we did not want to get up - though the thoughts of the gorgeous breakfast gets you out of bed.
There are so many places to visit nearby - either by car, foot, or by boat - not to mention the shops in Marlow itself!!
Dinner in the Bowater gives superb food, service and also a lovely view of the church opposite on the other side of the thames. We also tried the Aubergine restaurant one night and it was lovely. Real fine dining.
A holiday to remember for a long time - and we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jvmerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2010

There were 14 of us in our party, and this hotel met all of our needs without any problems at all.
Our rooms were spotless, food was great, and the service was excellent. If you havent been to this hotel, then you should!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
high wycombe
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

High Wycombe Lions Club approached the management of The Compleat Angler with a view to holding an upmarket Fashion Show there to raise funds for very needy local folk including Women's aid. They were thrilled to be offered the venue free of charge. Not only did they provide the main venue but areas for the models to prepare and change, set up the sound system,set up the main room to accommodate 100 paying guests, served the drinks and made the audience totally welcome. As organisers we could not have been treated more efficiently, politely and professionally had we been paying 5* star rates which this genuinely merited. Absolutely superb!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dumbov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Spent one night here to celebrate my birthday. We were in a feature room with an outlook over the weir and were very pleased with the standard of room and bathroom which had a separate shower which is always welcome. There was a wedding going on at the time of our arrival but our room was far enough away not to be disturbed by noise. Dinner in Bowaters restaurant was excellent, the food being beautifully presented, hot and delicious (the lamb in particular was supberb). The staff were very attentive and the meal was served at a perfect leisurely pace so there was no feeling or either being rushed or courses taking too long to arrive. Breakfast again was superb and it was nice to see that the hot breakfast was cooked to order which makes such a change from the buffet style hot food you get in a lot of hotels now.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for superb food, service and stunning location.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmershamAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlow
2.4 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Marlow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
9.2 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Compleat Angler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Compleat Angler

Property: Macdonald Compleat Angler
Address: Marlow Bridge, Marlow SL7 1RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Marlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Marlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Compleat Angler 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after Izaak Walton's famous book on angling, the beautiful four-red star Macdonald Compleat Angler is idyllically located on the banks of the River Thames. The hotel is just a short walk from the Georgian town of Marlow, 10 minutes drive from the M4 and just over an hour away from Central London by train. Beautiful both inside and out, enjoy mouthwatering meals from the recently refurbished, three AA rosette-awarded Riverside Restaurant overlooking Marlow Weir or delicious afternoon tea on the terrace. Alternatively, dine in Sindhu by Michelin-starred Indian Chef, Atul Kochhar. For meetings, strategy days or conferences, our meeting facilities are ideal and our 2 brand new SMART board technology board rooms perfect for inspiring great ideas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Macdonald Compleat Angler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Compleat Angler Marlow
Macdonald Compleat Angler Hotel Marlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing