We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Gathering” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Compleat Angler

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Compleat Angler to your Saves list
Macdonald Compleat Angler
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marlow Bridge, Marlow SL7 1RG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Marlow
GreenLeadersSilver level
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Family Gathering”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Just stayed the 1 night.Room was very good though on the small side.
Breakfast was a scene out of Faulty Towers.Waiter took breakfast orders for 4 people on our table without writing anything down.Some 35 mins.later and 4 lots of wrong plates of food, we
were finally served our correct orders.Not Good.
We did not have dinner there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here as we were visiting a friend for an engagement and special birthday celebration at a bar in Marlow.

Hotels that make the little things special make an impression - from the doorman to the friendly reception staff to all members of staff smiling and saying hello. Did make me feel a little rockstar-ish in a nice way.

The hotel itself has a prominent river frontage and was a pleasant 5 minute walk into the centre of Marlow. I can imagine how fantastic it must be for a summer wedding venue. Internally it was very well appointed, the bar was a little difficult to find at first but once in...it was a nice place to be.

We did not eat here as we were heading out to a party but if the breakfast was anything to go by - I am sure it was more than OK. We ate our breakfast in the conservatory with a stunning river view made even more pleasant because it was windy, chilly and we were snug.

In all, I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It is not cheap but you get what you pay for - it is perfect if you feel like treating yourself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vaughanie_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

After spending our wedding night at the Compleat Angler, we spent a long weekend there for our tenth wedding anniversary and everything was perfect. Yellow Sally Suite was a wonderfully romantic room to spend a weekend in.

Room Tip: Ask reception for advice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night on Saturday 15th June to celebrate a birthday. Great first impressions, polite staff, lovely clean hotel and spacious room (room 7) Nice touches such as personal card from GM acknowledging we were celebrating a birthday and some complimentary chocolates.

We went to Marlow to eat in the Hand and Flowers (highly recommended) returned to our room around 9pm and could not believe the noise of the DJ coming through from a wedding taking place there. The headboard, cupboard and picture frames were vibrating on the wall. We could hear every word of all the songs and the DJ but we couldn't actually have a conversation between ourselves as it was just too loud.

Told reception about noise and they apologised but did not offer to do anything to help. Tried to stay in our room to watch a film and have a bottle of wine but were forced to go and sit downstairs in bar because of noise - couldn't hear TV or each other even speak!!!

I would like to point out one excellent bar man who made me a mojito and then came by once he'd seen I'd had a couple of sips to see if it was to my liking as he was the one who had made it - very nice touch, staff like this guy are hard to find!!

We paid £180 Room only for a room via Late rooms. The booking website did not mention possible noise disturbance, neither were we told on check in. Also booked our room in December 2012 so not sure why we were put above a wedding, could understand this more if we had booked very last minute.

If I'd have known it would be that noisy I would have booked the premier inn 2 mins away for half the price!! Guess that's why they don't tell you though!!

Nice hotel but if you are going on a Saturday advise you check other functions that are going on or ask for a quiet room. It strikes me as a hotel that is very popular with weddings and social events. We felt we paid over the odds considering we were unable to spend most of the evening in our room and were kept awake until the early hours.

Have put issues in writing to the hotel so awaiting response.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel2681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Nice room (28). Very spacious. Not a great view, but quiet at back. Gent who greeted me very friendly and showed me to my room.

Breakfast was nice. Checkout spoilt by a bar tab on my bill despite me not using the bar, and the tab not being signed by me.

As before, my bill had a charity donation, and a charge of £3 to use any credit card. As I said before, this is the last thing people remember when they checkout and you are alienating customers who use hotels all over the world without this charge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edwowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We spent the weekend at the hotel for a birthday celebration. The staff could not have been more helpful with the planning and the food was perfect. Lunch in Bowaters was excellent value and dinner in Aubergine was delicious, the tasting menu with accompanying wines was excellent with each course surpassing the one before.

The setting is beautiful and the hotel has an elegant, sophisticated feel. Highly recommended for family events as well as romantic weekends away.

Room Tip: We stayed in a feature room which, whilst expenisive, was beautifully appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

What a wonderful stay in the yellow Sally room at The Complete Angler this weekend . As always staff a delight nothing too much trouble . Food in Bowaters fantastic and superb wines . Be back soon I hope !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TDWsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlow
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow
2.4 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Marlow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
4.5 of 5 stars 676 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#5 of 10 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
9.2 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Compleat Angler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Compleat Angler

Address: Marlow Bridge, Marlow SL7 1RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Marlow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Marlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Compleat Angler 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after Izaak Walton's famous book on angling, the beautiful four-red star Macdonald Compleat Angler is idyllically located on the banks of the River Thames. The hotel is just a short walk from the Georgian town of Marlow, 10 minutes drive from the M4 and just over an hour away from Central London by train. Beautiful both inside and out, enjoy mouthwatering meals from the recently refurbished, three AA rosette-awarded Riverside Restaurant overlooking Marlow Weir or delicious afternoon tea on the terrace. Alternatively, dine in Sindhu by Michelin-starred Indian Chef, Atul Kochhar. For meetings, strategy days or conferences, our meeting facilities are ideal and our 2 brand new SMART board technology board rooms perfect for inspiring great ideas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Macdonald Compleat Angler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Compleat Angler Marlow
Macdonald Compleat Angler Hotel Marlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing